Skip to content

Look At This Photograph

April 28, 2010

Every time it makes me laugh.

Obviously I’m referring to Nickleback. So! I’m back from Florida. 

Disney was a whirl wind of parks, friends, sunshine, music and fun. I’ve never had more fun in my life than I did the past few days on my senior trip.

teacup_epcot

We started out in Epcot, which was amazing. I loved every ride there. My friends and I rode most of them but I did miss out on Soarin’. Guess I’ll have to go back sometime! 😉

I’m an extreme ride person, and when I say that I mean extreme. The more intense the ride the better but my favorite of the day was Earth to Space. It’s a really slow ride that takes you from cavemen times to the future in space. It was really interactive and I chose to listen to it in French. The ride was just so incredibly relaxing with the French narration and the amazing “scenes”. Loved it.

The countries of Epcot were amazing too. We had fun in Italy and Japan, and in France I had an intense conversation with a French man about “mon arme vert”. I tricked a little girl into thinking I was a princess. Hilarious.

ipaint_epcot italy_epcot japan_epcot

We ate sushi for dinner in Japan, which was pretty decent and then ended the night at Illuminations. Illuminations is a fireworks show that’s just beyond extravagant. We busses back to the hotel and crashed.

The next morning we were up early to get to Magic Kingdom.

magickingdom_day

My group boiled down to the “Sweet 6” then the “Final 4” as we went from ride to ride. It was a great, great time. The following night we would get this entire park to ourselves (well, with 15,000 other seniors) for senior night. Hahaha Monsters Inc. Laugh Show is hilarious, and if you’re ever in Magic Kingdom, don’t skip it!

hat_mgm

After that we spent the second half of the day at Hollywood Studios. My awesome Uncle Paulie works there and he hooked my friends and I up with unlimited fast passes. We had such a blast with those. Rockin’ Roller Coaster, Tower of Terror and Buzz Light-year were so much fun! THe show at MGM was called “Fantasmic” and it was just captivating. I almost missed it (long story which involves a spilled beer on my shirt, a roller coaster, and a hilarious phone conversation) but was so glad I got there in time. Words can’t describe how amazing this show was. We got back to the hotel around midnight and slept so well.

zebrabutt_zoo

The next morning started with Animal Kingdom. Best ride of the trip was Everest. So much fun! we rode it twice. The Safari and Nature Stroll were great too; it was like visiting a zoo.

Timothy_zoo 

We went back to the hotel around 5:00 PM to rest for a few hours before grad night. My friends and I got ready and came out for photos at 8:15.

Grad night began at 10:00 and went until 4:00 AM. I can’t believe I wasn’t tired once! I had so much energy, and I had the best time ever. We went to the Paramore concert by the castle around 1:30 AM and it started at 2. It was so great!! Actually, I was probably driving everyone crazy with my energetic singing + dancing. I ended the night with a $7 bag of Jelly Bellies that I dragged my friend across the park to buy for me. Hehe, I paid him back! I ate about 1/18th of it, got bored, then did some more dancing. We got back around 5 AM.

The next morning I got up to pack at 9 (!!!) and grabbed a coffee to shake the grogginess. We went to Downtown Disney until 2:00, but everyone was really tired so we just strolled around in the heat. It was wonderful.

me_wolfgang sushi_wolfgang

wolfgang_downtown

I did get a chance to grab sushi at Wolfgang Puck’s cafe so I was a happy girl. Absolutely the best, most refreshing meal of the trip. Mmmmm

We got to the airport and found out storms would definitely prevent us from leaving on time.

mat me_joker

We found ways to entertain ourselves at their airport until 9:00 (?) when the plane finally left. So possibly I’m crazy but I had a blast at the airport. I spent the bulk of the time strolling around watching the Florida storm shake some trees.

