Skip to content

Sweet Potato Turmeric Chocolate Chip Pancakes

April 18, 2010

Imagine something soft and creamy. And thick and moist. And rich and decadent.

IMG_0631

I don’t usually enjoy pancakes; I would opt for waffles or oatmeal any day. That is, until these babies were born.

These came together after a long night of crime fighting with batman. We were hungry and wanted something exotic yet rich and comforting.

The flavor combination just works so well. It’s unexpected yet perfect. Sweet potatoes, turmeric and dark chocolate? It’s not as crazy as it sounds. I promise! Read on for the crazy nutritional benefits, too.

The recipe is quite easy. The wet ingredients can be mixed in a blender, and from ingredients to pan takes just five minutes.

almondmilkcupwhole wheat white flour turmericsweet potatodates

Sweet Potato, Turmeric and

Chocolate Chip Pancakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 3 prunes
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 cup baked sweet potato
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar (optional)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup whole wheat white flour
  • 1/3 cup chopped dates
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Puree the eggs, prunes, sweet potato, agave, vanilla, turmeric and almond milk until completely smooth.

Whisk together the remaining ingredients. Pour the wet mixture over the top and fold together until there is no visible powder.

Cook on a greased non stick pan for about 4 minutes over medium heat. Flip and cook for an additional 3 minutes.

Keep warm in a 250* oven if you don’t have stove top space to cook them all at once.

Serve with maple syrup and Cacao Euphoria or homemade Cacao Bliss.

Serves 3-4

IMG_0622IMG_0623IMG_0625

pancake nutrition

Here are the nutrition facts. This is per serving and the recipe makes 3-4 servings. The prunes, dates and sweet potatoes provide so much natural sweetness that the agave can definitely be eliminated. They also come with the benefit of dietary fiber.

The amount of protein and Vitamin A isn’t too shabby either! I would say these are a healthy start to your day.

(Click to enlarge)

More nutrition knowledge:

turmeric is healthy Turmeric works as a strong, natural anti-inflammatory. It can help anything from post-workout soreness to rheumatoid arthritis, and possibly even prevent cancer!

Let’s talk tannins. Foods that contain tannins include wine, coffee, tea, berries and spices like turmeric. What do these foods have in common?

  1. They stain things easily (think teeth, table clothes)
  2. They have medicinal properties

Why? Because tannins, including tannic acid, are polyphenols. If you’ve heard Alton Brown’s Welch’s commercials you may know something about polyphenols. They are antioxidants that counter harmful free radicals. Free radicals can react with cell DNA creating mutations: potential tumors and the beginning to cancer.

Why does turmeric act as an anti-inflammatory? Curcumin, one of the active components of turmeric, suppresses prostaglandin synthesis. Prostaglandin constricts muscle cells and acts on the thermoregulatory system to elevate body temperature.

The lesson, kiddies, is to eat your pancakes and your curry. They may just save your life! 🙂

[Photo source. If you’re interested in the nutrition research sources, shoot me an e-mail. It’s mainly text books.]

~~~

Thank you all for your encouragement after my last post. It means so much to me. In the words of a friend:

“Any decision is the right decision as long as you don’t look back”.

I think I’m going to try to not think about the big commitment until I get back from Florida.

Oh, did I tell you I’m going to Florida this week for my senior trip? Wooot wooot!! 😀

In other news I desperately need to update my recipes page. About that…

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 9:51 am

    They look awesome and I love the educational info. Thanks Mae!

  2. April 18, 2010 10:46 am

    Great looking pancakes! I bought tumeric and have no clue what to do with it, now I know 🙂

  3. Danielle permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:54 am

    I think these sound really good 😀 I had some chocolate covered curry cashews once and I was surprised at how good they were! Don’t knock the weird flavor combos unless ya try it

  4. April 18, 2010 7:03 pm

    Okay, I love putting curry powder on my sweet potatoes…so I think it’s safe to say I would LOOVE these. you’re too good, Mae. It’s like you read my crazy mind 😉 I love the educational tidbits you include, too.
    Annnd – I so have to apologize for completely forgetting about the Cook’s Mission the past two weeks – eek!! I just randomly thought of it this morning, and am hoping to take on the Rutabega challenge. I’ve never played with a Rutabega before!!
    Have a great time in Florida. Bring sunshine back with you 😛

  5. April 18, 2010 7:55 pm

    Yum! I”m so glad I bought turmeric last weekend. I knew it could be used for savory but this sees very fun and different

  6. April 18, 2010 9:15 pm

    Oh goodness, those pancakes look amazing! Can you believe I’ve never had sweet potato pancakes? I really need to make some. I love the idea of combining sweet potato with chocolate, yum!!

  7. April 18, 2010 10:28 pm

    Those pancakes look fabulous!!

  8. April 18, 2010 11:24 pm

    Florida! Awesome! Have fun girl!!!
    And that is great advice!
    As for the pancakes, very interesting haha but I’d give them a shot! They look delicious, you are so so so creative!

  9. April 19, 2010 12:06 am

    I would never, ever have thought of putting those ingredients together but the finished result looks fab!

  10. eatgoodstuff permalink
    April 19, 2010 3:11 am

    Those pancakes look amazing!
    Try not to worry too much about the college thing… I will be a firsthand account of the fact that it isn’t the place you are at as much as the people you are with. Just make sure you have good friends (and good food!) and you will love it 🙂

  11. April 19, 2010 8:19 am

    Turmeric and sweet potato in pancakes? Yum! I’ve been looking for ways to incorporate turmeric into my diet because of its role in preventing so many diseases. I usually put it in eggs, but this looks so much better! 🙂

  12. April 20, 2010 3:06 am

    Hey girl! The food, as always, looks and sounds ammaazziingg!!
    I love how in many of your posts you give a breakdown of the nutritional properties of the ingredients e.g. “Why”? –> because it has anti-inflammatory properties, etc….LOVE IT! GREAT INFO! and you are such a great chef, your food looks divine!!! you’re on a totally different level! love it!

  13. April 22, 2010 10:44 pm

    These look and sound amazing Mae. Well, anything involving the words “pancakes chocolate and sweet potato” could be nothing short of amazing, no? 🙂

    Just reading through your cheese making posts. Again, you amaze me, and can I just say that you look exactly like your cute mama? 🙂

  14. April 24, 2010 7:10 am

    I love how simple your steps are to follow especially with all the pics!! And I love that you give a nutritional analysis. Thank you mam!

    PS. Made your humnut cheese sauce today. LOVE YOU!!!

Trackbacks

  1. people like me + Sweet Potato Oatcake recipe « Unusual Passions
  2. El Dorado Granola « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

