Skip to content

Polenta Is In the Air

June 14, 2010

IMG_1618

I’m Italian. I grew up eating predominantly Italian food like homemade cavatelli, gnocchi,  linguine, torrone, etc. Up until this day, I’ve never tried polenta.

Polenta is congealed cooked cornmeal that can be served fresh, broiled, fried, pan fried, grilled, or baked. You can make it yourself or purchase it in the tube as shown above. I chose to broil it and see how it came out… I was so amazed!

IMG_1624

I love polenta! It’s crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside; almost like a baked hash brown.

 

 

IMG_1621

I served my new found love to my dad and I with sautéed mushrooms, local spinach and garlic and fresh tomato artichoke salsa.

IMG_1619    

To broil, just open up the package then dry the tube of cornmeal (it will be firm.)

Cut it into cubes as pictured above and drizzle or sprits with olive oil.

Sprinkle a little salt and then broil, turning cubes often, for about 10 minutes.

I’ve seen others cook it, and I’ve bookmarked plenty of do-it-yourself recipes but until this day I have never tasted the wonder that is polenta. I can’t wait to experiment some more!

 

Are you a polenta fan? What’s your favorite way to eat it?

Ideas:

  • Roasted red pepper polenta (roasted red pepper puree replacing some of the liquid)
  • Oat bran polenta?
  • Sweet polenta (or baked or broiled polenta served with fresh berries and cream?)

I still have a jar of grape leaves to experiment with, agar agar, cocoa butter, and z-bars to recreate. I better get back in the kitchen!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 12:02 pm

    i need to try polenta !! yumm! ive heard AWESOME things!

  2. June 14, 2010 7:16 pm

    i love the creaminess/crispyness that is polenta, too 🙂 i don’t have it near enough, either! i am always too impatient to make it from scratch and wait for it to set – so it’s either eaten “mushy,” or the rare occasion i buy the premade tube. delicious either way, though. and sweet polenta is really good, too!

  3. June 14, 2010 8:24 pm

    I highly recommend trying out homemade polenta!! It’ll change your life! 😉

  4. June 14, 2010 9:04 pm

    Ohhh I love polenta! It sounds amazing with berries and fresh cream, I’ll have to give that a try!

  5. June 14, 2010 10:28 pm

    Glad you discovered it! I do love it just the way you cooked it. If you cook it from scratch, it’s more mushy, and I do prefer it a little crispy. Yum!

    I’ve layered the kind you have like lasagna noodles with sauce and spinach, and it’s excellent!

  6. June 15, 2010 12:18 am

    I tried making my own polenta once and I thought I didn’t like it…it never got cripsy on the outside & creamy on the inside like yours! Maybe I’ll get the storebought and give it another shot 🙂

  7. June 15, 2010 3:27 am

    Mmmm,ohh yes, I looove polenta! Now that it’s summer grilling season I’m going to try making some on the grill b/c I bet it would be great with summer grilled veggies like squash, onions, asparagus, etc. I like polenta with a little bit of butter. My dad makes a nice dish of polenta topped with homemae bolognese and melted mozzarella cheese (I know you don’t eat dairy, though). I think a dessert polenta would be really cool because I love the natural sweetness of cornbread.

  8. June 15, 2010 11:13 am

    I loooove polenta. I make this polenta round for parties and it is a huge hit! I am going to try it differently next time, but here is the gist of it.

    -Cut up the polenta round in small rounds and pop them in the oven for about 5 minutes under the broiler
    -In a sautee pan, sautee mushrooms, garlic, onions, and basil in white truffle oil (super expensive to get the pure stuff, but you can get olive oil infused with white truffles, AMAZING)
    -Top each polenta round with the mushroom mixture, and top each of the rounds with a little dollop of soft goat cheese
    -Put the rounds back in the oven for 8 minutes under broil
    -Pull the rounds out of the oven and top with julienned basil leaves and serve…you will NOT be disappointed!

    I’m making these this weekend (hopefully), if so, I will post pics of mine 🙂

  9. June 15, 2010 12:55 pm

    This post reminded me that I need to eat more polenta!

Leave a Reply

