Skip to content

Decadent Vanilla Bean Honey

May 4, 2010

So do you remember these marshmallows? They were homemade with real vanilla beans and dipped in dark chocolate. I can’t deal with wasting any part of the precious vanilla beans, so I threw them in a jar of honey to see what would happen.

…Two weeks passed…

…Four weeks passed…

…Months and months passed…

And then it was time to act.

IMG_0895

Vanilla pods, even sans seeds, are filled with flavor. They infuse things like sugar, tea, oil, and alcohol. Why not honey?

I thought this would be run of the mill flavored honey, but I was oh so wrong.

IMG_0897

I have never tasted something so delicious- with a caramel flavor and texture this honey is rich and silky.

I have just a slight bias due to my honey-snob nature (amber honey is so superior, and local honey always tastes like love compared to the supermarket flavorless bears…anyway…) but I have to say this infusion was amazing.

And I didn’t have to do anything! I just threw some leftover pods in a jar and chucked it into the back of my pantry so I wouldn’t be  tempted to eat it all before it was done.

It’s really best served on dark chocolate. I’m talking 100% dark- it’s the perfect combination of sweet, rich and just a little bitter. If you’re easing yourself into the world of dark chocolates and not ready for 100%, I would recommend a good 70% dark. I like Ghirardelli, Godiva, or Chocolove.

Other serving ideas:

 

Vanilla Bean Infused Honey

Put vanilla pods in honey. Let the combination infuse for 3 weeks-several months.

The seeds you were unable to scrape from the pod will loosen in the honey and dispuse through the mixture for a “vanilla bean” appearance too.

*Tip- the vanilla pods can be leftover from crème brulee, marshmallows, or ice cream. Don’t throw them out!

  • IMG_0891 

You’ll thank me in three weeks. 🙂

I think this would also work with brown rice syrup for you strict vegans!

~~~

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 8:47 am

    Oh. WOW. Amazing. Now if only I had your patience…

  2. May 4, 2010 9:37 am

    What a fantastic idea! It sounds incredible, and would be amazing over coffee. Have you ever tried infusing honey with lavender? It is out of this world good!

  3. May 4, 2010 10:52 am

    I SO hope we get our stand mixer off our registry so I can make your marshmallows!!

    • May 4, 2010 8:42 pm

      Julie,
      For Christmas my mother used her credit card points to buy our kitchen aid as a present. If you don’t get it, I would try to use points (I’m sure you’ll have a lot saved up after a wedding, haha)

  4. May 4, 2010 5:38 pm

    Holy drool. That sounds so incredible.

  5. May 4, 2010 6:37 pm

    This look amazingg. I am all about vanilla – but have been too stingy to ever buy vanilla beans 😦 And I admire your patience. I would have probably tried it after, oh – a day, haha.

  6. May 4, 2010 6:41 pm

    This sounds amazing. I absolutely love infused honey 🙂 I prefer raw honey because of the thickness, but I’m not sure if the vanilla would infuse in such thick material. Mmm. I’d have to try. 😉

  7. May 4, 2010 8:05 pm

    I have never bought a whole vanilla bean, but only b/c they are so pricey. However, I noticed the other day that Costco sells them for a really good price. Now I have no reason not to buy them. Looking forward to trying this Mae!

  8. May 4, 2010 11:02 pm

    This sounds absolutely mouthwatering, especially with dark chocolate. I love your culinary creations!

  9. May 4, 2010 11:59 pm

    fantastic idea – i have some beans to use. THanks!

  10. May 5, 2010 1:48 am

    Vanilla beans are amazing, right?! We make our own vanilla out of vodka and fresh vanilla beans. We ran out of vodka and ended up making screw drivers from our vanilla stash. It was amazing!

    • May 5, 2010 3:59 am

      hahhaha that sounds awesome! Bourbon or Captain Morgan vanilla extract are quite delicious too!

  11. May 5, 2010 4:31 am

    Oh my! Looks delicious! I LOVE raw honey so this is right up my alley…

  12. May 5, 2010 5:34 am

    I finally broke down and spent the $ for a couple vanilla bean pods! Now that I know what to do with the pods, what would you say would be the greatest, most delicious thing to do with the beans, Oh vanilla guru?

  13. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 5, 2010 6:08 am

    a picture is worth a thousand words
    but I’m sure you won’t want to be talking with this in your kitchen!

  14. May 6, 2010 9:33 am

    You are sheer genius! I don’t know anyone else who would think to not only save the pods, but to throw them into honey! Those suckers are expensive! I usually only make that splurge purchase for a truly important dessert/dish and I’m so glad that you gave me a great way to prevent waste.

  15. Maggie permalink
    January 11, 2011 1:37 am

    Vanilla infused honey is also delicious on greek style yogurt.

  16. May 20, 2011 11:02 am

    i love the idea! vanilla and honey, yay!

Leave a Reply

