Skip to content

Ready-For-Me Oats

March 5, 2010

My rice cooker is my new favorite kitchen appliance.

IMG_1341

New Morning Directions:

  • Wake up and roll out of bed
  • Put rice cooker bowl in rice cooker and turn “on”
  • Take shower, get dressed (this takes me 15 minutes… I know, I’m weird.)
  • Pour oats from rice cooker in bowl
  • EAT

Sometimes mornings just feel too rushed to stand over the stove and make oatmeal. I love oatmeal therapy (as The Eggplant Executrix calls it), but on weekdays I find I just don’t have the time.

IMG_1346

So I took an oatmeal hiatus and stuck to smoothies for a few weeks, but I like my smoothie after my workout and I don’t like repeating meals twice in one day.

IMG_1347

above, not so photogenic chocolate oat bran

When I discovered that not only can a rice cooker cook my beloved French Toast Oats, but it can make them better, I was sold.

IMG_1354

My oatmeal is fluffier and more delicious than ever. You really get the full thickening power of the chia seed putting the ingredients together the night before and then there’s only one step in the morning. No measuring cups to wash, and only one dish to clean.

IMG_1352

 

Ready-For-Me French Toast Oats

Night Before:

In the bowl of your rice cooker, combine:

  • 1/4 c oat bran
  • 1/2 c pasteurized egg white
  • 1 cup almond milk or water (or 50:50 mixture)
  • 1 vanilla tea bag
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • little pinch of salt

and one or more of the following:

  • 1/2 a banana, cut into chunks and microwaved for 1:20 (Katie, you’re still awesome!)
  • 1/2 cup squash or pumpkin puree
  • 1 small or 1/2 large apple, cut into chunks
  • 2 tbsp dried fruit
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder+ 1 packet stevia

Cover and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning:

  • Place rice cooker bowl in rice cooker
  • Cook, covered for 10-15 minutes
  • Stir and cook for 1 more minute
  • Either set to warm or enjoy right away

Topping ideas:

  • Almond butter
  • Peanut butter
  • Granola
  • Chopped fruit
  • Dry fruit
  • Crumbled baked goods
  • Maple syrup
  • Honey
  • Butter

Lovin’ in your tummy, even when you’re in a rush!

~~~

As I mentioned in this post, I’m trying to get away from protein powders. I like a boost of protein in a smoothie/ice cream form after my swims though. My new combination?

IMG_1356

Cheesecake Custard Protein Ice Cream

  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1/2 banana, frozen

Crush, crush, crush

  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup kabocha squash
  • 1 tbsp Amazing Grass Chocolate Infusion
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 cup pasteurized egg whites <Secret ingredient
  • 1/2 tsp xanthen gum
  • 1/4 tsp guar gum
  • Tiny pinch of salt
  • Stevia, if desired

Blend together and enjoy!!

IMG_1357

 IMG_1358

So, so good! (And I obviously take better photos mid afternoon as opposed to at 6:00 AM.) 😉

Don’t you feel hardcore eating “raw” eggs? :-D      

~~~

I am so excited tomorrow is Friday! Any plans for the weekend?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 7:26 am

    French toast oatmeal and protein cheesecake custard? Girl you are brilliant in the kitchen! I really do like my protein powders since I don’t really like meat, but like you, I have tried to cut back. I still have 1, sometimes 2, scoops a day – they just taste like milkshakes to me!

  2. March 5, 2010 7:50 am

    So you have totally convinced me to check out rice cookers… Seriously. Those oats look amazing and I’d looove to still have my oats on rushed mornings. Have you tried it with regular rolled oats? And p.s. that totally looks like steel cut oats! Or am I just crazy!!?

    The smoothie sounds delicious!! Do the egg whites give it any sort of flavor or texture or does it just blend right in? And what exactly does guar gum do compared to xanthan gum?

    • March 5, 2010 8:11 am

      haha You’re not crazy!!! I’ll try it with rolled oats soon and let you know.
      The egg whites don’t taste like anything in the smoothie, but they do give it a little “fluff”… Xanthen gum thickens and makes fluffy shakes/ice creams, guar gum also thickens but it works more to make the shake creamy.
      If I had to pick one, I would say xanthen gum because you can use it in gluten free baked goods and it gives shakes a thick, but not gummy texture.

  3. March 5, 2010 8:50 am

    What I want to know is WHERE did you get those bowls? I’m really into bowls. And scalloppy things. Those are awesome!

  4. March 5, 2010 10:10 am

    I’ve been wanting to make oats in the rice cooker for awhile now. This post was the final nudge to finally get me to do it. I’ll be making this reallllllll soon!! 🙂 YUM!! 🙂

  5. March 5, 2010 3:45 pm

    what beautiful foodie pics and thoughtful awesome recipes…slow cooker oats i have heard are amazing!

  6. March 5, 2010 7:53 pm

    15 min to shower? I think my dad would love to switch us…he always complains about how long my showers are!! LOVE the French Toast oatmeal recipe! I think my mom has a slow cooker, I should ask her to get it out for me!

  7. March 5, 2010 9:47 pm

    Oh my goodness, I can’t even believe how much I’m craving the Cheesecake Custard Protein Ice Cream right now. And it’s only 9:45am. THanks for all the great recipes as usual! You are a genius in the kitchen, my friend!

  8. The Brunette permalink
    March 5, 2010 10:24 pm

    I love seeing other people use rice cookers. Growing up in Asia, EVERYONE had one, and they are so unbelievably useful. Seriously, once you have one, you can never NOT have one, because you get so used to just being able to throw things in. I got one for Christmas f0r my apartment, and I can’t get enough of it. I’ll have to make that first recipe; it looks awesome.

  9. March 6, 2010 3:32 am

    GAHHH! BOth of those recipes are making my mouth water! Oh my goodness…I need to make at least one of them while I am home for spring break! 😀

  10. Lauren Christine. permalink
    March 6, 2010 6:38 am

    Looks yummy! I think I’ll make me some ready-for-me-oats for tomorrow morning! When do you take the tea bag out?

  11. March 7, 2010 10:15 pm

    Love the thought of rice cooker oats Mae, but I think my rice cooker is really cheap or something b/c they always explode. However, I think I will attempt your recipe anyway.

    Loving the cheesecake custard b/c as you know, no Jay Robb for me until Easter. Miss him. 😉

  12. March 25, 2010 4:03 am

    Would I need to change the liquid to oats ratio if I left out the egg whites? Or can I use my own oat bran to liquid ratios and just use it in the rice cooker? (I got a rice cooker the other day – yay!)

    • March 25, 2010 7:23 am

      Try your own oat bran to liquid ratio- this recipe take into account the thickening eggs and the chia seeds.

  13. October 30, 2010 2:03 am

    our kitchen appliances are mostly made by Panasonic and Electrolux, my mom always trust these brands ‘

  14. December 2, 2010 6:27 pm

    i always make sure that our kitchen appliances are very clean and shiny before using them “-,

Trackbacks

  1. Stove Top Oats Without a Stove? « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

