Skip to content

Carolina Girl

May 19, 2010

I am back.

And refreshed.

And a little burnt.

And missing Carolina like woah.

I really had a great weekend. We fit so much into the three days we were there and I had such a good time with my family. My cousins, aunts, and uncles are all so close that there’s no question- if there’s a big event and you’re 5 miles or 3000 miles away you are there.

IMG_0981

We woke up at the butt crack of dawn to get to the airport for the 6:00 AM flight.

IMG_0983

I had Starbucks oatmeal with a banana I brought from home and their pack of nuts. It was just okay for me. I also ordered green tea and wasn’t thrilled- it had a smoky flavor and almost tasted musty.

The flights went well but the layover was tight. We ran to catch the second one to Raleigh.

IMG_0984  

The seven of us (my parents, brother, and I + Aunt Di and Uncle Ray) loaded into the rental van and drove.

IMG_0989

And drove.

IMG_0985

And drove.

IMG_0986

And drove.

We finally arrived to the hotel, which was very nice and was in a wonderful location.

Charleston Hampton Inn on Meeting Street.

IMG_0992IMG_0993

IMG_0998

I hit the gym for a 30 minute bike ride before getting ready for the boat!

IMG_1010

It was such a beautiful day!

IMG_1013

 IMG_1014

My brother and I on the ‘Carolina Girl’

IMG_1020

For dinner, there was a catered southern barbecue. I had some pulled pork (about double what is here) and tons of fruit. Then it was dancing time!

IMG_1034

We danced as the bridge went from looking like this

 

IMG_1036

To looking like this

 

IMG_1037

To this.

 

IMG_1035  

We had so much fun. I certainly will be having my rehearsal dinner on a boat… best idea ever!

And you see, I’m working on that goal. I’m thinking about enrolling in a sailing class for my PE requirement next year… think of all the networking that could occur! 😉

Wedding recap tomorrow… So I get to say to be continued… 😀

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 7:08 pm

    You look gorgeous in that dress, May! So lovely and springy.

  2. May 19, 2010 8:42 pm

    Looks like a great time!
    I love your dress!

  3. Little Bookworm permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:14 pm

    Sounds like you had a great time! I am going to echo the two commenters above me – love your dress! 🙂

  4. May 20, 2010 1:59 am

    You look beautiful! Hope you are feeling well xoxo

  5. May 20, 2010 7:33 am

    You and your brother look soo cute together in that picture. Well, at least, you look cute and he looks funny! Hope you had a great trip. I am so psyched you picked Cornell! Good luck finishing out your senior year. We are so close to summer…and college. I’ll probably be up there at some point in the next four years to compete!

  6. May 21, 2010 11:37 am

    I just had some of that oatmeal from starbucks the other day… yum! 🙂

  7. May 28, 2010 11:25 am

    WHAT!! so cool! I LOVE CHARLESTON!!! i live right near there!

Leave a Reply

