Skip to content

My Eyes Are Stuck Shut

May 25, 2010

Have you ever felt like every time you blink your eyes they take forever to react and open back up again? Yes. That is me.

I’m so glad you all liked Lauren’s post! She did an amazing job. 🙂

~~~

This past weekend was PROM.

A5

I spent Thursday night doing a home spa that included a:

  • Banana hair mask: 1/2 banana, 1 T coconut oil, 1 T water
  • Lycopene scrub: 2 T tomato paste, 2 T coconut oil, 1 T coerce sugar ((This stains!))
  • Oat face mask: 2 T instant oats (blended into powder), 1 T honey, 1 T egg white
  • Under eye conditioner: Almond oil+ petroleum jelly

Friday we had to go to school, then I came home to get ready. My mom did my hair and then I ate a giant smoothie to sustain me until 7:00!

F5

I called the event hall ahead of time and asked to change the pasta primavera in a cream sauce to pasta with marinara sauce.

Tip for vegans/those with allergies: call the event hall/ hotel and set up your meal a week before the event. Call the same day to confirm that they remembered. Choose something impossibly easy (like pasta with red sauce) so the chance it’s screwed up is reduced.

Then I finished getting ready and headed out for 7,000 photos. Oh boy.

image

A16 

Back and front of dress.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image IMG_1306 image 

The night was a lot of fun. We arrived, ate appetizers (hummus, crudités and tapenade ftw!), dinner, then danced. And danced some more.

I certainly see the appeal of a short prom dress now! Dancing would be so much easier. And cooler.

After the prom, my school hosted an after party until 3 AM to prevent underage substance abuse and almost everyone came! All the seniors went home with a gift- I won a $25 iTunes card and Jenna won a 32” flat screen TV. Mini fridges, microwaves, stereo systems, iPods, and even net books were given away. This was all from donation money given to the school for after prom by local sponsors. It’s really a wonderful idea!

After the after party we sat by a fire outside my friend’s house until the sun came up. We all claimed a space on his floor to crash at around 5 AM, then officially woke up at 10:30.

Of course I made breakfast! Duh. I was a creeper and went through all of my friend’s cabinets until I could pull together a recipe for pancakes. They were cinnamon maple oat, made from scratch (and I completely winged it- it worked out). My camera battery was dead so I couldn’t play breakfast paparazzi, but they were well received.

Saturday was being lazy with friends, watching Scrubs, then a late fire. We love fire up in New York! 😀

Sunday was youth group meeting, workout, work, staff meeting (practicing lifeguard skills), another youth group meeting (our last…sniff), procrastinating on homework, uploading pictures, finally homework, sleeeeep.

The sleep part lasted five hours and considering my sleep total for the weekend was ten hours, I’m ready to crash. I just taught four swimming lessons, ate a can of Amy’s soup practically from the can and am ready to lay on my floor and pass out.

Prom was wonderful; definitely a great memory. Because we only have a senior prom it felt really special. I love my friends, and I had to Google the word “friend” because I can’t think straight. Or see straight.

Thank you all for sticking around and reading my life recap posts. 🙂 It warms my heart 😉

Now it’s time for sleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 9:32 am

    You are gorgeous and your prom dress is beautiful! Just like a princess 🙂 I’m exited for my prom coming up. 😛

  2. May 25, 2010 10:15 am

    You look absolutely stunning! That dress is beautiful on you!

  3. May 25, 2010 10:34 am

    You look so beautiful in your dress (which I totally love btw!) It sounds like your prom was amazing! Spending time with friends and staying up all night long is just part of the experience. Now I can’t wait until my prom!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  4. May 25, 2010 11:52 am

    You look beautiful! Makes me miss my HS dances… =(
    AND speaking of that – I am incredibly jealous that your HS gave out such awesome prizes!

  5. May 25, 2010 12:18 pm

    You look amazing girl!
    wonderful dress, and you are glowing in it!
    ahh..my prom was like exactly two years ago, and it was so much fun. 🙂
    I’m glad you enjoyed it 😉

  6. May 25, 2010 12:39 pm

    You look gorgeous!

  7. May 25, 2010 12:52 pm

    Wow, your dress is beautiful and you look beautiful in it! Good job Mom on your hair!! This makes me miss prom, mine was so fun!! Glad you had a great time. 🙂

  8. May 25, 2010 12:53 pm

    Aww, thank you again Mae!
    Your dress is perfect, very classy and yet still sexy! You look gorgeous! I am glad you had a great prom. Now that thats outta the way, you can start daydreaming about Cccoorrnneelll!

  9. May 25, 2010 1:41 pm

    LOVE your hair like this! and your dress is gorgeous! xx

  10. May 25, 2010 2:08 pm

    u look stunning Mae.

  11. Little Bookworm permalink
    May 25, 2010 3:20 pm

    You look amazing, and I love your dress!

  12. May 25, 2010 4:19 pm

    You look like a movie star ready to go down the red carpet!! LOVE your dress, your hair, your earrings, girl you are gorgeous!!!! So glad you had such a good time at Prom!! 🙂

  13. Marina permalink
    May 25, 2010 5:25 pm

    wooooow, that dress is soooo amazing, I LOVE IT!!!
    and you really did look perfect in it 🙂

  14. May 25, 2010 5:42 pm

    Beautiful, girl!!

  15. May 25, 2010 6:06 pm

    You are gorgeous!! And what a beautiful dress, too. Love the home spa 🙂
    Glad you had an awesome time, and hope you got a good night’s SLEEP!

  16. melissa @ the delicate place permalink
    May 25, 2010 8:01 pm

    you look stunning! i LOVE your dress. it fits you perfectly! gah so glad you had a nice time! way to end the year 🙂

  17. May 25, 2010 8:49 pm

    you look glamorous and GORGEOUS!!!

  18. May 25, 2010 10:20 pm

    This is getting redundant but you are UNBELIEVABLY GORGEOUS. I love the dress. I think it suits you better than the red that you had before….you look like a fairy princess now 🙂 Love the photos, especially your expression in the one with your grandmother (?) OK, get some rest…sounds like you totally need it!

  19. May 25, 2010 10:21 pm

    You look beautiful! Congratulations!!

  20. May 25, 2010 10:40 pm

    you look soooooooooooo beautiful!!! i hope you had fun!!

  21. May 26, 2010 12:08 am

    You look absolutely BEAUTIFUL, that dress is stunning on you!! I love that you made breakfast for everyone the day after prom…I’m sure you were appreciated! Hope your week is off to a good start girl!!

  22. May 26, 2010 3:24 am

    My gosh you look absolutely stunning- truly!!! My favorite picture is the one with the baby; it’s obvious that you are gorgeous inside and out!

  23. May 26, 2010 5:25 am

    You looked so gorgeous!! I really wish my school had prom when I was a senior, but of course we had to be the school on the news who cancelled prom due to lavash outrageous partying and such. Boo. Looks like you had an awesome time.

  24. May 26, 2010 9:45 am

    Gorgeous dress on a gorgeous girl! Sounds like a fantastic weekend!

  25. May 26, 2010 12:13 pm

    I loveee the dress- you look gorgeous! And your mom did your hair?? She’s got skills 😀

  26. May 27, 2010 10:03 am

    WOW Mae you look stunning!

  27. May 27, 2010 10:58 pm

    What a pretty dress May, you look so beautiful in it!!
    Ana

  28. May 28, 2010 8:29 pm

    MAE! You are breath-taking! That dress is gorgeous, and I want to steal your earrings! You really do look gorgeous! XOXOXO
    B

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan Potato Gnocchi in Lentil Pasta Sauce « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

