Skip to content

Where in the World is OhhMay?

May 7, 2010

I began this blog last year and it grew into such a passion. I couldn’t imagine not writing. Even through two jobs and school work, I’ve usually managed to get several posts up each week.

I’m always a busy girl but lately with my new lifeguard position, my social life, and preparation for the upcoming AP exams (one week!!) my busy level has increased greatly.

Next week is the AP English (Composition, woot woot!) exam and then the next day I’m leaving to go to Charleston (woot woot!) for a wedding. I won’t get back until Monday or Tuesday, and then Friday is prom. (I hope I look half as pretty as this girl!) 

After that I’ll still have some challenging classes (that refuse to ever end) and I’ll still be working, but hopefully I will be back to posting regularly.

I think this blog vacation is going to be just what I need- I will be posting from time to time, but not quite as often. When I come back I have some new plans for OhhMay!

 

Please don’t fret if you don’t see my comments, I really am still reading. [I promise!]

Now it’s time for random thoughts day, because I need to get it out of my system:

  • Blue Ford Escape: I hate you. Not only do you think you are so hot that you need to take up two spots in the parking lot, as of late one of those spots is mine. Now I need to park in someone else’s spot ruining their day. The number of parking lot tags and parking lot spaces are equal, meaning if you take up two spots and everyone is coming to school someone has no space. You also probably shouldn’t have cigarettes in your car in the school parking lot, it’s sort’ve illegal. I’m sure the child that sits in your car seat appreciates them. Watch your back!
  • Weather: thank you for finally becoming lovely. Spring picks up my spirit!
  • Cornell: Can you tell me what dorm I’ll be living in? Please say Donlon, I think it would be so much fun!
  • My Truck: If I tell you you’re fat, will you stop asking for gas every two minutes? I can’t keep up with your appetite. Mama’s wallet is not happy!
  • Legs: I will never cover you with clothes again! It’s mini-dresses, skirts and shorts from here on in.
  • Ankle: Thank you so much for being good to me. You barely hurt at all anymore. I walked for seven straight hours in Disney (yup.) and I was still a happy girl. You are the best.
  • High school: I have twenty six more days of classes with you and then I am done forever! How do you feel about that? I think it’s time for us to both move on. By the way, 0% of me feel like sitting for the Physics regents on the 22nd of June. New Yorkers, do/did you hate regents exams!?
  • Bread: My rhumetologist doesn’t want me to eat you (or your gluten filled friends) anymore because she’s worried about my stomach. I will miss you more than you know! Hopefully this is just a break.
  • Lunchroom: I’ve never ordered food from you, but I see that you now serve whole wheat pasta and whole wheat buns. I spied homemade macaroni and cheese [not Kraft!!] and more kids are getting salad bar. I want to say kudos! You’re making moves in the right direction.

 

Last order of business:

I’m calling for guest posters to put together a good recipe for OhhMay!!!

I want to do a vegan breakfast, lunch, and dinner and a gluten-free breakfast, lunch and dinner. (dessert and snacks will work too!) No contest involved, just send me an email if you’re interested in one of those categories!!

It would be half the post about you and your blog, and then half for the recipe.

OhhMay… out!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 3:41 am

    I would love to help you out with a guest post! It would be so fantastically perfect because I have been meaning to try some gluten free recipes and vegan recipes so as so include more people in my blog! I will be emailing you shortly 🙂 and don’t fret about the vacay, we will be here when you return!

  2. May 7, 2010 4:08 am

    Don’t worry about your bloggy vacay – sometimes you just need it! Good luck with all your exams!

    Also, as a former Upstate New Yorker … Regents are laaaame! I remember taking the Course III math Reagents and loathing those little review books. Do they still use those? I think they were green or blue.

    • May 7, 2010 4:16 am

      Yup they do… haha the blue books are evil!

  3. May 7, 2010 4:38 am

    Good for you! Enjoy this time! You will never get it back and you are at such an important time in your life! I am sure you will look absolutely beautiful and you will have a blast! Enjoy your prom and the last days of school! I am so happy for you!

  4. May 7, 2010 5:43 am

    Have a good blog vacation!! And I’m excited about the guest posts, how cool!

  5. May 7, 2010 5:45 am

    No apology necessary – we all miss you tons and tons, but this is your time!! You won’t be a sr. in high school ever again. Although, I’m sorry you have exams and crazy amounts of work to deal with – tell your teachers “I’m a senior. I do what I want.” aight? 😛
    Anyways – have an amazing time at the wedding and your prom!! I can’t wait to see pictures 🙂 Oh, and – kudos to your lunchroom! That’s awesome. Your principal must watch Jamie Oliver.

  6. May 7, 2010 6:17 am

    I just found out about Saratoga Peanut Butter Company through a friend on Facebook, and then discovered your blog while visiting their website! I’m originally from central New York (we don’t say “Upstate New York” because folks think that means it’s 30 minutes north of NYC) and know the Ithaca area very well (I lived in Virgil/Cortland area). You’ll be attending Cornell? Couldn’t do better if you ask me!! Hope you continue blogging, but a well-deserved break is never a bad thing. I look forward to reading your posts & seeing more of your recipes. Good luck!

  7. Erica H. permalink
    May 7, 2010 6:48 am

    My friend lived in Donlon freshman year and it WAS awesome! Hope you get in!

  8. May 7, 2010 6:58 am

    Have a great next few weeks, sounds like so much fun!

  9. May 7, 2010 8:38 am

    Good luck!! You are crazy busy! Have fun while it lasts 🙂

  10. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 7, 2010 8:47 am

    is the recipe supposed to taste good? I can make cereal… otherwise I make disasters. Post some prom pics when you get a chance! those are such good memories
    Katherine

  11. May 7, 2010 9:05 am

    Oh, AP exams, how I remember you! I even took AP comp back in the day.

    I wish I were going to be in Charleston next weekend! But I’m going this weekend…to graduate!

    • May 7, 2010 9:32 am

      Ahhhhh Congrats, I can’t believe I miss you by that little. Boo, pick a good restaurant for me to eat at!

  12. May 7, 2010 12:31 pm

    good luck with all your upcoming events and finishing up HS – HOW EXCITING!!!

    Sounds like you have accomplish and will continue to accomplish so much.

    GooMay!

  13. May 9, 2010 8:57 pm

    Thanks for the linkage girl 🙂 I hope you have an amazing time at prom and I cannot wait to see piuctures! Good luck with AP exams also, im taking them too eww!

  14. Danielle permalink
    May 10, 2010 11:01 pm

    Enjoy the blog vaca & don’t even worry about it 😀

    Good luck with exams!

  15. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:23 am

    oh carmen sandiego: I’m spamming your wall but hoping finals are still going well! I know they’re the pitts!

  16. May 13, 2010 2:01 am

    have tons of fun at prom girlie!! Who would have thought that college is right around the corner! congrats on cornell!! for a minute I thought we might both be going to Clemson together haha

Leave a Reply

