Skip to content

Gluten-Free Breakfast Quinoa

May 18, 2010

Hey y’all! (I can get away with saying that for 12 more hours as the southern trip wares off…) I hope you had a great weekend. I’ll be posting my Charleston recaps very soon, but today is an amazing breakfast by Julie from Savvy Eats!

~~~

Hi all, Julie from Savvy Eats here.  When Meagan sent out a call for guest posts on gluten-free and/or vegan meals, I immediately thought of my favorite breakfast: Breakfast Quinoa!

Lots of people think of quinoa as a grain only suitable for savory dishes, but I prefer it sweet.  This little seed is a nutritional powerhouse, filled with protein, iron, fiber and other important minerals.  I first discovered quinoa when I was misdiagnosed with a gluten sensitivity.  I no longer felt comfortable eating oatmeal for breakfast, since there is a big controversy as to whether or not oats are ‘safe’ to eat when avoiding gluten.  Quinoa to the rescue!

7

You can "dress up" your breakfast quinoa however you’d like.  Here, I’ll provide the basic recipe along with some of my favorite flavor combinations.

Breakfast Quinoa

Serves 1

1/3 c. quinoa, rinsed

1/3 c. water

1/3 c. milk or milk substitute

1    tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. vanilla

Mix together all ingredients in a small pot.  Cover and bring to a boil over medium-high heat on the stove. 

Remove the lid and reduce the heat so that the quinoa is simmering.  Cook, stirring often, until almost all of the moisture is absorbed.

Serve and top with your favorite toppings!

6

Some of my favorite variations are…

Rocky Road Quinoa  Marshmallows, chocolate chips, and walnuts

PB&J Quinoa  Okay, really almond butter and preserves…but close!

Berry Bliss Quinoa  Nut butter, preserves, cherries, blackberries

Tropical Quinoa   Coconut butter, shredded coconut, melon, pear, preserves

Cacao Bliss Quinoa  Cacao Bliss, shredded coconut, pomegranate arils

IMG_1485 Resized

(all fruit can be either frozen or fresh!)

Enjoy this healthy, unique, and delicious breakfast!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 8:57 pm

    Love breakfast quinoa & quinoa yogurt messes! Great add-in ideas!

  2. May 18, 2010 9:52 pm

    I have been wanting to try breakfast quinoa but I wasn’t sure exactly how to do it… thanks for the recipe!

  3. May 18, 2010 11:22 pm

    Mmmmm mmmmm! Great breakfast! I love quinoa and would love to eat more of it for breakfast but have never found a recipe that captures the sweetness (pretty much needed) for breakfast fares. Thanks! Can’t wait to try your variations too.. they all look amazing!

  4. May 19, 2010 3:33 am

    OH! I’ve always wanted to try breakfast quinoa!! Love that it’s gluten free!! 🙂

  5. May 19, 2010 3:47 am

    Hope you’re enjoying you little break, Mae. I had to take a break for similar reasons. They never do give us seniors a break! Julie, I tried quinoa for breakfast one morning and it was definitely nice to have something new. I stopped having it because I didn’t think it would taste good with almond butter, but now that I see it as one of your favorite, I will try it again. Instead of preserves, I like to cook berries into the cereal…so it’s kind of like preserves, but with less sugar! Yours looks great with the chopped pears!

  6. May 19, 2010 3:54 am

    This is such a great idea! I love Quinoa! Can’t wait to try…

  7. May 19, 2010 11:28 pm

    Thanks for the great ideas! I often eat quinoa, but have never even thought about eating it as a sweet dish.

  8. June 4, 2010 6:32 am

    Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

