Skip to content

10 Things.

June 9, 2010

10 things I’m grateful for right now: the food edition.

Based on the best selling series by Savvy JulieJulie, can I play in your garden this August? Pretty please?

((AKA I have way to many finals to cook, photograph, and blog a recipe. heh…))

 

1. This summer I will be volunteering at the Cornell Cooperative Extension, working at a Farmers’ Market on Thursday.

IMG_1556 

I’m going to be preparing recipes with the other interns utilizing in season ingredients and then giving out samples and the recipe at the market to shoppers so they know what to do with their seasonal produce!

IMG_1557

This makes me very excited…

 

2. Bob’s Red Mill Granola

image

Via

It’s so crunchy and so, so yummy!

 

3. Homemade chunky almond butter with flax and sesame seeds…

IMG_1546

Yummm.

 

4. Summer produce. Enough said!!

image

via

[Tomatoes are one of my favorite summer eats. They’re so juicy and flavorful!]

 

5. Dumb luck. I was looking for a “summer tomato” photo on Google Images and came across this website. I’m in love. Summer Tomato=new favorite site.

 

6. Pears. Something about a ripe pear is so seductive. They’re sweet and juicy, with an aftertaste reminiscent of a fine wine.

image

via

Think about pears today. They’ve lost their sexy stigma because of what woman’s magazines refer to as the “pear shape.” Before all the diet-by-shape books and articles, pears were the perfect elegant and ravishing dessert.

Wine poached?

With vanilla beans?

Baked in a tart?

Pears and fine cheese… pears and champagne…

 

For me,

Apples=childhood

Strawberries=summer

Blueberries=memories with my mom

Melon=melon eating races with my dad

But, pears=romance. End of story.

 

7. My brown rice Jay Robb protein powder is gone.

You read that right. I’m happy it’s gone.

It was so expensive that I couldn’t admit to myself I really disliked it. Well, I really disliked it. Egg white protein powder is great, brown rice is chalk.

Additionally, it’s much cheaper to use straight up egg whites in your smoothie but I understand not everyone can do that.

 

8. Motivation to make banana whip. I do love it so!

 

9. Chocolate for breakfast.

IMG_1363

 

10. Being fortunate enough to enjoy all of this good food, while others have none.

Even in the midst of stress and exams.

 

I. can’t. wait. until. the 26th. ((Graduation, finally!))

 

~~~

Oh, and 11= The brand new LaraBars. ❤ ❤ ❤ The ones that involve the words “dough” and “cake.”

Let’s make it a guessing game! 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 1:37 pm

    oh I heart pears too…and chocolate for breakfast…and new lara bars with award winning titles! YUMMMMM.

  2. June 9, 2010 9:34 pm

    Yes! Come play in my garden with me 🙂

  3. June 10, 2010 2:46 am

    New Lara bars?????? Can I say YUM? Yes? Ok, YUMMMMMMMM!
    Thanks for letting us know!

    I love your list here! Such great items and I’m definitely feelin’ all of them! Congrats on your Cornell Farmers Market volunteering! So fun and such a great opportunity!!!! So happy for you!

    And love the homemade AB! I much make that- with the flax and seeds!

  4. June 10, 2010 4:51 am

    I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only one who hates Jay Robb’s brown rice pp! Blech. So terrible, that I actually talked the store into taking it back. It was so awful.

  5. June 11, 2010 3:27 am

    Have you tried Asian pears? They are SO sexy. And juicy. And delicious! Pear and gouda is a fantastic combination, too!

  6. Jenna Quick permalink
    June 11, 2010 4:59 am

    You make me so hungry ma’am. :-p We need to go eat some Rice Cream. Seriously. That stuff was good. This summer, we’re going to the crazy food store again and buying it. This is not a request 😉 baha. We also need to make Banana Ice Cream… and watch the Dark Knight… and the Wedding Crashers… and The Sound of Music… and other fun stuff ((like French movies!!)).

  7. June 14, 2010 7:46 am

    I have to make that almond butter. So yummy!

Leave a Reply

