Skip to content

Easter Bread French Toast

April 7, 2010

IMG_0527

I know you’re thinking ‘Not another French toast recipe!’ but it’s true. I have a need to French toast everything.

IMG_0518

We actually froze most of the Easter bread and today I took out a loaf and cut a few slices.

Besides, you want to enjoy this bread for as long as possible in every way possible. That includes fresh, stale or toasted.

IMG_0521 IMG_0522 

Once again, the custard is extremely simple.

Easter Bread French Toast for One

  • 2 slices stale Easter bread
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp honey
  • pinch of salt

Wisk together eggs, milk, honey and salt. Soak each side of each slice of bread in the mixture for 30 seconds.

Cook over medium heat in a skillet greased with olive oil.

Serve with honey, orange marmalade, butter, or cream cheese.

Easter Bread French Toast for two

  • 4-5 slices stale Easter bread
  • 3 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 egg+ 1 egg yolk
  • 3 tsp honey
  • pinch of salt

Wisk together eggs, milk, honey and salt. Soak each side of each slice of bread in the mixture for 30 seconds.

Cook over medium heat in a skillet greased with olive oil.

Serve with honey, orange marmalade, butter, or cream cheese.

 

IMG_0529

Horary for Easter Bread!

~~~

Yesterday, someone (Lauren!) suggested I do some posts of what I eat in a day or simpler posts. Would anyone be interested in that, or would you not care? Haha I understand either way.

Did anyone really dislike Law Abiding Citizen? Jamie Foxx is a lawyer…Why does he pretend to be a detective, cop and prison guard? Grr!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 10:53 pm

    Wow, that just looks like sin on a dish. I love french toast, too! I think you should post about what you want! I will still read. 🙂

  2. kathy permalink
    April 7, 2010 11:20 pm

    I would love to read your daily meals!

  3. April 7, 2010 11:26 pm

    I do believe that is the best lookin’ french toasts I have ever seen. Great photographing skills! And the food looks delicious!

  4. April 7, 2010 11:27 pm

    Oooh and I LOVED Law Abiding Citizen! And not only because my boyfriend Gerard is in it. 😉

  5. katie anne permalink
    April 7, 2010 11:56 pm

    that would be awesome if you did that kinda post!!!!!!!

  6. April 8, 2010 12:36 am

    Lori- your BF is in that movie!?? THat’s so cool! What character was he?

  7. kelli! permalink
    April 8, 2010 12:48 am

    No worries, who doesn’t love french toast ?!? looks delish! And about posting your daily eats, I’d love to see what you eat daily I love getting ideas from other people and seeing how they eat, I love how unique everyones eating style is 🙂

  8. April 8, 2010 12:50 am

    Yummy!!! Girl, you are like the French Toast Queen!
    And I’d definitely be interested in seeing what you eat in a day!

  9. April 8, 2010 1:48 am

    YAY for french toast!
    I never tried it, but it looks amazing 😀
    Have a great day, girl!
    Love your blog 🙂
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  10. April 8, 2010 3:04 am

    I haven`t had french toast in so long! Once I get my hands on some maple syrup it`s french toast and pancakes all the way.

    Yours looks yummy!

  11. April 8, 2010 5:50 am

    Nom nom nom. The only thing better looking than that bread is that bread topped with sugar and strawberries!! Delish 🙂 Hope you had a great hump day!!

  12. April 8, 2010 1:04 pm

    one can NEVER had too much french toast.

  13. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:49 pm

    I didn’t know you could make french toast with stale bread! how did you find that out? does it taste different?
    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

    • April 9, 2010 1:03 am

      Hey Katherine,
      French Toast began as a poor mans’ food to refuge stale bread with a cheap protein: eggs. I’m not sure exactly where it originated, but it also works better with stale bread.
      Stale is missing moisture so it can absorb more of the egg custard mixture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

