Skip to content

Seaweed Inspired Salad

May 30, 2010

 

IMG_0930

I am a huge seaweed salad fan. I love the textures and flavors- the subtle sweetness, the chewy wakame, the spicy pepper flakes, the mellow sesame oil. I order it whenever I’m at a Japanese restaurant, and have been dying make it myself. Unfortunately the price of wakame gets me every time and I surrender the idea.

IMG_0924  IMG_0927 

But when cravings hit, you have to satisfy them right? So I created a faux-seaweed salad with what I had on hand and it turned out…

…delicious, in its own  way.

It wasn’t seaweed salad but it was a satisfying dinner that definitely gave me a Japanese vibe.

IMG_0925 IMG_0926

Massaged Sesame Ginger Salad

Serves 1-2

  • 8 cups of baby greens- spinach, romaine, red lettuce, whatever you have on hand
  • 1 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 4 cubes (about 1.5 tbsp) crystallized ginger, minced
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1/3 cup chick peas
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • pinch of crushed pepper flakes
  • sriracha, to serve

Pour the greens on to a cutting board and cut the pile into thin slices. Precision isn’t important- you want the pieces larger than chopped but smaller than whole.

In a large bowl or plastic container, mix the greens, oil, vinegar, juice, soy sauce, ginger, sesame seeds, garlic powder and pepper flakes. Massage all ingredients together with your hands for a minute or two, then toss in the chick peas.

Refrigerate salad for 20 minutes and then serve with additional sesame seeds and  sriracha.

Enjoy with chopsticks!

I had this with a side of cheetah sweet potato cubes.

IMG_0931

And more hot sauce.

Your tummy will say thank you! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 8:29 pm

    This looks amazing! I’m definitely trying it!

  2. actorsdiet permalink
    May 31, 2010 3:43 am

    i love seaweed too. this looks terrific!

  3. May 31, 2010 7:29 am

    This looks PERFECT, especially since I’m really not a seaweed fan. I will for sure be trying it! Crystalized ginger is sooo good, I had some in trail mix the other day. yum!!

  4. thedelicateplace permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:53 pm

    i love my seaweed salad! will most surely be making this! our garden is exploding with lettuce right now so it will be a nice change to eat all my leafy greens! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Braised Lamb and Beef Bolognese « Ribbons, Roads, and Raspberries

Leave a Reply

