Skip to content

A day in the life of Mae

April 14, 2010

I’m so glad you all want some vinegar! You still have time to enter, so just leave a comment or ping back! 🙂

So today, we’re going to discuss what I eat in a day because I know this topic is HOT right now! (I wish there was a way to write sarcastically… if you didn’t catch that, it was sarcasm.)

I usually begin the day with five minutes of stretching before I get up. It really helps my ankle, which has been doing amazing since I began prolotherapy. Anyway, after stretching I hop in the shower for 6 minutes because I’m super shower-efficient… heh.

Breakfast:

IMG_0539

I have a crazy obsession with green chocolate smoothies in the morning. I think I burnt myself out on the oatmeal, but these are amazing too!

This one contained:

  • 4 cubes of ice
  • 1/2 a large frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 small sweet potato
  • 1 heaping tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp Amazing Grass, chocolate infusion
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 big handfuls of spinach

Toppings:

  • A few tbsp of Udi’s granola
  • Anna Mae’s Cherry Jam
  • Tahini
  • A few coffee beans

After I’ve eaten most of the smoothie and all of the toppings, I definitely add more granola and tahini. I can’t tell a lie.

On the weekends I enjoy a cup of coffee with my parents, but on weekdays I usually have a cup of yerba mate with breakfast.

IMG_0571

And a handful of granola for the road:

IMG_0560

My friend and I (Hi Sasha!!) did some intense yoga (heh, like 35 minutes of “moderate” level) then split to shower.

We met back up and walked around Saratoga forever.

IMG_0649

Yup, they’re coming in style.

IMG_0657

‘Twas a fun time!

4 1 2 3

I love it here! I have to get the photography out of my system before tourist season.

 

Lunch:

 IMG_0569

Lunch is usually an egg, some bread and veggies. Today was sautéed local spinach, tomatoes, humnut cheese, and sunflower seed whole wheat bread from West Village Market at the Saratoga Farmers’ market. 

Guess who laid my eggs.

IMG_0505IMG_0499 

Thanks Lynn, Chrissy, Lexi & Ashley! Brookside Farm eggs from my Farmers’ Market are amazing. They’re so rich and delicious. My little cousin gets such a kick out of these little notes. 🙂

IMG_0637IMG_0537

Lunch is followed by large amounts of fruit: today was an orange and an apple the size of my head from Saratoga Apple (at the Farmers’ Market)

IMG_0552  

I’m also obsessed with these gummy swirl vitamins! Seriously, best thing ever. You have to try them! So I’m 2 years old… I get over it. 😉

I usually pop two of those but I could easily eat 10. I’m not saying I do, but I could.

 

 

Snack:

IMG_0678 IMG_0520

For snack I had a grapefruit and a few more pieces of sunflower bread toast. That stuff is amazing and I’m a bread-aholic. Seriously!

Dinner:

 IMG_0593IMG_0595 

I usually make dinner, but this particular night I had a lovely dinner guest so we dined on sushi from our local supermarket. I know, it’s so gourmet.

This was a brown rice seaweed salad roll, and on the side I had a giant local baby spinach salad with smoked salmon (about 1.5 oz, half of a packet) sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce and a little sriracha.

IMG_0596

She’s a keeper. 😉 That’s actually my amazing cousin, Kayla. She speaks Chinese!

 

Dessert:

Of course! I couldn’t end my night without a cup of tea and a hunk of dark chocolate.

IMG_0674

I usually have an ounce of unsweetened Baker’s Chocolate, endorsed by Heather! Baker’s is surprisingly delicious and holds it’s own against expensive brands of unsweetened chocolate.

Oh, and another dose of dessert:

image

Batmannnnn!! I’ve professed my love for Batman before, and we’re still going strong. I force everyone in my life to watch “The Dark Knight” with me approximately twice each day. I can quote the entire movie. And I do it in French, too!

 

"Tu est dechete qui mort pour l’argent"

 

“Vous me chasserez. Vous me condamnerez, régler les chiens sur moi. Parce que cela est ce qu’a besoin d’arriver. Parce que quelquefois… la vérité n’est pas assez bonne. Quelquefois les gens plus méritent. Quelquefois les gens méritent pour avoir leur foi récompensée.”

 

“Qu’essayiez-vous de prouver ? Qui au fond du coeur, tout le monde aussi laid que vous ? Vous êtes seul”

 

I feel the need to often tweet these phrases or hartext my friends with them. (It’s a combination of harass and text) Sometimes I even leave random French Dark Knight voice mails. I find it normal.

