Skip to content

Corn Cake Pizza

March 12, 2010

When I gave up bread (which includes wraps, pita bread, and pizza dough) for lent I thought it wouldn’t be that hard. This was the biggest sacrifice for me! I love doughy carbs so much and I can’t wait until Easter.

In the mean time, Heather and Angela have provided refuge in the form of humnut pancakes!

IMG_1524

I like pancakes, but I love corncakes! I saw cornbread pancakes on Iowa Girl’s blog, and I got the biggest craving!

You see, as a child I ate my own weight in corn toasties. (Does anyone else love those?) These taste just like corn toasties, and I love the memories it brings back!

IMG_1512 IMG_1514

I used predominantly oat bran flour with some corn meal, baking powder for leavening and one egg. It worked out perfectly!

 IMG_1515 IMG_1516

Humnut Corncakes

Corncake

  • 3 tbsp oat bran flour or spelt flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp (heaping) corn meal
  • 1/2 packet stevia or 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1 egg
  • Water to thin

Toppings

  • 2-3 tbsp sauce of your choice (it doesn’t need to be thick this time, the corncake won’t get soggy!)
  • Drizzle of tahini

Humnut Cheese

  • 1.5 tbsp roasted artichoke pepper and garlic hummus
  • 1.5 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • Water to thin

Mix all dry pancake ingredients, then whisk in the egg and enough water to thin to to pancake batter consistency.

Heat a nonstick skillet over medium flame and grease with a spray of oil. Pour the batter into the pan and cook for about 4 minutes. Flip.

Add pizza toppings to the cooked half, then place pizza under broiler for 3 minutes to crisp the cheese.

Cut and serve!! Mmm

IMG_1525

IMG_1527

~~~

I have been so miserable since the weekend. I have no idea why! There isn’t anything tragic going on in my life, I just can’t shake the blues!

I treated my mini depression with some shopping therapy today. Does anyone else love Marshall’s? It’s filled with designer clothes, and the clearance items are awesome! My jeans were $16, I bought a designer shirt for $15, a sweater for $15 and a pair of shoes for $30! This is the first time I’ve been shopping for clothes since… mid summer maybe? I don’t usually buy things for myself so today was fun.

I also found my prom dress!! It’s grey and silver with crystals. Here it is in purple:

prom gown-1

Hopefully I’ll rock it? (hahaha I feel like such a dork saying that!!)

~~~

Oooh, congrats to the Eggplant Executrix on finishing her law review! You’re awesome!

Hope everyone has a great night!!!

[Teaser for tomorrow:]

IMG_1520

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 10:02 am

    OM girl, your dress is gorgeous!!!! You will look just like a princess 😀 And duh you will rock it… you better let us see some pictures 😉

    The corn cake pizza looks awesome. I could eat my weight in cornbread…

    • March 12, 2010 10:10 am

      I will! I’ll put up photos… THANK YOU!! 🙂

  2. March 12, 2010 10:03 am

    Okay, these look SERIOUSLY amazing – definitely need to try! And I hear ya’ on the corn toasties – used to be an addict! I feel like all of a sudden they’re taking over the grocery store bread aisle, too? haha. I dunno – I feel like they disappeared for a while and all of a sudden they’re back!
    And the prom dress is gorgeous 🙂

  3. March 12, 2010 10:05 am

    why is it that ur pizzas always look so fab!! i want to just grab it and eat it!!

    and omgomgomgomgomg can i say i absolutely adore that dress!! i hope u share ur prom pics with us!!

    -Lena

  4. March 12, 2010 10:05 am

    o and i cant imagine ever giving up bread eeks!!
    -Lena

  5. March 12, 2010 10:18 am

    LOVE the dress girl! And you corn cakes look absolutely delish! 🙂

  6. March 12, 2010 10:44 am

    OMG is that going to be CHOCOLATE COCONUT BUTTER?!?!?!?

  7. March 12, 2010 11:08 am

    Your recipes continually amaze me!

    I love your prom dress. I’m certain it would be even more stunning in grey. You totally have to post prom pictures on your blog.

  8. March 12, 2010 11:24 am

    What a gorgeous dress!! The color sounds so classy. You will definitely rock it! 😉 Your corn cake pizza looks so delicious!! 🙂

  9. March 12, 2010 11:27 am

    That dress is sooo gorgeous, I can’t wait to see pix!!

  10. March 12, 2010 8:07 pm

    Ohh! Your dress looks like it will be so fun to wear! Can’t wait to see more pics!

    Cool idea on the corncakes. I love cornbread and pancakes…so why not together. Genius!!

  11. March 12, 2010 8:49 pm

    Mae, your going to look beautiful in your dress. BEAUTIFUL.

    Corn cake pizza – thanks, my Pancake Sunday breakfast is now planned. 😉

    Let me guess…chocolate coconut butter?

  12. March 12, 2010 8:50 pm

    *You’RE going to look beautiful. Hate that grammatical error. 🙂

  13. March 12, 2010 9:20 pm

    What a GORGEOUS dress. You’ll look absolutely beautiful in it, I can’t wait to see pictures! I miss prom dress shopping 😦 Have a great friday!!

  14. March 12, 2010 9:43 pm

    I’m pretty sure your humnut sauce would taste good on anything, even my foot, so I’m sure these corn cakes are delicious! I recently made your humnut pizza and it was glorious!

  15. March 12, 2010 11:21 pm

    This looks amazing! I’m going to try making a sweet version. 🙂

  16. March 13, 2010 12:34 am

    I’ve found corncakes here in Seattle but haven’t had them in a long while! Used to LOVE them!!! Will have to try your recipe this weekend, without the sugar. Yum!

    I have soy flour to use up – wonder if it will work. Might be doing a little experimenting.

    That dress is STUNNING. Can’t wait to see pics! Who’s your date? 😉

  17. March 13, 2010 5:45 am

    You are SO SWEET! Thank you for the shout-out! And the dress is divine.

  18. March 13, 2010 1:06 pm

    I know what you mean about the ‘blues,’ I ‘ve been the same way the last couple days for no apparent reason (is the moon is some strange position? haha). I love this recipe (I currently have a major humnut obsession!), and your dress is lovely!

  19. March 13, 2010 7:56 pm

    Mmm I love cornbread…not sure if it’s the color or that it just tastes so comforting. I’m surprised your ‘corncake’ got so big. Giving up bread for Lent must have been really, really hard…I would have failed midway through Ash Wednesday.

  20. March 13, 2010 8:05 pm

    Mae you are going to look amazing and beautiful in that dress!!!!!! It is so pretty!! love it!!!!!!!!

    Your cornbread pizza looks fab!!!!

    Good for you for doing so well with giving up breads for lent!!!

    xoxoxox

  21. March 14, 2010 2:25 am

    Your dress is so pretty! Im so glad you finally found yours 🙂

  22. March 16, 2010 4:07 am

    Wow, you are a genius… those corn cakes look fantastic, as usual. And what a great idea. So creative.

    That prom dress is beautiful, by the way! So exciting!

Trackbacks

  1. Corn Cake McGriddle « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  2. Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

