Skip to content

Cinnamon Bun Raw Oatgurt

March 23, 2010

I’ve long been eyeing Heather’s oatgurt recipe. I knew it would be a process, but living without dairy sends you into “tang” withdrawals. I miss the tang of yogurt and cheese! Fortunately, friendly bacteria will inhibit any party you invite them to, (and many that you don’t!)… In this case the 48+ hour oat fermentation process yields a thick and creamy grain concoction that has the familiar tartness and subtle flavors of yogurt.

How does yogurt work?

Different bacteria strands that have been proven to be good for your gut convert milk sugars into lactic acid.

These bacteria also force the protein and fat into a uniform network that suspends water molecules. (This is an emulsion) This is why if you blend yogurt it won’t be as thick as it was prior- you’re breaking the network!

LAB

Oatgurt undergoes similar organic reactions, converting some of the sugars to organic acids. The best part: the bacteria needed to convert oat grouts into yogurt are right in the air you’re breathing!

Step 1: Buy oat grouts from your neighborhood heath food store. Typically, they’re very cheap in the bulk section. If you’re having trouble finding them, call around. Many stores don’t have their oat grouts front and center because there isn’t a large demand for them.

Step 2: Soak the grouts overnight in enough water to cover by an inch. If you’re using a regular blender (not a vita mix) soak for an additional day so the blender won’t have any issues.

Step 3: Blend your grains until they are the consistency of cooked oatmeal.

IMG_1718

Step 4: Pour into a ceramic bowl and place on a heating pad set to medium. Cover with cheese cloth or a paper towel and leave it alone for 8-10 hours.

IMG_1720IMG_1723

Step 5: Add more water if the oats look like they’ve evaporated a lot. I think total I added about 6 tbsp water throughout the 48 hours of fermenting.

Step 6: Leave it alone for 48- 60 hours, depending on how tart you like your yogurt. Remember, the sourness will be diffused if you add mix ins like we will in this recipe!

 IMG_1750

The crust that forms on top tastes like sour dough crust! It’s really yummy. You can either blend it in or eat it as a treat.

Step 7: Refrigerate the oatgurt to stop the reaction and chill the bacteria.

consistancy1      

Depending on how much water you added, your oatgurt may be a different consistency. Mine had the consistency of waffle batter.

Cinnamon Bun Oat Yogurt

Serves 4

  • 1 cup prepared oatgurt*
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup almond milk*
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp raw agave, maple syrup or 1 packet stevia
  • Pinch of salt, if desired

Blend all ingredients together in a blender until smooth. Refrigerate and serve with maple syrup, chopped pecans, raisins, sliced bananas, etc.

*If your oatgurt is thinner, use less almond milk. Pancake batter consistency= 1/2 cup almond milk.

The cinnamon but oat yogurt tastes like batter to spice cake! It’s so good. Don’t be afraid to add some nutmeg, ginger, cloves, or all spice. The possibilities are endless.

   

Heather, thank you so much for this wonderful recipe! It makes my belly very happy and is a great way for dairy-averse to get in their healthy bacteria. It’s also so much cheaper than other vegan yogurts! 🙂

~~~

Don’t forget to send your recipes in for the cook’s mission this week!!

image

The mystery ingredients are apricots and pretzels. Get creative like these girls!

~~~

Do you like your yogurt tart or mild? Sweet or un-adultered?

Who can’t wait for high school spring break? I can’t!!! 🙂

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 5:56 am

    Hehe, this sounds a bit scary, but I’m daring enough to try it.
    I like my yogurt sweet or creamy, but not really “tart”

  2. March 23, 2010 5:59 am

    Get out!

    Girl, you are GENIUS!! This looks SO good! I remember reading about Heather’s oatgurt a while back and even bookmarking the information she linked to – but I’ve never got around to making it.

    You have me DROOLING!!

    Definitely going to make it now! But I have to get some oat groats. And does it have to be a ceramic bowl? Hmmm…..

