Skip to content

What Can I Do With Leftover Egg Yolks?

April 11, 2010

I have many recipes that use exclusively egg whites. It’s not that I have anything against yolks…

IMG_0565 IMG_0252 IMG_0503 IMG_0532

(Love me some runny yolks!)

Unfortunately the whole egg doesn’t work in many applications for reasons including:

  • Egg white’s ability to “whip” (Create a protein structure that suspends air)
  • Egg white’s antiseptic qualities (There is less of a chance for food born illness from egg whites versus egg yolks, especially in raw applications)
  • Egg whites are a pure protein source with a subtle to nonexistent flavor, depending on the cooking method.

But what do you do with all those poor, nutritious leftover yolks?

Well there’s the standard custard recipes, brioge recipes, or homemade mayonnaise but for those of you without constant complex French food cravings, you could donate the yolks to your best friend…

IMG_0397

My dog makes a mess eating the freshly separated yolks, so I’ve started doing something entirely different…

IMG_0587 

Making dog treats! Here’s what happens: all week the yolks accumulate in a glass in my refrigerator. It’s covered with plastic wrap.

IMG_0579

By the end of the week, I was at about 7 yolks.

  IMG_0581

Now here’s the fun part. Use 1 tsp of baking powder and enough whole wheat flour to make a dough. (About 1.5 cups, but you can do this with any amount of yolks.)

IMG_0582

Roll “snakes” in your hands then cut them. make the middle thinner than the ends, then split the ends with a knife. Shape them into bones.

IMG_0583

Poke some holes in the top for authenticity, then bake at 350* for 20-30 minutes until the treats feel completely dried out when you rap them.

IMG_0585

Let cool, then serve to the beast at your feet. 🙂

IMG_0588  

Leftover Egg Yolk Dog Treats

  • 6-8 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 cups flour, or enough to make a very stiff dough
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350*.

Mix everything together with your hands, using flour to keep them from becoming too sticky.

Shape dough into about 20 bones. To do this make a snake, then flatten it. pinch the center of each bone so it’s thinner than the ends, then split each end. Round out all the edges and poke with a fork.

Bake on a greased baking sheet for about 25-30 minutes, or until the treats are completely dried out, but not burnt.

Let cool completely, then store in an airtight bag for as long as a month.

No dog? Read on:

What To Do With Leftover Yolks

How To Use Up Egg Yolks

Egg Yolk Hair Conditioner

To recap, don’t waste food. There are so many amazing things egg yolks can do, and they don’t need to be poured down the disposal.

~~~

If I get the post done there will be a giveaway tomorrow…Yay!

What’s your favorite leftover food tip?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 5:02 am

    This is great!! I was just trying to think of something cute to do for my dog Ripsey’s birthday on Thursday and this is PERFECT! She’ll love ’em!! 🙂

  2. April 11, 2010 5:07 am

    ohhh so sweet! I love the doggie treats and your dog!

  3. April 11, 2010 5:27 am

    What a cute idea!!! Sheesh can you get any more creative 😉 Now if only I had a dog to make these for….

  4. April 11, 2010 7:55 am

    very cool! these would probably work well as teething biscuits too depending on how hard they come out!

  5. April 11, 2010 7:55 am

    What a fantastic idea!! I love how you made them look like the real deal. So I’m guessing they’re a hit with your pup?? Thanks for sharing!
    -Lisa

  6. Twyla permalink
    April 11, 2010 7:56 am

    some suggestions: egg yolk noodles .. though I know a lot of people go for no-yolk noodles, if you have a soft thick biscuit like noodle they work good for that.
    or .. cornbread with only the yolks for the binder
    or .. theres a thing you can do with potatoes and egg yolks and bacon that is nice
    or .. there’s some cake you can make that uses only the yolks too; tyou wind up mixing the yolks together for a good five minutes and it turns all fluffy and cool.
    or .. last but not least .. my daughter calls the yolk part “egg cheese” and she really does eat it like a slice of cheese on some crackers. ok maybe she’s a little bit of a weird child.
    Let me know if you find something really over the top.

    • April 11, 2010 8:50 pm

      Twyla,
      Great ideas! I love the flavor, and when I’m having people over my dog’s going to miss her treats! 😉

  7. April 11, 2010 8:38 am

    This is a great idea, Mae! I’m always hesitant to make recipes when I’ll need to save the yolk for something else, but if I have a plan for the yolks…!
    Normally I put them in the fridge and my dad just uses them when he makes scrambled eggs for himself or my brothers.

  8. April 11, 2010 10:01 am

    this is SO cool!!!!

  9. April 11, 2010 10:02 am

    This is SO creative, Mae. I admit, I usually just give the yolks to my pup, too, but these treats would be much better (and more portable!). You are going to be such a fabulous food scientist 🙂

  10. eileen permalink
    April 11, 2010 5:13 pm

    awesome….my 7 month old (75+) puppy says your the best paws down. Having chickens often leads to quite a few laying broken/cracked eggs so I often put one in her food but now I have another use for the many extras.

    • April 11, 2010 8:49 pm

      They keep for even longer in the freezer, but I like to make these so I can give them to the neighbors’ dogs or bring them with me on a walk…. Something you can’t do with just eggs haha

  11. April 11, 2010 7:46 pm

    Aww, such a cute idea!! Your doggie reminds me of my old black lab- I miss him! Sure he would have loved these treats though 🙂 Love how creative you are, even coming up with uses for yolks!!

    • April 11, 2010 8:48 pm

      She’s half black lab, half plott hound 🙂

  12. April 11, 2010 9:39 pm

    That is SUCH an awesome idea!!!!!

  13. April 11, 2010 9:51 pm

    Ohmigosh. I seriously think you read my mind. I have an angel food cake in the oven right now and have 10 egg yolks in a bowl on the counter. I was like, what the heck am I gonna do with them?!

  14. April 12, 2010 12:37 am

    Mae,
    This is awesome! Einstein and Radley would love these. I’ve just been feeding them the raw yolks, but I’m sure they would enjoy the baked bones even more. 🙂

  15. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 12, 2010 5:54 am

    Wow what a great idea! I love this!!!
    Katherine

  16. April 13, 2010 3:34 am

    Very creative idea! And they’re so cute too!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Birthday, Ripsey! « homecookedem's Blog
  2. Rum Cake & Baking Tips « Then Heather Said
  3. Rum Cake & Baking Tips « Then Heather Said
  4. Rum Cake & Baking Tips » Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

