Skip to content

Roasted Local New Potatoes

March 18, 2010

IMG_1625

Happy St. Patrick’s day!! I was really going to make Irish soda bread before I remembered lent. Ohh lent, just a few more weeks. [Thank you for the recipe though, Maggie! I’m so tackling it after Easter! ;-)]

Anyway, in my sulking state of being (breaddddd. I need breadddd!) I decided to make a different Irish carbohydrate.

Potatoes are one of my favorite foods- I love their skin, their flesh and their oven-crisping, salt-loving, dip-able, broil-able properties. They’re going out of season soon, so I scooped up a bag of new potatoes at the Farmers’ Market Saturday.

Maybe it’s just a coincidence that rosemary is in season at the same time as potatoes, but I think it may be Nature’s way of screaming “pair me!”

The new potatoes were so adorable (I know, I’m such a girl.) Some were less than a 1/2” in diameter, which I think is perfect for roasting. Their slightly irregular sizes just makes for fun variation in each bite. I also bought some miniature red onions (which have a name of their own that I can’t find on Google. Botanists?) to roast up with the potatoes.

IMG_1609

Can you say deadly?

1.5 pounds of potatoes, a few sprigs of rosemary, sweet little onions, and plenty of great olive oil. Some salt and red pepper flakes for good measure!

IMG_1620

And so they roasted. The picture above is horrible, but demonstrates how crunchy the onions get!

IMG_1618 

Local Roasted Potatoes with Rosemary and Sweet Onions

  • 1.25- 1.5 lbs white new potatoes
  • 4 sprigs of rosemary, stripped
  • 1 pound mini red onions OR 1 pound red onions, quartered
  • 2.5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • ~1 tbsp salt
  • Pepper, or crushed red pepper flakes

Preheat oven to 400* F.

Why? Because these are little potatoes, we can cook them at a high temperature on the top rack of the oven. Timing between the interior tenderness and exterior crunchiness is perfect with this size at this temperature.

But, because this is so marginal you can go with either olive oil. Your choice!

Peel the onions, chop the rosemary and wash the potatoes.

Toss all ingredients together.

Why Extra Virgin Olive Oil this time? 400* is hot, but because the oil is spread out over so much area it has a chance to still retain some of the fruitiness. Go olive oil!

Toss onto a foil lined pan [hey, you’re doing your part if you buy local produce. Treat yourself with less dishes!] and roast in the oven for 40 minutes.

Why? By this time the potatoes are crunchy and pillow-y, the onions are golden and sweet, and the smaller pieces of onion+potato are crazy crispy and delicious!

So the plan was to eat these as a family side dish this week, but I accidently had them for every meal since Sunday. They re-heat perfectly [microwave for a minute, then broil for a minute for the crunch] and taste so, so good.

Here’s how I’ve been eating the leftovers:

IMG_1696

Hot potatoes over spinach+arugula (not so local) topped with a runny egg (local!)

~~~

3workout The sky was particularly blue today!! I did Heather’s “Crazy 8’s” workout and some abs outside. It felt so good!

IMG_1713

I hope everyone had a very blue… err GREEN day! 🙂

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 6:13 am

    Loooove roasted potatoes and onions. THe crispy parts are my favorite! That salad looks incredible!

  2. March 18, 2010 6:14 am

    roasted baby potatoes are nice. nice job mae. and i love whole eggs.

  3. March 18, 2010 6:36 am

    Wonderful lookin’ potatoes! Those look delicious and loving the olive oil tanning they are doing! YUM! The onions, the potatoes, salt, pepper, oh MY! Looks fabulous! Oh and the egg on top…. I’ve died and gone to oven roasting heaven.

  4. March 18, 2010 7:05 am

    Omg you combined roasted veggies and flowing egg yolks, my two favorite things of all time. I must make this!

  5. March 18, 2010 7:35 am

    The little red onions might be shallots?? I am far from being a botanist though! Shallots are one of my favorites…they’re like onions, but a little sweeter.

  6. March 18, 2010 7:36 am

    Oh how I love roasted potatoes!! Those look amazing!! 🙂

  7. March 18, 2010 8:03 am

    Oh my gosh, I love it when roasted onions get all dark and crunchy. They’re so sweet and slightly smoky at the same time, it’s like eating savory candy! I like little roasted potatoes, too – I have a tendency to keep popping them in my mouth, they’re so good 🙂

    Happy’s St. Patrick’s Day!

    • March 18, 2010 8:26 am

      Oooooh I forgot the “smokey” notes. You’re awesome! Thanks!

  8. March 18, 2010 8:09 am

    uhm, YUM is all I can say! I love new potatoes too, and can’t help but to “awww!” at them, hehe.

    I love that you explain why for your recipes now.

    and – how ridiculously amazing was today’s weather?! Hope you enjoyed it as much as i did 🙂

    • March 18, 2010 8:25 am

      Yesss! you should have seen me running around my yard like a crazy person. It was wonderful!

  9. March 18, 2010 8:10 am

    oooo Love the potatoes! My parents made them just like that all the time when I was little and I had no idea how gourmet they were!
    My day was very green and blue and yellow from the sunshine. It was simply wonderful!
    xoxo Caronae

  10. March 18, 2010 9:40 am

    Ohhh yum!!! Roasted potato – one of life’s most simple pleasures 🙂

  11. March 18, 2010 11:01 am

    I love really crispy onions! (or any veg-charred aspargus is awesome!) those taters are so cute too! Thanks so much for the windows rec….it’s downloading as we speak!

  12. March 18, 2010 8:31 pm

    Wow delicious potatoes!! I’m such a spud lover, I’ve got to make these! I love that you explain why you use the methods of cooking that you do!

  13. March 18, 2010 8:36 pm

    I absolutely love new potatoes. We sometimes cook them on the grill and they are so great on salads. YUM.

  14. March 19, 2010 4:15 am

    Mmmm I love roasted potatoes!! Or roasted anything really…

    And since your post about Bee pollen I’ve bought some and have been adding it to my smoothies. Love it! I have so much energy lately!

  15. March 20, 2010 4:05 am

    Ohh, those potatoes look amazingly good! Roasted potatoes can be so delicious, your made me drool May!
    Ana

  16. March 21, 2010 10:43 pm

    Rosemary and Potatoes are a perfect pair! I haven’t had any in so long though…

Leave a Reply

