Skip to content

Sunlight Is My Alarm

June 16, 2010

I would call this a productive day. It began my favorite way: waking up without an alarm. Yes. That is the one thing I really love- beginning each day with the amount of sleep your body wants. Sometimes it’s 9 hours, sometimes 6, sometimes 8, but the key is that no alarm is blaring music at me at 5:00 AM. Just gentle sunlight and the smell of coffee brewing. Sigh.

IMG_1655IMG_1658IMG_1657

I ate breakfast with my mom on the deck before getting to work.

Today’s smoothie in a tahini-jar:

  • 75 g ripe banana, frozen
  • 70 g sweet potato, baked and frozen
  • 80 g kabocha squash, baked
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder

Toppings:

  • Granola
  • Coffee beans
  • Served in a mostly-empty tahini jar

 

IMG_1662

Let’s talk about Powerade for a minute. It comes in these big 32 oz bottles and contains (for the entire bottle) 40% DV B vitamins, as well as potassium and other electrolytes. It tastes really good so it’s easy to drink.

With that being said, none of the ingredients are natural, it’s made with chemical sweeteners and is not  a health food. But if you were to do (or drink) something that dehydrates you and depletes your energy the next day, but you chugged this bottle right before going to bed the next morning goes so. much. better. If your into dehydrating activities, try this!

I hate to say I’m sort’ve addicted to Powerade zero.

 

IMG_1661

So I cleaned and cleaned and then totally ruined one of my favorite shirts. 😦 So it looks like my new “cleaning shirt” is Express’ sexy basic vee. Roar.

IMG_1659IMG_1664

The yard and house are starting to shape up, but I think there will be a few all-nighters between now and Saturday (grad party day.) We have so much to cook, clean and unfortunately plant and tile. I hope the party is fun though!

IMG_1665

After a quick lunch of chips (times this by 10, because I ate 3/4ths of a bag.) and salsa, I took off to peanut butter to pack up internet orders and ship them.

IMG_1666

Dropped off the packages, then had to drive 25 miles in the opposite direction to teach a private swim lesson. I fit in a 20 minute bike ride, 1/2 mile run and some lunges afterward.

My friend and I are about to watch some movies, later this week as cooking begins I have some recipes planned. Can’t wait! (Tomorrow is the food shopping day for 150 people… eek!)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 11:01 am

    Goodness, you fit so much into a day! And all without an alarm. Impressive, Lady!

  2. June 16, 2010 12:40 pm

    i get up early and only have 30 mins before i workoutand worry im not hydrated enough, do u think drinking powerade the night before would work? xx

  3. June 16, 2010 6:53 pm

    haha i read your “smoothie” recipe and thought… “this girl and i would get along just fine.”
    love it!
    and ps- your prom pic is gorgeous!

  4. June 16, 2010 8:10 pm

    I have that shirt in multiple colors and I love it…it’s definitely comfy enough to be a cleaning tee! And Powerade Zero is bizarrely addictive. I know it’s not exactly health food, but it tastes good!

  5. June 17, 2010 1:42 am

    Wow, you wake up at 5 without an alarm?! Oh man, I’m pleased with myself when I get up at 8 without an alarm 🙂 Good luck getting ready for that grad. party, I can’t wait to see the pictures. Oh, and did I read correctly that you have been able to start running a bit again??

    • June 17, 2010 3:46 am

      Haha no… I wake up around 8:30 without an alarm, but to get up for school or work I need to set it for 5:00 😦 And yesssss I’ve been starting to run again! Really slowly, but it’s something!

  6. June 17, 2010 1:50 am

    I love your title 🙂 summer is sheer heaven.
    Just dropping in to say hello!

  7. June 17, 2010 3:37 am

    That’s one slammin’ smoothie! Must be really filling too with all those fiber 🙂

    I hear ya on the Powerade. I’m a Crystal Light and Propel addict too. I try to limit my intake of those chemicals to once or twice a week…soooo not TOO bad right? 😉 Good luck on all your cooking!

  8. June 17, 2010 4:07 am

    Hey Mae!

    I would have to agree that one of my favorite things is a weekend where I do NOT set an alarm. Now that the sun comes up so early, it is super easy to wake up at a decent time 🙂 Glad you are getting back into running! Don’t forget to keep up the cross training. Just recently I have started getting more injuries from pushing myself too hard, so I have begun cross-training religiously. Works like a charm!

    Do you ever get to send free samples of your Saratoga Peanut Butter to any of your blog readers?? If so, it sounds delish, so sign me up! 🙂

  9. June 17, 2010 10:42 am

    You’re a busy bee! And yes, the lemon-lime Powerade Zero is so bad, but so so good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

