Skip to content

Open Sesame…or Grapefruit

March 16, 2010

As citrus season comes to a close, I thought it would be nice to do a final grapefruit tribute.

When I tell people I love to cook, the first thing they ask me is how I eat my grapefruit. Well, not really but we can pretend.

I love grapefruit. They’re so sweet and juicy- like candy pumped with water! They always quench my thirst.

So I tell those people: “Well. There are many ways to open a grape fruit.” Observe:

IMG_1591IMG_1592IMG_1593 IMG_1594 IMG_1595 IMG_1596

This method of peel-n-eat is titled “The Jenna.”

It’s good for:

  • People who don’t mind the pith
  • People who like the chewiness of the membrane

 

 

 

Next up, the Rowan-Salisbury School method. AkA, “The KERF

IMG_1653IMG_1654IMG_1655IMG_1656IMG_1657IMG_1658IMG_1659IMG_1660    

This is great for:

  • Kids
  • School lunches
  • Working mothers (?? haha I needed to think of another…)  

 

 

 

The “Fancy Restaurant Grape fruit section” method:

IMG_1653IMG_1661

Cut of both the top and bottom

IMG_1662IMG_1663

Strip the sides

IMG_1664IMG_1665

Cut in between the membrane

IMG_1666

More on this method here.      

Viola! This is great for:

  • Desserts
  • People that hate pith
  • Salads

 

 

 

~~~

 

There’s the grapefruit juicer:

image

Buy yours here.

 

 

 

The grapefruit salad:

 image

Recipe here.

 

 

 

You could pay $5 for a grapefruit spoon:

image

Find yours on Amazon!

 

 

 

The grapefruit lotion:

image

Via the body shop.

 

 

 

And even a grapefruit diet:

image

[NOT ADVISED!]

 

What’s your favorite way to eat a grape fruit?

~~~

Tomorrow is St. Patrick’s day!! Horrrrrray! Any plans? Anyone want to hook me up wit a great dairy free Irish Soda Bread recipe?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 11:13 pm

    I love grapefruit – it is proably my favorite fruit! I really hate the pith. I do have a grapefruit spoon – it changed my life!

  2. March 16, 2010 11:17 pm

    I normally do the peel-and-eat but then take off the membrane too. I’m weird like that, and like to take my time. I think the fancy way is also called “jeweling” but I looked it up and couldn’t get confirmation. I’m pretty sure that’s what Martha calls it. Yummy that way too, but more waste.

  3. March 17, 2010 1:55 am

    I must admit, I do not like grapefruit. I had one really bad experience as a child and have not eaten it since. (insert green face)

  4. March 17, 2010 3:04 am

    I never thought I liked grapefruit, but that salad looks amazing!

    Here’s a soda bread recipe that’s not sweet at all. Looks interesting!

    http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2010/03/whole-wheat-irish-soda-bread-st-patricks-day-recipe.html

  5. March 17, 2010 3:46 am

    I sliced up a grapefruit like an orange today and loved it…I usually slice it in half and use the spoon, but I was surprised by how much I loved the pith!

  6. March 17, 2010 4:17 am

    Such fun ways to cut/ use grapefruit! I usually go with the classic “The Jenna”

  7. March 17, 2010 4:48 am

    May, I just had a grapefruit today, Jenna style. How perfect to have matched my meal with your grapefruit tribute. Cheers!

  8. March 17, 2010 5:45 am

    I was eating grapefruit Jenna style, trying to make myself like it (I got it in my CSA box), until someone told me that the pith is where the bitterness is. After that, I actually enjoy it! My friend just told me about her recipes for baked grapefruit. Cut in half, sprinkle with agave nectar and cinnamon and bake for about 15 min at 350. Apparently, it is amazing…

    • March 18, 2010 6:16 am

      I wish our CSA boxes had grapefruit! ohh well, I love me some apples too.
      The broil method sounds amazing though!

  9. March 17, 2010 7:32 am

    I heart grapefruit!

    My mom always ate grapefruit – ever since I can remember – and now we eat it together. We just peel it like an orange and gobble it up. 😉

    I used to think grapefruit was gross but now I love it. And I love making fresh, raw grapefruit juice too. It’s SO delicious!!

    Great post, Mae!

    Hugs,
    Michele

  10. March 17, 2010 8:06 am

    I love grapefruit. I would eat it in any shape or form.

  11. March 17, 2010 9:13 am

    I’m a peel-n-eat kinda girl like Jenna 🙂 I love the membrane, and don’t mind spitting out a seed or two! I’ve never tried the other methods of eating grapefruit but might have to give them a whirl before they disappear for another year!

  12. March 17, 2010 9:42 am

    Mmm I just made grapefruit angelfood cupcakes the other night, but they weren’t really blogworthy.

    What did you do with all the grapefruits???

    Don’t insult the grapefruit diet. It’s TOTALLY healthy to starve yourself on 800-1000 calories/day. (kidding, kidding…)

    • March 18, 2010 6:14 am

      Bahaha Yes. That and the Special K diet and the banana diet.

  13. March 17, 2010 10:38 am

    I just died laughing at the working mothers comment!!!

    I peel my grapefruit like an orange, then I peel off each peice, and desection it. I find that’s the easiest way for me.

  14. March 17, 2010 10:38 am

    and…desection is not a word! I meant section.

    • March 18, 2010 6:13 am

      Hahaha Lily, I make up words all the time. It’s perfectly normal! 😉

  15. March 17, 2010 10:02 pm

    I need a grapefruit spoon – I like eating them by the scoop, but it is always hard to get it all out! I just started buying grapefruits after I found some at my parents house. So juicy!

  16. March 17, 2010 10:55 pm

    I had one of those grapefruit spoons growing up, and I loved it. I miss that thing – wonder whatever happened to it?

  17. March 18, 2010 8:17 am

    I’m a grapefruit freak! I eat one every single day. I’m a fan of “The Jenna”. I don’t mind a little membrane!

  18. March 20, 2010 5:52 am

    I had a grapefruit for lunch! I normally cut it in half (the opposite of the way above), stick it in a container in my lunchbox with a grapefruit spoon. I scrape the fruit into the container and then eat it out of that. I want to try the KERF method! 🙂

  19. Alison permalink
    March 20, 2010 6:42 am

    Great post! I learned from my MIL (who is from Burma) to peel the inner segment membrane. I like it this way b/c I get more of the fruit without the pith (thanks for the education I didn’t know what it was called). I also find it tasty without sugar. MMMM

  20. Ashlei permalink
    March 21, 2010 10:44 pm

    I love my grapefruit spoon to get it out of its skin. I’m no good at peeling anything except navel oranges

  21. SYM permalink
    November 9, 2010 1:47 pm

    I was searching for an easy method to section a grapefruit. I found your site and really enjoyed the info you have available. Several years ago, I happened upon a young lady chef. She was in San Francisco as I remember, however I can’t remember her name. (they say memory is one of the first things to go at my age.) She had the most AMAZING trick for sectioning a grapefruit and I cannot find that method on line anywhere. She cut the grapefruit in such a way that she could turn it inside out and there were all the sections. If I remember correctly she cut it in half, but the trick was in how she cut the outer peel. I would love to find that again. If you happen to run across that method I would love to learn about it.
    I will visit your site often.

Leave a Reply

