Skip to content

Vegan Potato Gnocchi in Lentil Pasta Sauce

May 26, 2010

I have another guest recipe, this time by Amy from Adventures of a Ginger Grad Student. Her vegan gnocchi is quite extravagant and would impress anyone!

THANK YOU all for your sweet comments on my prom post! It means so much to me… you guys are so sweet. 🙂

Without further ado, here it is:

~~~

Hey Everyone! It’s Amy here from the adventures of a ginger grad student! When Mae put out the call for guest posts I was really excited to have the chance to post on her amazing blog. I am relatively new to the blog world and during the first week of my blog I stumbled upon her blog, and ever since her homemade cacao bliss recipe have been hooked on her site!

I thought this would be a really great opportunity for a meat eater like me to create a vegan dish that appeals not only to vegans but to meat eaters as well! You see I go to school in a fairly small town, and although there are a ton of dining options the options for eating vegetarian are very slim. If your looking to eat out and your a vegan there is only really one place you can go, and they close really early! So everyone cooks at home, and over the years I’ve been to many a potluck. For this recipe I decided to combine my 2 favourite loves, sweet potato and chunky pasta sauce, to make a vegan dish, that appeals to pretty much everyone. I invited a friend over who has never had vegan food before and she gave this dish two thumbs up… so by now your probably wondering what the dish is, drum roll please…

Vegan Potato Gnocchi in thick lentil pasta sauce100_3041

I wanted something that was relatively quick and that I could let simmer on the stove, I searched the internet for gnocchi recipes and modified several different ones to come up with a really easy and not too time consuming recipe.

What you’ll need:

1 sweet potato and enough regular potatoes to make 3 cups cooked.

3 cups whole wheat pastry flour

salt and pepper

2 teaspoons salt and pepper

2 cans tomato sauce

1/2 cup dried red lentils

1/2 cup dried green lentils

8 shaved baby carrots

1 stalk celery chopped

handful sundried tomatoes

basil and parsley to taste

kale

For the Gnocchi:

Take the potatoes and wrap in moist paper towel and microwave until cooked. Then remove the skin and mash together in a bowl and add the 3 cups of flour, add the salt and pepper and cinnamon to taste. If the mixture is still wet add more flour until you can form it into a large ball. Let it sit here for about 10-20minutes. Since the weather was warm I put the bowl in the fridge as the cold made it easier to handle.

While the dough is sitting combine the tomato sauce, carrot, celery, lentils, and tomatoes in a large pot and let simmer for 20-30 minutes until the lentils are cooked. Also at this point take the kale coat in oil and salt and put it in the oven to cook for 30-40 minutes (flipping once) so they get nice and crispy!.

After letting it rest take the dough out of the bowl and divide into 4 sections. 100_3026

Taking one section at a time divide into 2 balls and roll out a long and skinny rope, then cut small sections.100_3029

Toss the Gnocchi into a pot of boiling water (I did one section at a time). After about 30 seconds they will start to float. Cook for about 5-8 minutes then remove from pot with a slotted spoon. 100_3034

At this point the sauce will be ready so take some of the Gnocchi and add it to the sauce. Plate with the kale and enjoy! This recipe gives a ton of left overs, it makes around 6 servings so feel free to scale as you see fit. I froze some of the Gnocchi and sauce not mixed so that I can use each in different recipes.100_3042

Well that’s all from me, and thanks again to Mae for letting me do this post!

Amy

Thank you again Amy!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 1:28 am

    That sounds so good, Amy!

  2. May 28, 2010 1:31 am

    awesome guest post- this looks amazing!!

    And i just peeked at your prom pictures- you look soo pretty! And i LOVE that dress and those earrings 🙂

Leave a Reply