So that’s my day in a nutshell. I live a pretty interesting life, haha.

~~~

4News In other news, I’m traveling to Cornell to visit Wednesday and Thursday. Any Ithaca or Cornell-ians who want to meet up for lunch? I know it’s last minute! I’m very excited. 🙂

But to be clear I really have no idea what school I’m going to school. No clue. It’s because I like to keep everyone on edge. 😉 Maybe.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 5:28 am

    That is one amazing breakfast smoothie! I have never just tried eating the bakers chocolate, but I bake with it all the time!!

  2. April 14, 2010 6:24 am

    Mae, you look so cute.

    I don’t understand how people only eat an ounce of chocolate at night. That is what I have just while I decide what to have for a “snack” (I eat a lot before bed)…and then I go back for more and more…I couldn’t sleep last night…so went out for more chocolate!

    • April 14, 2010 6:33 am

      When I’m still hungry I definitely go for more, but an ounce of this chocolate is so rich!!

  3. April 14, 2010 6:34 am

    I may have missed it, but what school in California are you looking at? I read your post about college choices the other day, but couldn’t figure out which school out here you were talking about 😉

    • April 14, 2010 6:46 am

      Sorry! Cal Poly Tech in San Luis Obisbo. 🙂

      • April 17, 2010 12:43 am

        Um, then, you should totally go to school in California! SLO is soooooooooo beautiful.

      • April 18, 2010 2:26 am

        Oh my. I want to visit so badly! 🙂

  4. April 14, 2010 6:46 am

    Loved this post – and your outfit! That is a super cute sweater 🙂 Lunch looks delicious – now I really want eggs…haha. And, the note in the eggs is priceless. Too clever!

  5. Danielle permalink
    April 14, 2010 7:16 am

    Where do you get sunflower bread?? It sounds really good 😀

    I love your necklace!

  6. April 14, 2010 7:43 am

    That outfit is adorable…will you be my personal shopper? 🙂

    Good to hear I am not the only one who like sweet potato in smoothies. I eat a version of that in pudding form nearly every night. Sometimes I add butternut squash instead of the sweet potato, and I use fresh greens instead of amazing grass (because I am too cheap to buy that stuff!)

    • April 14, 2010 8:21 am

      Bahhhh Me too! Butternut squash is great, as is buttercup and kabocha.

  7. April 14, 2010 8:04 am

    lunch looks really tasty. hah, I wish I can speak french!

  8. April 14, 2010 8:08 am

    I love reading/seeing a day of eats 🙂
    Have I shared that I’m OBSESSED with humnut sauce – as in, I make it and just eat it with a spoon??? yep.

  9. April 14, 2010 9:10 am

    I vote Clemson!!!

    Haha anyways… loved this post!!! Your lunch looks SO good! It’s amazing how different a farm fresh egg tastes from a regular egg!

  10. April 14, 2010 9:48 am

    Unsweetened chocolate…man, you are hard-core.
    Cornell is beautiful. I loved the campus. But it can get pretty isolated!

  11. April 14, 2010 11:35 am

    Mae, I love your style! So Cute! 🙂

    Your food looks amazing too. Complete and nutritious; way to go!

  12. April 14, 2010 6:10 pm

    Baker’s chocolate is the best, I agree…my mom always gets upset with me for depleting our baking stash, but it’s the perfect size!

    I love that you’ve seen The Dark Knight in French, I need to do that! Perfect way pour pratiquer mon Francais 🙂

    Enjoy Cornell…I’d had difficulty choosing between those schools as well!

  13. April 14, 2010 9:05 pm

    Mae, what a fun looking day of eats! I especially love the idea of a seaweed salad roll…seaweed salad is one of my favorite parts of ordering sushi. I hope you have loads and loads and loads of fun on your visit to Cornell. A lot of people from my school are going there next year! I think that you’ll find the atmosphere just amazing–think of all the awesome people on the campus and the great discussions and conversations you’ll have. I also hear their food rocks! Of course, I know you’ll make the right decision, whatever school that might be. I would love to hear about it when you come back!

  14. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 15, 2010 1:51 am

    That is amazing sushi; can’t believe it’s from a store!

    I love your mug; how did you acquire it? and I didn’t even realize yerba mate is so dark!

    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

  15. April 15, 2010 4:03 am

    Have fun on your college visit, you are going to have such a fun time. I just went on one on monday because as you know its getting close to may 1st which is when we have to decide yikes!

  16. April 15, 2010 5:24 pm

    You and your friends Sasha are such ladies! I love the peacock hat 🙂

    *sigh* lovely Saratoga. Glad you had a day to explore before tourist season! You have some delicious eats during the day – I love having eggs, veggies, and toast, too, although I’ll usually have that for breakfast.

    I love Baker’s chocolate, too! Ours would always disappear right before my husband wants to make something, and he’s always wonder where it went … 😉

  17. Jenna Quick permalink
    April 15, 2010 5:41 pm

    Ou est elle??? hahaha
    Mannnn you’re missing out in French. We’re starting the cooking unit. You also missed the heated debate over measuring cups. I’m not joking. They seriously spent like 10 minutes fighting over which to use when. Sighh. Gotta love ’em. Ha, but anywho, I hope you’re having fun and you need to hurry up and get back so you can save me from Spanish.

    PS: Go to Weggman’s! It’s sooooooooooo cool! 😀
    the candy wall is my love.

  18. April 15, 2010 10:08 pm

    I love your lunch plate, and breakfast bowl!!!!! it’s so colorful, and nutritious. I always hesitated to put spinach in my breakfast cereal, but seems it works really well!
    and that chocolate—–is enticing!
    can’t believe u are having so many good eats within one day, i am kinda jealous, lol.

  19. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 16, 2010 9:23 am

    I’m slowly going through interesting blogs and just want to say that you are so funny- I love the pics of your family

  20. April 17, 2010 5:30 am

    aww you are SO cute!! love it!! girl do you put the egg whites in before or after they are cooked? haha!

    • April 18, 2010 6:01 am

      I buy pasteurized egg whites of I just use them raw… I like to flirt with danger. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Oh What A Beautiful Lunch Date, Oh What A Beautiful Day « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

