Skip to content

Good Weekend, Good Weekend

June 6, 2010

This weekend has consisted mainly of work, work and more work. Saturday’s Farmers’ Market went well… Saratoga Peanut Butter Co. made a cashew butter (!!) while I was away in Charleston, and everyone who comes up to the booth begs for it.

Customer: Do you have cashew butter?

Me: No, I’m sorry… hopefully we’ll make another run soon.

Customer: Why don’t you have it?? I need it. DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME? I NEED it.

This cashew butter must’ve had drug like qualities…I can’t wait to try it when we make it again!

IMG_1508

I’ve still been munching my chocolate green smoothies for breakfast. Sweet potato makes them so delicious! This one was:

  • 5 ice cubes
  • 1 frozen banana (small)
  • Tons of baby spinach
  • about 3 oz sweet potato (skin and all)
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract

Toppings:

  • Corn Flakes
  • Coffee beans
  • Tahini
  • Jam

So energizing and satisfying!

IMG_1514

Yum… and my lunch creations have been much like what’s pictured above this week. They’re like layered salads.

Layer 1: Greens

  • Baby romaine
  • Spinach

Layer 2: “Grits”

  • 1/4 cup oat bran cooked with water
  • Salt
  • 1 T nutritional yeast
  • Garlic powder

Layer 3: Salmon salad

  • Salmon
  • Hummus
  • Tomato paste
  • Hot sauce
  • Mustard

Layer 4: Toppings

  • Tomatoes
  • Tahini

~~~

I’m off to work for the 34964093th hour this weekend; hopefully I’ll be back in later with a recipe. Until then, cheers!

((And congats on your confirmation Kayla!))

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 11:40 pm

    All nut butters are like crack, but cashew is especially creamy and decadent…I can totally understand the demand!! I love the coffee beans you added to your SIAB…what a perfect way to get that caffeine fix! Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  2. June 7, 2010 12:21 am

    I agree, nut butters are like crack 🙂 )
    Your layered salad is an awesome idea, sounds delicious!

  3. June 7, 2010 2:44 am

    Wow, loving your layered salad and green monster! I’ll strike a deal – you come over for waffles if you bring either salads or some of your amazing nut butters? I’m on the last bit of my coconut butter – I haven’t been using it as much lately because I’m afraid of finishing it! haha. The cashew butter sounds amazing – I’ve never had real cashew butter (just my homemade cashew butter that was more of a cashew spread, haha) but am dying to try one.
    You have such a cool job – must be great to work at the farmer’s market, too. At least, when the weather is nice 😉

  4. June 7, 2010 4:37 am

    I’ve made mediocre homemade cashew butter before but never tasted any REALLY good stuff… but if your co’s is that in demand I seriously want to get my hands on some! Almost as much as I want to eat that smoothie of yours.

  5. June 7, 2010 6:56 am

    The Cashew Butter sounds delicious!
    Maybe you could do a giveaway when you have more? 🙂

  6. June 7, 2010 8:03 am

    Haha…that cashew butter customer is like me with almond butter! I’m always telling my mom what day I think the jar will be done and that we’re going to be in trouble if we don’t go to the store soon. Never had cashew butter, though..and I broke the FP making almond 🙂 Hope the party planning is going well.

  7. June 7, 2010 3:04 pm

    Cashew butter is delicious.

    Your green smoothie has some crazy mix ins and toppings! I really like the idea of adding sweet potato.

  8. June 8, 2010 1:35 am

    cashew butter sounds so good, I wonder how they make it creamy! Mine turns out too dry/blah

  9. June 9, 2010 8:03 am

    Oh my gosh I’ve been such a bad blog friend!! I was subscribed to your blog and I stopped getting updates so I thought you stopped blogging!!! Meh. I’ve missed you! Even though you’ve been here this whole time…
    ANYWAYS, cashew butter? Oh wow. I want some!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Things. « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

