Skip to content

Goin’ on an Airplane

May 13, 2010

…to see my cousin get married…

Yes, I can’t wait for tomorrow (night). We’re leaving at 3 AM for the 5 o’clock flight into North Carolina and then renting a car to drive to Charleston!

My cousins have lived in Charleston since I was little so we go down there about once a year to visit.

DSCN6304

I love that city! I feel like it’s the Saratoga of the south. In fact, the deep historical routes, haunted building tours and even the Charleston Harbor and the Saratoga Lake give a similar vibe.

If only Saratoga could be 84* right now. It’s actually in the 40’s-60’s here with wind and rain. It just feels miserable.

image

Yum, nothing like some freeze warnings in mid-May. I love it. BOOOOO!

~

In other news AP English Language and Composition was today!! Woo, I’m so glad to be done with that exam. I actually really enjoy writing so it wasn’t torturous as, say, a math exam would be. It was certainly long! Is a four hour test really necessary for each AP subject? Just wondering. Aren’t most college finals about and hour or two? Well I’m over it now and not thinking about it until July when the scores come back.

IMG_0959 IMG_0957 IMG_0950 IMG_0960

So what has fueled me is tea, tea and more tea. Every morning I love my cup of yerba mate (Guayaki is amazing!). It wakes me up but in a focused way, not like when I have coffee.

When I have coffee in the morning I’m prone to pretending I’m batman. And singing songs… All kinds of songs. Some are from The Sound of Music, some from my brain. Haha it gets ugly.

mat me_joker

Well that’s actually my Joker face… or is it my Poker Face??

I digress. Yerba Mate is my go-to tea because of its rich flavor and high antioxidant value (more so than green tea!).

I recently read this article which suggests that my beloved mate isn’t good for health. It bothers me that the article doesn’t have citations for those studies regarding mate and cancer, and for now I continue to drink it. It’s my favorite!

If I’m still groggy after the first cup of tea, it’s time for some green. I love loose leaf but if I don’t have time, Yogi Green Tea Goji Berry is quite delicious. It has a fruity, well rounded flavor.

And to help me fall asleep the night before [or after!] a big day of exams, I love chamomile or a “sleepy time” blend.

IMG_0950

Some of my favorite blends are:

image

image

image

To recap:

The night before an exam drink

  • Chamomile or a “Relaxation tea”

The day of an exam drink

  • Yerba Mate
  • Some sort of green tea if still tired

After exam drink

  • Blueberry, because it’s a fun treat and a good mid-afternoon tea.
14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 11:59 am

    Have a great time at the wedding! Weddings are a blast 🙂

  2. Little Bookworm permalink
    May 13, 2010 3:42 pm

    Love your blog – I hope you have a good time at the wedding! 🙂

  3. May 13, 2010 5:24 pm

    Have fun!

  4. May 13, 2010 7:23 pm

    Have fun at the wedding, sounds like a great trip!

    As someone who sat through 7 AP tests in high school, take it from me: they’re tedious, but worth it. I’m graduating a year early from college because of mine, and when my parents are footing the $55,000 per year bill, that’s definitely not a bad thing!

    • May 14, 2010 12:06 am

      7 AP exams!!?? You’re crazy/amazing! I wish our school offered more but I can’t imagine taking 7!

  5. May 14, 2010 10:30 am

    Yikes, a four hour test definitely sounds way too long for high school.. but I’m sure it’s nothin you can’t handle 😉 Have fun at the wedding!

  6. jvegegirl permalink
    May 14, 2010 10:19 pm

    All my finals are 3 hours, though admittedly less monotonous than those stupid AP exams :P.

  7. May 14, 2010 10:26 pm

    I loooove Charleston!! And I’m not the least bit biased since I live in SC 😉

  8. May 15, 2010 9:37 pm

    Girl I took the English Lit & Composition exam too… and I am also glad that its over! 🙂 Enjoy yourself this weekend, and take pictures! I love weddings!

  9. May 15, 2010 9:51 pm

    I just bought some Yerba Maté tea for the first time. :p I have had it carbonated like a soda but never as the tea form…the tea I got is infused with cacao as well 😀

  10. May 16, 2010 12:27 pm

    I definately agree that they should shorten the AP tests… I sat through 5 AP tests in 5 consecutive days this year and by the time I finished the last one I thought I was going to keel over dead.

  11. May 17, 2010 11:51 pm

    Hi May! I just recently stumbled across your blog through the Saratoga Peanut Butter Co. website and it looks like we might be “neighbors”?? I saw your picture in the Stillwater uniform…I actually live in Troy, NY! How cool to find a fellow blogger so close! 😀

    • May 18, 2010 6:46 am

      Yayy! I’m always looking for local bloggers. So good to know, I can’t wait to read more from your site!!

Trackbacks

  1. A Drink For THIS Season « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

