Skip to content

Vegan Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies

March 8, 2010

Hey guys! I’ve had a crazy weekend so far, so the post today is my first official re-run. I made up this recipe in November and have since made the cookies at least 3 times! They come out perfect- Ooey, gooey, crispy around the edges and buttery.

Enjoy!

~~~

Click here for the printer-friendly version

My search has ended for the perfect vegan chocolate chip cookies. I’ve been craving a warm, gooey chocolate chip cookie for a while and baking these brings back so many childhood memories.

“Toll House Cookies” are an example of simplistic American innovation. Years and years have proved chocolate chip cookies to be the favorite cookie of not only Americans, but other countries as well. The smell of chocolate chip cookies emerging  from the oven is something that enhances many childhoods and I can guarantee these cookies are always the first ones to disappear from the holiday tray.

I was a big believer that the perfect chocolate chip cookie could not be achieved without butter, giving them their rich flavor and characteristic texture. With many vegan friends, and a dairy allergy myself I’ve tried numerous vegan chocolate chip recipes with little success. It dawned on me that I could possibly adapt my favorite non-vegan chip recipe to fulfill my needs. After a little trial and error, I present to you my perfect vegan version:

IMG_1541

  • 3 tbsp soy yogurt, plain or vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/4 tsp vital wheat gluten
  • [edit: you can substitute the wheat gluten with xanthen gum!]

Mix together these ingredients to create an “egg” and place it in the refrigerator for 20 minutes, stirring halfway through.

  • 1/2 cup non-hydrogenated vegan margarine (such as Earth Balance)
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar

In a small sauce pan, melt the margarine. Once melted add the brown sugar and whisk until dissolved. Increase the heat to high and continue whisking until the mixture reaches a rolling boil, about 2 minutes.

IMG_1519IMG_1520IMG_1521

Allow to caramelize for an additional minute while whisking, then remove from heat. Cool for several minutes, then transfer to a mixing bowl.

With a whisk attachment, whisk the mixture on high for 5 minutes, or until it takes on an opaque lighter caramel color.

IMG_1524

  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Add the vanilla extract and continue whisking. Add the chia-yogurt “egg” and combine.

  • 1 cup+ 2 tbsp unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup semi-sweet vegan chocolate chips (Ghirardelli is my favorite)

Sift together these dry ingredients, then gradually add to the mixer. Stir in the chocolate chips and transfer dough to a plastic storage bag. Place in refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

IMG_1525IMG_1526

After the 30 minutes, divide the dough into 12 balls, just over an ounce.

Space evenly (2 inches apart) on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

IMG_1531

Place in the center of a 375 degree oven for 10 minutes, rotating halfway through.IMG_1534 above, the cookies after 5 minutes of cooking

Remove from oven and let rest 2 minutes, before transferring to a cooling rack.

IMG_1545IMG_1538 IMG_1541

pictured with almond milk

The soy-yogurt egg seemed to work beautifully! I knew without egg they would be missing an emulsifying agent, the rising power and the protein. The soy yogurt provides just enough lecithin to emulsify the batter, while the wheat gluten replaces some of the protein lost. The chia seeds increased the viscosity and kept the cookies from spreading out all over the sheet. I was very happy with the results and will be making more… um, every day? :-)

~~~

Oh, and one note about comments! I love responding to all of you comments, but sometimes I can’t log into my email (i.e. English class ;-)) So I respond on the original post. If you don’t get an e-mail from me, check the post! 🙂

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 6:42 am

    Ohmigosh…totally drooling. Those look unreal.

    And, I loved the tweet you sent me. 😉

  2. March 8, 2010 6:44 am

    Making these making these making these!

    Just thought I should let you know that I’m going to make these 😀

  3. March 8, 2010 7:07 am

    The texture of a vegan cookie looks VERY different!! I always want to try that vegan chocolate chips , how does it taste???!!!
    like the gluten free food, once I tried it, I LOVE it!

    • March 8, 2010 7:53 am

      They taste just like chocolate chip cookies, but they were a little more gooey in the middle. I liked them better! 🙂

  4. March 8, 2010 7:42 am

    they look so yummy. hope u eat them all up 🙂

  5. March 8, 2010 8:02 am

    These look absolutely decadent! Thanks so much for coming up with these- I’m definitely bookmarking them!

