Skip to content

Steel Cut Oats All Around

April 9, 2010

 

pretty breakfast

Have you ever had a late night with friends that never go home? When this happens, you usually don’t feel like something too sweet or rich (like French toast Easter Bread or Stuffed French Toast!) by you need something filling.

Instead of standing over the stove, the magic of the rice cooker helps us out again.

Rice Cooker Steel Cut Oats (for 4)

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 8 dates, chopped (or 1/3 cup chopped dates)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 tsp salt

Pour the steel cut oats into the bowl of the rice cooker and broil under the broiler for 3 minutes. Toss, then put under broiler for two more minutes until they smell nice and toasty.

Why? Toasting will enhance the flavor and take what would be a bland pot of oats to the next level.

Add the liquids, chia seeds, dates and cinnamon. Don’t add the salt yet!

Why? The salt will prevent some of the starches in the oats from unraveling and making a very creamy pot. If you prefer rice like oats, go ahead and add the salt in the beginning.

Chia seeds will thicken the pot by swelling with the moisture, plus they add happy omega-3 fatty acids.

Place bowl in rice cooker, cover, and cook for 20 minutes then warm for 5 minutes.

Tip: If your rice cooker boils over at any point (as most cheap ones do,) just remove the cover, stir and wipe up the mess. I would rather clean the counter than clean it burnt onto my stove!

Alternatively: If you don’t have a rice cooker, toast the oats in a 3 quart sauce pan over medium heat on the stove top.

Slowly add the liquids and other ingredients, cover and reduce the heat to low.

Simmer for 20 minutes, then let sit for 5.

Save leftovers in the refrigerator and eat them cold with some extra milk mixed in. It’s delicious!

More then four to feed?

Rice Cooker Steel Cut Oats for 6: 1.5 cups steel cut oats, 3 cups+ 2 tbsp water, 3 cups+ 2 tbsp almond milk, 3 tbsp chia seeds, 12 dates, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Rice Cooker Steel Cut Oats for 8: 2 cups steel cut oats, 4 1/4 cups water, 4 cups+2 tbsp almond milk, 4 tbsp chia seeds, 16 dates, 2/3 tsp salt, 1 tsp cinnamon

Tip: Make sure your rice cooker can accommodate that much volume!

Now set up a topping bar. Here’s what I included:

  • Vanilla extract, to mix in
  • Almond extract, to mix in (just 1 drop will do)
  • Toasted walnuts
  • Toasted almonds
  • Peanut butter
  • Pecan butter
  • Granola
  • Brown sugar
  • Honey
  • Dried cranberries
  • Dried cherries
  • Raisins
  • Cherry preserves
  • Raspberry jam

Hey it’s a different sort of bar! 😉

I want oatmeal now

~~~

Topic of the day: Are you a saver or a spender?

gettin money If you had money saved would you spend it on

a.  A trip

b. One big item (a camera, a computer, etc.)

c. Several little items (clothes, shoes, etc.)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 11:17 pm

    Holy toppings bar! That may be the best toppings bar I have ever seen.

    I am a spender trying to be a saver! I would probably spend it on a trip – memories last forever.

  2. April 9, 2010 11:26 pm

    Wow love the oats! I don’t have a lot of patience, so I usually end up doing instant plain and adding my own mix in’s on the spot. I am a mix between a spender and saver. I spend money on stuff I need or want and safe the rest, obv making sure I don’t spend ALL my money. Have a great weekend!!

  3. April 9, 2010 11:34 pm

    Woah… you hit the jackpot with this one! Look at your add-ins! YUM to all! What a list! Sounds like some of my smoothie recipes… I just keep adding more and more!

    If I had money saved up to spend… TRIP it would be! I’d go travel to Spain, Peru, or Costa Rica. Ah… I need a lotto ticket right about now.

    Happy Friday!

    • April 9, 2010 11:55 pm

      Haha I didn’t add it all at once, but I do get carried away sometimes!

  4. April 9, 2010 11:34 pm

    And you did it yet again, YUM!!!!
    I’m a saver/spender. I like to save and I like to know that I have money in the bank, just in case. BUT I love clothes and that’s where most of my money goes.. besides bills.

  5. April 9, 2010 11:43 pm

    Definitely one big item!! I’ve been dreaming of an SLR lately 🙂

    I love steel cut oats, but I hate how long they take to cook! Loving all those topping ideas 🙂

  6. April 9, 2010 11:53 pm

    Your oats look fabulous!!

    I’m totally a saver (see my last post for proof, haha!)! I would spend my money on a trip with my husband! 🙂

  7. melissa @ the delicate place permalink
    April 10, 2010 12:51 am

    i’m a saver but not nearly as stingy as my hubby…you’d have to pry a coin from his hand lol! i save up so i can travel the world 😀

  8. April 10, 2010 1:27 am

    Sounds like an amazing topping bar!

  9. April 10, 2010 1:43 am

    Steel cut oats were one of the things i had to warm up to. I used to love porridge-like, more liquidy oatmeal, but after some adaptation…i finally love the stuff!!

    Your toppings really make the oatmeal special. What i love is the colors. Oatmeal itself is like a blank canvas and your toppings are like paint – enhancing the flavors and colors! LOVE your combo…and the method of cooking of course! I love my rice cooker too!!

  10. April 10, 2010 2:48 am

    Can I come over to your house for breakfast?! Greatest oatmeal set up EVER!

    I’m more of a saver but most of the money I do spend, at least right now, goes to a bunch of the little things… aka clothes, beauty and FOOD shopping. If I had a lot of money to spend though, I’d love to someday go on a really great trip!

  11. April 10, 2010 4:04 am

    Steel cut oats are definitely the best kind. 🙂 Whenever possible they are what I eat. 😀
    I am a spender but I should learn to save for more things. 😉 I’d spent my moolah on GOOD food (tons of it) and a trip (culture yay!)

  12. April 10, 2010 5:51 am

    what a colorful oats and a color recipe!! you are really creative girl!

  13. April 10, 2010 7:52 am

    Oh man – you’ve got some seriously lucky and awesome friends!! I think if I did that for mine, they would just give me a look like “Jess, you’re crazy. What makes you think we want oatmeal for breakfast? And why are you so excited about it?” haha.
    And I’m definitely a combo of saver, spender, and splurger. I hate spending money, but at the same time, it’s all too easy going on a shopping spree! Totally depends on my mood and needs at the time, I guess!

  14. April 10, 2010 11:05 am

    I’m a saver, but I only became that way in the last few years. I really really want to go on a vacation!

  15. April 10, 2010 11:44 am

    looks really delicious, yummmmm.

  16. eileen permalink
    April 10, 2010 4:02 pm

    Can I use a crock pot instead of a rice cooker?

  17. April 10, 2010 7:48 pm

    LOVE steel-cut oats, and yours look YUMMY!!! 😀

    I’m a frugal shopper, so I’d say b or c depending on what I needed at the time.

    Hugs,
    Michele

  18. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 11, 2010 1:07 am

    Choice: D. Whole Foods spree
    [i just did a post with how we take quizzes in lecture classes -by typing in our keypad- and the really annoying kids would always come up “invalid” because they would try to type an answer that wasn’t allowed. basically what I’m doing- sorry to add the extra letter!]
    Katherine
    PS: second choice is choice C.

Leave a Reply

