Skip to content

How To Eat a Mango

June 2, 2010

Oh mango, there’s no way of saying how much I love thee. You remind me of summer months and hot days in the sun. So juicy, so sweet, so perfect.

Alas, opening you to reveal your delicious fruit can be difficult for first timers. If you’ve run into mango eating trouble, observe:

 

 IMG_1419 IMG_1420

Ripe mango. + Sharp (ish) Knife.

Note: A mango isn’t ready until it is soft enough for your finger to completely leave an impression. They’re better with age- trust me!

IMG_1421

Button toward you, stand your mango vertically. (As in it can’t comfortably rest on the cutting board)

IMG_1422 IMG_1423

Slice cheeks on both sides of the stone, imagine the stone is about an inch wide. With practice you will learn where to cut in regard to the size of the mango.

IMG_1424  IMG_1425

You now have three pieces.

IMG_1426  IMG_1427

Take the center piece and skim both sides with the knife.

IMG_1428 IMG_1429

Now take the cheeks and score them in a checkerboard pattern.

IMG_1430  IMG_1431          

Turn out (to form a hedgehog!) and cut shallow slices in the side pieces.

Either cut or pop these cubes out, and eat!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 1:00 pm

    Ooh, I love mangoes!

  2. June 2, 2010 6:24 pm

    thanks for this 🙂
    I’m terrible at cutting mangoes 😀

  3. melissa @ the delicate place permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:45 pm

    lol! my hubs loves mango so he googled it a couple years ago because he wanted every last bit of it! it’s amazing how mango/avocado seem to puzzle those who usually just enjoy the end product (fruit salads or guac). i am all about the DIY!

  4. June 2, 2010 9:01 pm

    Awesome mango tutorial!! Thanks so much for this!! I LOVE mango!! 🙂

  5. June 3, 2010 2:31 am

    Love this tutorial- I always have problems cutting these suckers!! Thanks for the help!

  6. stephanie permalink
    June 3, 2010 6:12 am

    You really should eat the skin – it has the most nutrients!

    • June 4, 2010 3:47 am

      Thank you for the tip… I eat the skin off of everything, but for some reason never mangoes. I will have to start!!

  7. June 3, 2010 9:48 am

    Oh yum! When I come home my dad cuts up mangoes for me…that’s the even easier way to eat a mango…have someone cuts it for you and then you just eat it. They remind me of Thai food, so I like to eat them with chopsticks. I often find I cut too far from the stone and then eat the rest of the mango straight off the stone.

  8. June 3, 2010 11:29 am

    totally cute idea and yum mango!

  9. June 3, 2010 1:13 pm

    I LOVE MANGOS!! And I love eating them like this!

Leave a Reply

