Skip to content

Stove Top Oats Without a Stove?

April 3, 2010

A while back (well it seems like a while back, it was probably only a few weeks) I posted a recipe for rice cooker French toast oats.  I had some requests (heyy Jessica!) for a rice cooker recipe with traditional ingredients.

Lo, rice cooker rolled oats.

Now there is no excuse to use a microwave for oatmeal. Maybe I’m just bitter because I can’t figure out how to microwave oats without exploding the kitchen?

IMG_0273

This is a fix it and forget it kind of breakfast, which makes it perfect for busy mornings. Just throw the ingredients in the cooker and crank it up!

IMG_0282 IMG_0284

 

cinnamon honey rolled oatschia seedswater   almondmilkcup

Rice Cooker Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp honey OR 1/2 banana, sliced thinly
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds OR 1 tbsp flax seeds
  • 2/3 c almond milk
  • 1/3 c + 2 T water
  • Dash of salt
  • Cinnamon, to taste.

Combine all ingredients in a rice cooker but the 2 T of water and salt.

Cook for 10 minutes.

Turn to warm and add the water and salt. Stir, then serve.

 

Yes, it can be that easy.

~~~

Plese don’t forget about Cook’s Mission this week! I know everyone’s busy, but don’t be afraid to stop by and vote. 🙂

Today I had the best workout with my friend Sasha (Hi Sasha!)… We raced on the bikes for 30 minutes [Not sure what course it was, but it was intense! We were so sweaty!] and then we played boot camp with ab exercises and free weights. [lots of squats, lunges, calf raises]

I love having a workout buddy! I wish I always had a friend to motivate me while I’m working out. It’s so much fun to change it up. 🙂

Do you have a workout buddy?

~~~

Easter’s coming! Easter’s coming! I have tomorrow off from work (because Jessica is awesome) so I’m actually going to get a chance to shop at the Farmers’ Market I work at!

Also on the agenda:

  • The Italian imports store for lasagna ingredients
  • The supermarket for a few components of my secret cheesecake.
  • Cleaning  Strolling around Saratoga and then telling my parents I got caught by a train 😉

Are you enjoying the amazing weather??

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 8:58 am

    I looooove oats in the microwave. Sorry! But they’re my favorite method 🙂

  2. April 3, 2010 9:06 am

    Awww May thank you for this recipe!!!!! It’s on the menu for Sunday morning 🙂 You’re the best!
    Sounds like you have a great weekend in store!! I don’t have plans other than something with my mom tomorrow and church and lunch with the family on Sunday 🙂
    Have a great weekend dear! And have fun on your day off 😉

  3. April 3, 2010 9:16 am

    another gadget that seems to be useful…maybe someday i will afford it!

    nice recipe…my oats never look as pretty as the blogs. go figure!

  4. April 3, 2010 9:44 am

    I still haven’t tried out oats in our rice cooker. I need to try this out ASAP! 🙂

  5. April 3, 2010 10:05 am

    Mae – I love your organization – like the way the ingredients are broken down into their own separate pics.

    I also love having a workout partner, it really helps me to stay motivated when I DO NOT want to work out!

  6. April 3, 2010 10:19 am

    I like oats on the stove, and this is a great tip for people who don’t have access to one!

  7. April 3, 2010 3:49 pm

    With oats in the microwave, it’s easier if you stop it every now and then to give it a stir and for it to settle down again, therefore not spilling over. It can be a little annoying if you’re trying to get ready though!

  8. April 3, 2010 11:11 pm

    I wish I had a rice cooker! I’m a stovetop convert after one too many explosions in the microwave 🙂 Thanks for the how-to!

    I don’t have a workout buddy because none of my friends really workout! Weird, I know. Have a great weekend girl!!

  9. April 4, 2010 2:19 am

    I’ve always wanted to try slow cooker oats – but I don’t have a slow cooker, booo! Your oats look wonderful, though, warm and filling.

    Sounds like an intense workout you had there! I don’t have a workout buddy because all my friends live far away (double booo!) and Peter doesn’t work out all that hard 😛

    Enjoy the gorgeous weather!

  10. April 4, 2010 6:14 am

    Yes, I am enjoying this amazing weather. 75 and sunny in Nashville!

    Rice cooker oats look wonderful Mae. I still need to try them again. I have your overnight rice cooker oats bookmarked.

    CONGRATS ON YOUR ACCEPTANCE INTO CORNELL!!!!

  11. April 4, 2010 9:39 am

    Hi Mae!

    I just found your blog through Jessica (Process of Healing)…So cute!! I look forward to reading more 🙂

    Have a great night!! -Lauren

  12. April 4, 2010 10:44 am

    Yes yes yes I Love cooking oats in a rice cooker!! I LOVE steel cut oatmeal inside a rice cooker because you totally don’t have to look after them for 30 minutes at a time! I still do microwave oats just because it’s so easy though…and fast. 😛 Bitterness understood, my oatmeal explodes quite often too. hahah 😛

  13. April 4, 2010 10:33 pm

    Happy Easter! I am enjoying the amazing weather and hope you are too Mae 🙂
    Oh and I don’t often have a workout buddy but when I do it is always soooo much better!

  14. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 5, 2010 8:38 am

    Could you steam veggies in a rice cooker? …challenge! haha I’d love to know the results
    Katherine

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Easter! « The Process of Healing

Leave a Reply

