Skip to content

Guest Post: Coconut Loco-nut Cherry Muffins

June 12, 2010

Hello there everyone!

Some of you may know me I’m Michal, the girl behind the vegan food blog Earth Muffin. When I learned that May was looking for guest posters I was so excited because her blog is one of my all time favorites. For those of you who don’t know my story I will back peddle a little bit and tell you more about myself.

I grew up basically like everyone else, eating the SAD, not getting any exercise or nutrition. Just living life day by day and ignoring anything that had to do with nutrition. When I was about thirteen my weight hit 200 pounds, and I was very depressed. I lacked self confidence and drive in myself and I did not really know who I was as a person. I was shy, awkward and wasn’t happy with who I was. Inside there was a person crying to get out, it was then I knew then that I had to make some drastic changes in my life.

It was when my weight hit 200 pounds that I made the transition into flexitarianism. A flexitarian is someone who rarely eats meat, but continues to use products such as milk, cheese, eggs. I would eat meat occasionally at family picnics and on special holidays. Like any other american teen I enjoyed my Big Macs and burgers from McDonald’s and Burger King. Some of my favorite things were chicken wraps from Wendy’s and pizza from Papa Johns. In my mindset then I believed it to be healthier because it wasn’t on a bun. I felt better eating this way than I did before, but my diet was still lacking and included many unhealthy staples such as bagel bites and frozen pizzas which I would consume three to four times a week and I would eat multiple servings of each. I also ate a lot of snack foods such as muffins and cookies. Fruit and vegetables were a “no-no”, the only time I ever ate something green was if it came on my sandwich. Lettuce essence on burgers anyone?

I was a flexitarian for about two years before I decided to transition to a full vegetarian in late summer of 2008. I felt better immediately and noticed that my body was responding well to the change. However even though I was a vegetarian I was still eating large amounts of processed foods, only now I would just get a frozen pizza with just cheese as opposed to pepperoni. Or when I went to subway I would get a foot long with every kind of cheese available, marinara sauce and black olives. Healthy right? Wrong!

As I continued my journey down the path of vegetarianism I had the most drastic change in my eating habits after I read the book Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. I got this book initially thinking that it would just help me on my way to weight loss, having no idea of the strong vegan message that it conveyed throughout the book. But after reading the book in two days I immediately converted to being vegan, this was in February of 2009. One year and a odd months later of being vegan I am still going strong and thriving each day.

I firmly believe that a whole foods macrobiotic diet is best for everyone, and that the less processed foods you consume the better.

Since becoming vegan I have lost weight, my skin has become more clear and my hair more shiny. I have tons more energy! But more importantly I have gained confidence in myself and realized that only I know what I am capable of. Now it is one of my goals in life to help others through food and exercise. So now I am vegan, and getting stronger everyday. I have found that I love taking care of my body and I enjoy exercising and doing Zumba to stay fit. I love cooking and being in the kitchen and one of my favorite things to do is create new recipes!

Keeping true to my namesake and all things muffiny I am happy to present a new recipe for a tasty and healthy muffin that I am just going crazy for! 🙂


Coconut Loco-nut Cherry Muffins

Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup organic cane sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup of your favorite granola

1/4 cup canola oil

1 cup vanilla soy yogurt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

3 tbsp coconut flakes

1/2 cup dried cherries

energy egg replacer (for two eggs)

Directions

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. In one bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cane sugar. Stir in granola. In another box mix together the soy yogurt, oil, ener-g egg replacer and the extracts. And dry ingredients to the yogurt mixture and stir gently until just combined. Add in the dried coconut flakes and the dried cherries. Mix until combined. Line a muffin tin with paper liners and spoon the batter into the cups until nearly full. Sprinkle the top with more dried coconut and a few dried cherries.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until golden brown and delicious.

Enjoy!

These taste super yummy warm right out of the oven with a bit of melted soy butter. Or sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar and grilled for a minute or two.

Well that’s all from me!Thanks again to the gorgeous Mae for letting me be a guest poster on her blog. 🙂

Michal ♥

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 9:45 pm

    Mmm, these muffins LOOK to die for! Need to make these! Do you think it’d work with chia flour or almond flour?

    • July 7, 2010 2:55 am

      Hi serena! I know for a fact that it works with almond flour but im not sure about chia. With the almond flour though its just a teensy bit denser 🙂

  2. June 13, 2010 1:08 am

    Yummm the muffins looks so adorable. They look so healthy, too. My family will love these. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