  6. March 8, 2010 8:23 am

    Yum… i’m not even vegan and those look FABULOUS!! So ooey and gooey..

  7. March 8, 2010 8:31 am

    These look AMAZING. Could you make them without a whisk and such? I don’t have a mixer…oh but they look so mouth-wateringly good!

  8. March 8, 2010 8:54 am

    Mae you are just so amazing, I know I have said this on your blog before in a comment, but just have to say it again!! U are so wise beyond your years, beautiful, sweet, and are such a amazing cook!!!!!

    Wow those cookies look amazing as ever!!!

    Thanks for the comments on my blog!! I was so excited when I saw you commented! I know you get tons of comments a day and it’s hard to comment alot, so it made my day getting a comment from you because I admire your blog so much and you!!!

    Have a wonderful night!!!!!!

    Yes little lover was chugging sprite in the background, lol!!

  9. March 8, 2010 8:57 am

    I am so glad you reran this recipe! I didnt know about the blog world when your first episode with cookies came out. They look awesome and I really enjoy the food science education!

  10. March 8, 2010 8:58 am

    Will they work with whole wheat flour?

  11. March 8, 2010 9:36 am

    Those pictures are making my mouth water!

  12. March 8, 2010 9:44 am

    MMM these cookies look like a winner to me 🙂

  13. March 8, 2010 9:51 am

    Gorgeous cookies!! They’re making me HUNGRY!! 🙂

  14. March 8, 2010 10:06 pm

    Hi May! I was wondering if I could subsitute a vegan flax egg for the soy yogurt egg since I don’t have yogurt on hand? Have you tried this before??

    I’m totally stoked to find any new healthy cookie options!

    Thanks!
    L

    • Liana permalink
      April 30, 2011 6:36 pm

      i was wondering the same thing!! i could make this recipe NOW but i don’t have chia seeds nor the yogurt – and where i live, these things are kinda hard to come by/expensive!
      to the wizardress to concocted this magical recipe – could you tell us how many “eggs” your recipe uses so we could try to sub in flax seeds? it doesn’t give a ton of protein (since when do we eat cookies for protein anyway! *smile*), but the omega-3 is always a good thing for vegans!

  15. March 8, 2010 10:07 pm

    you are so right about chocolate chip cookies being so beloved! We always make them when I see my family in Chile, and they always ask for the recipe. When I studied in Belgium all my classmates loved it when I baked chocolate chip cookies and considered them THE one and only American cookie. Thanks for an awesome looking vegan recipe!

  16. March 8, 2010 10:47 pm

    Like Bewitched demonstrates, there is nothing wrong with a quality rerun, or several. Love this!

  17. March 9, 2010 1:48 am

    Omg Mae, the cookies look so delicious!!! I will have to try making them! Can I omit the 1/4 tsp gluten/gum?? I don’t have those at home and it seems like such a small amount….
    Oh and the granola bars of the other post looks stunningly amazing, another recipe for me to try! yum!! Your blog is full of good recipes, love it!
    Ana

  18. March 9, 2010 4:08 am

    Wow, those cookies sound amazing! One question, where the heck do you get Xanthan gum? I always want to make your recipes but don’t have that one ingredient!

    • March 10, 2010 1:18 am

      Hewy Christina! You can find xanthen gum in the “dietary” section of most groccery stores, in the baking isle at whole foods and sometimes in the refrigerated section at health food stores. Good luck!

  19. March 9, 2010 6:07 am

    Crazy that a cookie can look so fluffy, gooey, soft, creamy, DELICIOUS, all at the same time! Yours definitely do! Hmmm… how do you think they’d come out with a gluten-free flour sub and agave or maple syrup instead of the brown sugar…?
    I may just have to try making them and find out…
    🙂

  20. March 10, 2010 9:47 am

    Mae- Can you bake me these cookies for my birthday!???? Just kidding. They look amazing though!! I sent you a FB invite to my partay!

  21. AGNIESZKA permalink
    July 14, 2010 9:57 pm

    absolutely great! sweet and gooey… loved them :))

    ..also, everything is going according to the recipe-no bad surprises as it sometimes happens.. easy to make and always succesful –

    definitely would recommend them to every vegan or non vegan cookie lover-both would like them for sure 😉

Leave a Reply

