Skip to content

Here Comes the Sun…

April 5, 2010

Easter is my favorite holiday.

IMG_0379

Lasagna assembly begins. My family has traditional sauce and meatball recipes we’ve been using forever with a  few small tricks.

This picture is obviously blurry because I was trying to get the morning hazy eyes effect. 😉

IMG_0297

My grandmother and I baked bread together. We make Easter bread every year- it’s a white yeast bread filled with eggs, milk, some sugar and orange zest. We even used almond milk this year so I could enjoy it!

IMG_0299

Easter bread rising. This tablecloth brings back so many wonderful memories of cavatelli, chocolate pudding, and my loving Italian side of my family.

IMG_0330

The weather was nice enough to have horses in our driveway. This is my sister from another mister, Mo, showing off her riding skills. Edit: we’re not actually related, haha… We’re just mentally attached.

IMG_0415

Easter morning means mass, and then bread! This Easter bread is my favorite treat in the world- still a little warm from the oven. So comforting.

I think through the day I ate an entire loaf. It’s that good!

Relaxing on my grandma’s porch before dinner was wonderful. It was so beautiful out!

IMG_0437

My Aunt Mary is amazing. I look up to her so much!

IMG_0440

This picture captured my father so perfectly.

IMG_0423

My mommy in the sun.

IMG_0443 IMG_0452

My grandmothers laughing. (Mother’s mother, Father’s mother)

IMG_0465

It’s a baby with bunny ears! I love this kid. 🙂

IMG_0445

So much delicious food was served. No appetizing photos of the lasagna or sides, but everyone loved it.

IMG_0490

Colonel says “Happy Easter”.

Happy Easter!

~~~

I felt like such a little photographer today. Haha I was pretending that I was Jessica from Healthy Exposures. Have you checked out her blog? It’s amazing!

Click over to Jessie’s site for a wonderful Saratoga Peanut Butter giveaway! A girl after my own peanut butter filled heart. 🙂

How were your Easters?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 10:13 am

    happy easter girl!! u look SO much like your momma!

  2. April 5, 2010 10:13 am

    Happy Easter darling! 🙂

  3. April 5, 2010 10:22 am

    Beautiful pictures! Do you have the Easter bread recipe? I would love to try it!

    • April 5, 2010 9:49 pm

      Maya, I’ll post a step-by-step this week for sure!

  4. April 5, 2010 10:44 am

    What a warm and fuzzy post! Love it!! 🙂 Happy Easter!!

  5. April 5, 2010 11:06 am

    Adorable, as always!

  6. justaudrey permalink
    April 5, 2010 11:36 am

    Love all the pictures! What a fun Easter!

  7. April 5, 2010 12:11 pm

    You and your mom look so much alike – and both beautiful! Happy Easter!

  8. April 5, 2010 6:14 pm

    Aw, you’re too sweet 😛 And I LOVE all the photos! Everyone looks so happy – you truly captured the essence of your family Easter 🙂
    That bread looks fantastic! And good to know almond milk will work with a yeast bread. That’s usually all I have on hand, and wasn’t sure if I should buy cow’s milk when I experiment with bread this week.
    (and – the hazy eyes effect totally worked. felt like I just woke up!!)

  9. April 5, 2010 7:35 pm

    Glad you had a good Easter! The weather looks like it was just as gorgeous for you as it was for us…makes the holiday so much better 🙂 Hope you have a great week love!

  10. April 5, 2010 7:41 pm

    Meagan, you and your mom are so beautiful, and you look just alike!

  11. April 5, 2010 10:52 pm

    What a fun Easter!! I hope to start fun Easter traditions like that one day (our family doesn’t have any!!)

    You and your mom look a lot alike!!! 🙂 Beautiful family!!

  12. April 6, 2010 1:15 am

    Sounds like you had a great Easter! That bread sounds yummy 🙂 I had a pretty good Easter too, thanks!

  13. April 6, 2010 6:49 am

    Aww, Happy Easter! I loved seeing all the pictures of your family – you guys all look so happy. I’m glad you had a wonderful day 🙂

    Thanks the the contest mention!

  14. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 6, 2010 7:20 am

    Those photos are so cheery! you’re going to value having pictures of your family so much in the future. Glad to see you enjoy each others company so much! have a nice day!
    Katherine

  15. April 6, 2010 10:25 am

    Happy Easter pretty lady!
    You and your mom… wow- I had to do a double take! TWINS! lol
    You look gorgeous and so happy, your food looks great and more than anything you family exudes love and joy!
    Glad you had a nice day!
    Barbara

  16. April 6, 2010 12:29 pm

    Great photos and sounds like a wonderful Easter!

  17. April 7, 2010 9:00 pm

    Looks like it was such a great day! I need to try that bread! I am afraid I will eat the whole thing though! I know what you mean about healthyexposures…I could only dream to get photos like hers!

Leave a Reply