    Thanks for sharing!!! 😀

    Hugs,
    Michele

    • March 23, 2010 7:22 am

      Thank you so much!! I hope you enjoy it. 🙂 It came out really good, all credit to HEAB for the oatgurt idea!!

  3. March 23, 2010 6:01 am

    Oops! Forgot to share how I enjoy my yogurt. My favorite is thick and creamy Greek yogurt. I like to use the plain for savory stuff (in place of sour cream, like on a potato) but for breakfast or a snack, I prefer it a tad sweet. Usually, I add a teeny bit of raw honey and frozen blueberries. Oh, and I LOVE the vanilla Greek yogurt – SO good! 😀

  4. March 23, 2010 6:08 am

    Spice cake batter?!? Sign me up Mae! Looks like your oatgurt turned out perfect, and so glad some tang is back in your life. 🙂

    Picked up my Cook’s Mission ingredients today!

  5. March 23, 2010 6:09 am

    Mae, you never cease to amaze me with your cooking abilities. Girl, you are SO creative! I am in awe of you. Absolute awe.
    I can’t imagine life without yogurt!!!! Not a life I want to imagine… And I prefer mine pretty mild, just slightly tart.

    And thank you my dear for the shout out!

  6. March 23, 2010 6:12 am

    So cool. Thanks for sharing. I have been sort of afraid to try a faux yogurt just because the time.

    • March 23, 2010 6:26 am

      I agree, it’s time consuming! But you don’t really have to do anything other than leave it, so if you’re not crazy impatient like me then you won’t have a problem. 🙂

  7. March 23, 2010 6:29 am

    oh man this looks SOOO Good!!! i think i need your BRAIN!! 🙂

    • March 23, 2010 7:21 am

      Hahaha you’re awesome Katharine!! 🙂

  8. March 23, 2010 7:17 am

    I tried some oatgurt once and I was soooo full after! I liked it but I think I need to scale back the portions. And girl, I didn’t forget about your last email – just had a super busy week. Will get back to you asap about workouts!

  9. March 23, 2010 9:02 am

    What an awesome recipe! I’d love to try this out, since I rarely eat real yogurt anymore. I need to start brainstorming the apricots and pretzels!

  10. March 23, 2010 9:22 am

    yum – love the drawing!

  11. Jenna Quick permalink
    March 23, 2010 10:14 am

    Oh man, I am so ready for break. I wish it could just be right now.

  12. From Party To Hearty permalink
    March 23, 2010 11:23 pm

    Wow, that came out so well for you! Thanks for the instructions and drawings ha!

  13. March 24, 2010 1:18 am

    wow, i’m not a raw foodie, but that looks incredible! i especially like the pictures… 🙂

  14. March 24, 2010 11:18 pm

    Do you have to add the starting bacteria at all? Like a probiotic powder?

  15. March 28, 2010 9:30 am

    I made oatgurt over the past couple of days, but I used old fashioned oatmeal instead of whole groats. It turned out fine…nice and tangy! Is there much of a difference between using whole groats or regular oatmeal?

    • March 28, 2010 9:34 am

      I’m so thrilled it came out good for you too!! rolled oats are steamed, so as far as fermentation goes there shouldn’t be a big difference. Some believe you lose the enzymes in the raw oat groats when they’re steamed and rolled.
      I like either!
      Thank you for letting me know it works with old fashioned oats. 🙂

  16. March 29, 2010 6:24 am

    Isn’t the oatgurt amazing???!!! I love the stuff. So good and so good for you! I ate mine on bananas like a banana split. I was in heaven!

  17. Gen permalink
    February 19, 2012 3:15 am

    Hi Mae,
    I just found your blog. Wow… I can’t wait to try this, but do I absolutely an heating pad? if I do, doyou know where I can find that in the ottawa area?

    Thanks
    Gen*

Leave a Reply