The plane ride back was magical too. There was lightning in the distance, but the skies had cleared enough to see the lights of the cities. They dissipated into stars and the whole scene was unbelievable. (Can you tell I fought for a window seat?! 😉 ) I didn’t sleep for a minute- I wouldn’t miss the last ride.

symba_epcot   

Disney was the best time of my life. I just had so much fun with my friends, and really bonded with some new people. I wouldn’t have traded this experience for anything. I give the vacation an A+.

…Totally crashed on Monday though!…

Have you ever been to Disney? What about a senior trip? What did you think?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 8:55 am

    I’m SO GLAD you had amazing time! You deserve it girl!
    I have been to Disney and it was a BLAST! My favorite was Epcot for sure. I saw THE most gorgeous man I have ever seen in my entire life in Denmark (I think, or Switzerland?.. something like that) and ate a delicious Japanese meal. And the fireworks show at Epcot is AWESOME.
    I love airports too! I went to Ireland with my school when I was in 11th grade and it was a very similar trip in terms of a senior trip. Some of my best memories happened in the airports and on bus rides!

  2. eatgoodstuff permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:07 am

    It looks like you had an amazing time!
    I have been trying to plan a trip to Disneyworld but it is just too far out of my price range right now.
    I live about an hour and 15 minutes south of Disneyland though, so I usually end up going at least twice a month with my annual pass!

  3. Kelly Calisto permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:49 am

    woo hoo, I’ll be in Disney this weekend actually 🙂 Thanks for getting me all excited.

  4. April 28, 2010 5:45 pm

    Glad you had a wonderful time, girl! I have never been to Disney! I am so deprived…I am living vicariously through your pics. 🙂

  5. April 28, 2010 6:07 pm

    Looks like a great time – I’ve never been to disney, or Florida. Or anywhere past Virginia, haha. How’d you like coming back to SNOW, though?! UGH. Not impressed.
    That’s an awesome senior trip, too! I think our class went for a boat cruise on Lake George? I opted out. haha.

  6. April 28, 2010 7:24 pm

    Glad you had such a great trip! It’s been AGES since I’ve been to Disney (1998, maybe?) but I love it. A lot of bloggers have been recently, and it’s making me nostalgic!!

    Hope you have a great hump day!!

  7. April 29, 2010 12:18 am

    I absolutely LOVE Epcot and Animal Kingdom! But I just love anything Disney-related in general 🙂 I still enjoy classic Disney movies even now that I’m 21!

  8. April 29, 2010 3:55 am

    Oh, WOW!
    Such amazing pics, Mae!
    I´m sure you´ve had a BLAST!
    I mean, it´s Disneyland! What´s not to love?!
    😉
    Have a wonderful night, love!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  9. April 29, 2010 5:53 pm

    Haha! I love that picture of the zebras butt 😉

    I’m so glad you had a good time, Mae! I can imagine that all the rides and lights and just begin with friends must have been SO fun. I can’t think of a better way to end senior year! For our senior, we went to a nearby town and took “life” classes – not all the fun, but at least it was with my friends 🙂 .

    Actually, we went to Lake Placid, which I’m sure you’ve been to!

  10. Kara permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:03 pm

    My senior trip (which was…uh…6 years ago?!!?) was to Disney too! Although we didn’t have the whole park to ourselves for grad night…that sounds like a blast. (And p.s. soarin’ wasn’t really that great of ride anyway, so you didn’t miss out on much!)

    Enjoy your last few weeks (months?) of being a senior!

  11. April 30, 2010 5:53 am

    Wow! I want to go to Disney World! Those animals are crazy! I love it!

    Soooo….. since you’re awesome and you have an awesome blog… I present you with….

    Drumroll please…

    The Sunshine Award!

    Please redeem here: http://www.whatrunslori.com/2010/04/busy-living-life/

    😉

  12. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 1, 2010 6:33 am

    oh may. tomorrow is your first day and I can’t believe april went by so fast! luckily you’re living in style at disney
    Katherine
    whataboutsummer

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s Go Red! « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

