Skip to content

Give Me Bulk!

June 15, 2010

Bulk bins are so much fun. (I’m not a loser. I promise!)

Today I hit the health food store on the way home from orientation for Lifeguarding and tried to imagine what I could do with the exotic herbs I found.

Rosehips? What flavor do they have compared to rosebuds? What about passion flower? What’s the difference between chamomile and German chamomile?

I decided to buy a bunch of stuff and experiment. Behold:

bulk

Clockwise, starting in the upper left hand corner: rosehips, passion flower, German chamomile, roasted chicory.

granola win 

I also bought lavender, quinoa, flax seeds, granola and a vanilla bean. I shop at the Green Grocer in Clifton Park where vanilla beans are $1.50/piece. =0 😀

Plus, the employees are extremely kind and helpful.

IMG_1639 IMG_1641IMG_1634 IMG_1635 IMG_1636 IMG_1637   

I decided to try a tea blend.

 

IMG_1642 IMG_1643 IMG_1645IMG_1646

Lavender, chicory, chamomile, rosehips, and passion flower.

IMG_1644 IMG_1647

IMG_1650

 

  IMG_1651 IMG_1653

It was bitter. And delicious. And interesting. I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not, but I know I’m excited to make my own tea blends! This is just getting started…

~~~

Are you a bulk bin shopper? What’s your favorite thing to buy in bulk?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 11:20 am

    Ahaha, I love bulk bins! But I realized, partially due to a post from Averie (www.loveveggiesandyoga.com), that they can be pretty narsty (in terms of critters, dirt, disease…eugh!)
    I love getting my dried mangos from WF bulk bins!

  2. June 15, 2010 12:35 pm

    I love the bulk bins! I buy everything I can from them – flours, sugars, spices, dried fruit, tea, coffee, dried beans, and grains. I know they can be nasty, but really, do we know what the state of the factory that processes packed goods is like? Its just so much better, environmentally speaking.

  3. June 15, 2010 7:00 pm

    I LOVE shopping the bulk bins! FYI: The bulk bins at the co-op in Ithaca are amazing… 🙂

  4. June 16, 2010 12:09 am

    I LOVE buying from bulk bins. Then I can buy as little as I want because usually I just like to sample things first before I buy lots of it. Also, it’s good portion control if I just want a little granola, not a WHOLE bag or a few cookies, not a whole roll of them.

  5. June 16, 2010 3:53 am

    Buying in bulk=epic win.
    I love love love to buy in bulk!

  6. June 16, 2010 1:33 pm

    I really want to start making my own tea blends!! I think I should buy an herb book so I know which to buy. The amount of stuff in the bulk bins is kind of intimidating!

Leave a Reply

