Skip to content

A Drink For THIS Season

May 29, 2010

IMG_1359

It’s warm in New York-I don’t know how or why but I love it! This week included several 80 degree days and one day it was into the 90’s!

This is quite apocalyptic considering eleven days ago we had freeze warnings.

So now I actually crave beverages to cool down (I told you this was apocalyptic) and my favorite is iced coffee.

Sweet and vanilla scented, served on the rocks, the perfect pick me up in the middle of the day. Proper iced coffee is easy and delicious, so listen up.

If you brew coffee in the morning brew an extra cup or two. Plot out the time of day when you need your beverage of summer. Noon? One thirty? Three o’clock?

 

Once you’ve poured your morning cup of “joe,” place the coffee carafe in the refrigerator.

It needs at least 40 minutes to cool down enough so the ice won’t dilute it. Mix your cold coffee with five drops of vanilla stevia, or 1-2 tsp agave or 1-2 tsp maple syrup or 1-2 tsp honey (recommended!) Stir it up with 5 squirts of vanilla extract (or an 1/8 of a teaspoon if you don’t keep your vanilla in a squirt bottle) and a shot of almond milk.

Pour over a tall glass filled with ice cubes and stir it all together with a straw. Sip and enjoy!

IMG_1348

Mid-Day Iced Coffee

  • 1 cup cold coffee (leftover)
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 5 drops of vanilla stevia or 1-2 tsp of your favorite liquid sweetener, honey is recommended!
  • 1/8th tsp vanilla extract (5 squirts)
  1. Mix together all ingredients.
  2. Pour over a glass full of ice cubes and stir.
  3. Drink up!

Tip: If you haven’t tried honey in your coffee yet, now is the time! It’s especially delicious in iced coffee.

Tip: If you know how sweet you like your iced coffee ahead of time, go ahead and add the sweetener while it’s still warm. It will dissolve better this way.

Tip: Do you brew tea in the morning? Brew two cups and save some for later. Iced tea time!

What’s your favorite beverage to cool down?

~~~

By the way, do you like the summer tomato header? I thought it was time for some change. 🙂

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2010 2:08 am

    I love iced coffee with just a touch of honey and a lot of milk. One tip that I read in our paper a couple years ago that I’ve been doing ever since is each morning if you have left over coffee in your pot, pour the left overs into an ice cube tray and freeze. That way when you make iced coffee your ice cubes are also coffee, and you don’t get any dilution of the coffee. You can also use these coffee cubes and make a nice blended coffee drink in the blender.

    • May 29, 2010 10:12 am

      Ahh Amy! Such a great idea… I used to make my chocolate smoothies like that every. day. 🙂 It brings back good memories! It does muddy up your ice cube trays, and don’t try it with tea because for some reason my green tea cubes fused themselves to the ice cube tray. I could not get them out!

  2. May 29, 2010 2:51 am

    Oh my god- just scrolled through your posts- you looked beautiful at your prom- absolutely stunning!

    This ice coffee also looks delish- if it hadn’t been raining for the past week here, maybe I’d be more tempted to drink it! haha

  3. May 29, 2010 3:21 am

    Great idea! No matter how many times I brew my morning coffee only to fill my travel mug for my work commute, I ALWAYS make too much… wasting perfectly good coffee. Now I’ll just make the entire pot and reuse it later. I was actually in search of a good iced coffee recipe today! 🙂

  4. May 29, 2010 3:39 am

    It’s been so hot here for the past few days, and I can’t get enough of ice coffee!
    I don’t add any sweeteners in mine, but I could try adding honey, sounds interesting 🙂

    • May 29, 2010 8:06 am

      You definitely don’t need the sweetener- it just makes it more of a treat! I used to always drink black iced coffee, but after my first experience of honey in there I can’t go back. It’s really good!

  5. May 29, 2010 6:07 am

    I am all about iced coffee these days. I usually follow what you said above but then add a little SF Syrup flavor & 1/4 tsp Xanthan Gum and blend it up for a healthy Frappuccino 🙂

    • May 29, 2010 8:06 am

      wow! I bet the xanthen gum makes it creamy and delicious. That’s an awesome idea!

  6. May 29, 2010 7:09 am

    Hey I have a a question for you, as the resident food science guru of the blog world… I DO make my green tea the night before (with a tea bag) and chill in the fridge overnight. However, I’ve heard that you are supposed to drink tea right away.

    Do you know anything about:
    * Whether or not the antioxidants in green tea are as potent the next day?
    * Does the caffeine content stay the same after being chilled and/or over time?

    • May 29, 2010 10:05 am

      Q2: The caffeine will be about the same the next day (caffeine is a purine alkaloid and I believe it takes heat over a longer period of time to deteriorate these molecules… in the fridge the caffeine content shouldn’t waver too much from the freshly brewed cup)

      Q1: There could be many reasons they recommend drinking tea immediately, and I would suspect for flavor but as far as the antioxidant content, I believe that antioxidants deteriorate (or are deactivated?) with oxidation. If your tea is covered with plastic wrap or in a sealed container you should be fine. 🙂

      Hopefully this helped!

  7. May 29, 2010 7:39 pm

    This looks delicious!! I do love iced coffee, though I usually buy it because we never brew coffee in my house!!

Trackbacks

  1. Questions And Answers - Are COLD coffee drinks common in Italy? If so, what are they called?
  2. Extreme Makeover: Back Yard Edition « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

