Skip to content

OhhMay Fit!

March 15, 2010

I haven’t discussed fitness in a few weeks. To re-cap my fitness New Years’ resolutions:

  • Become a certified lifeguard [check!]
  • Swim a mile in less than 32 minutes [I think I’ve done this…]
  • Swim a mile in less than 30 minutes
  • Bring my 250m time down to 4:30
  • Bring my 150m time down to 2:30
  • Learn to breaststroke [check!]
  • Learn to backstroke [hahaha sort’ve check, I look like an idiot and I run into the sides of the lane.]
  • Learn to flip turn [this isn’t so important to me anymore]
  • Define my abs to where they were
  • Strengthen my legs and calves so when I heal I’ll be ready to walk again
  • Improve my flexibility and possibly begin (mild) yoga!

I get prolotherapy every four weeks, so the week following the injections is awful for swims. I have to rely heavily on the pulling block [aka, use just the pulling block!] and it puts a lot of pressure on my wrists. I end up skipping most of my workouts that week, which leaves me feeling even crappier.

Saturdays and Sundays are hard because my gym’s pool is often closed for swim meets. Have I mentioned I hate doing anything else but swimming?

Well I’m going to try to incorporate more weights for now on. Lindsey, my awesome peanut butter co-worker suggested doing quick reps of different weights and make lifting a cardio workout so I stay interested. I love the idea, but I’m so bad at compiling the routine I want to do.

Does anyone have suggestions for good, quick, lifting workouts?

Anyway, here is my new fitness plan for the next few weeks:

Sunday

Rest day, or just an Ab workout

Monday

Strength training Monday!

30 minutes stationary bike

15-30 minutes arm bike

Then a 30-45 minute lifting rotation… I still have to figure this out!

Tuesday

Abs- 10-15 min

45 minute swim- intervals

Wednesday

60 minute swim- long+hard

Thursday

15 minute arm bike

20 minute weight circuit

15-20 min abs

45 minute swim

Friday

45-60 minute swim

5-10 minutes pool running without belt

Saturday

10-15 min abs

pushups, lunges, and wall sits

**1 workout can be skipped each week. When I work late, there is no way I have time to fit a workout in!

Prolotherapy weeks

Sunday

Rest or abs

Monday

60 min long+hard swim [before prolo]

Tuesday

10-15 min abs

Wednesday

Arm bike 20 minutes

20 minute arm+shoulder lifting

10 min abs

Thursday

Arm bike 20 minutes

15 minute shoulder+back lifting (my ankle is still sore at this point)

10-15 minute abs

Friday

45 minute swim [1/2 pulling]

Saturday

Rest day

By Monday, I’m usually ready to tackle the pool again!

So my workouts aren’t as extreme as they used to be. I don’t care! When I was competing, no workout was too extreme because I had so much to motivate me. [Think 10 mile tempo runs in the rain, then 20 minutes of ab work, then 2 400m intervals at I pace.] Now, without a team to stay on track with if I set the bar too high I end up losing enthusiasm very quickly.

While reading Caitlin from HTP’s Race Recap (Congrats Caitlin! You did amazing!) I’m reminded how much I miss racing and competing. Any former athletes have advice? I wish I could run again.

But! This summer, I’m hoping to participate in open water swim races. I want to swim a 6k this July! The race would take like 2 hours, I guess it would be comparable to a half marathon of swimming?

I’m making a new fitness page on OhhMay. I don’t like focusing on my workouts in my actual posts, but hopefully this will help anyone recovering from injury or training for distance swim races. Plus, I need advice from my sweet bloggies!

~~~

Do you guys like the spring header? I thought since I’m trying much harder to eat in season, a header with some spring produce would be appropriate.

I downloaded a new theme, and now I can’t figure out how to apply it. I feel like such a goon! It’s saved on my computer, and I also have wordpress downloaded on my computer (I think?) but they’re in zip files and I can’t figure out how to get the new theme folder into the wp_theme folder!!! Ahhh, any techies with suggestions?!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 4:28 am

    thank you so much!

  2. March 15, 2010 4:37 am

    So firstly, I understand the urge of wanting to run. Girl, I felt the same way about Caitlin’s recap of her race! I want to run (or bike or swim or ANYTHING) so badly it just kills me sometimes. Anywho, I’d like to try swimming when I can do some type of exercise again because it’s low impact and hopefully won’t aggravate my injury. Do you have any tips for first-time swimmers?

    I mean, I can swim and manage to not drown but i’ve never swam for exercise, you know?
    Second, love the header! I’ve been wanting to make my blog look a lot better and work on the layout but I have NO idea where to start. Any tips?
    Thank you so much!!!!

    • March 15, 2010 5:18 am

      Hi,

      I know you posed this question to Mae and I don’t want to steal her thunder but I have found that the only way to get to that level in swimming is to do a lot of swimming and to keep increasing your distance. You may originally have to combine it with other types of training as you slowly increase your distance…I won’t say any more because, once again, I realize you asked Mae, not me, and I’m sure she wants to answer for herself!

  3. March 15, 2010 5:06 am

    I love your new header! Very cute! 🙂 I have lots of workouts on my blog under the Work It Out tab, including ones for beginners, short ones, functional/plyometric workouts, etc! Let me know if you have any questions. 🙂

  4. March 15, 2010 5:11 am

    Congrats on reaching many of your goals. I can only imagine how painful it must be to not be able to run when you used to be so competitive. I hope to see you racing again someday and I have a feeling you will because you seem really on top of your recovery.

    If your ankle can handle the high resistance and intense pedalling, you can do some very simple interval workouts on the bike that simulate running intervals. For example, you could do 400s by warming up at 90 RPM on low resistance, then turning up the resistance a lot and holding at 90-100 RPM (optimal running cadence) for 90 sec. (your 400 is probably faster, but this rounds easier and you work a little harder) and rest 90 of pedalling @ 40-45…if you play with the resistance, this workout will really kick your butt!

    What abs exercises are you using? I definitely lost some ab definition and am trying to get back on track, so maybe we can share some exercises that are working well? My favorite moves are the planks: front, sides, and back.

    Sorry, LONG COMMENT but I love talking about workouts and cross training.

    Good luck!

  5. March 15, 2010 6:43 am

    Cute new header!

  6. March 15, 2010 7:23 am

    Wish I could help you with the techie stuff, but I’m so clueless about zip files and uploading themes, etc. Love the new header though – perfect for spring Mae! 🙂

    This is a great workout. It’s quick, efficient, and uses your own body weight. It’s both cardio and strength training and can be done anywhere. Oh, and it kicks my butt too: http://www.bodybuildersboard.com/intense-cardio-interval-workout-92.html
    Enjoy. 🙂

  7. March 15, 2010 1:37 pm

    Mae – you are my fitness hero! 10 mile tempo runs in the rain plus abs …goodness girl that is awesome.

  8. March 15, 2010 7:59 pm

    I love the new header- yum, strawberries! I’m about to head out for a 10 mile run in the rain, actually…eek! Have a great Monday 🙂

  9. March 15, 2010 9:19 pm

    I only ever advise BodyPump because I lurrrrrve it. Great job on your goals so far, lady! You are a fireball.

  10. March 15, 2010 9:19 pm

    Love the spring header! I used to be a competitive swimmer and backstroke/IM were my specialties. In regards to your backstroke, if you’re running into the lane lines, it probably means your stroke is uneven between sides. Try focusing on a spot or line on the ceiling, and do some slow, even drills: I’d recommend 6+3 drill. You take three long strokes, then rotate to your right and, leaving your right arm up and your left arm at your side, take six kicks. Then you repeat on the other side. It’s good for balance in backstroke. Good luck!

  11. March 15, 2010 9:47 pm

    Test commmmment!

  12. lauren permalink
    March 16, 2010 12:17 am

    do not give up on flip turns! they make your workout so much more efficient! they really are not hard to learn, you just need one day in the pool with someone who knows how to do them and is decent at conveying how!
    also, being able to do a flip turn separates the recreational lap doers from the swimmers!

  13. March 16, 2010 3:05 am

    I certainly know it is difficult to get back into an exercise routine after an injury. You are on the right track. Swim a 6k! You go girl!! I really like the new header 🙂

  14. March 16, 2010 8:07 am

    Yea for swimming! How bout Jillian Michaels for a lifting/circuit workout? It’s more circuit training but you feel the lifting! I love the shred and trouble zones.

  15. March 18, 2010 5:51 am

    First off, I love the header. Very clean looking.

    And you might consider trying out P90X. It’s short (55 minutes) workout and gets the job done mighty finely! I gained muscle and definitely improved my endurance. Just a though.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

