Skip to content

Unnecessary.

June 18, 2010

Yesterday was insane! I was up working by 8, and took breaks out to eat then work. So many things about the day were so unnecessary. We’ll get to that later. 😉

IMG_1674

For breakfast I had a delicious chocolate oat concotion with lavender and strawberries.

Oat bran:

  • 1/4 c oat bran
  • 1/2 c coffee
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree (!)
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp lavender
  • A little bit of stevia (1/4 of a packet?)

Toppings:

Put together with the French toast oats method.

IMG_1675

It was glorious!

 

IMG_1682

Pear and dark chocolate for snack. Ohhhh pears…. I wish our local soil could support them. Instead they come from Argentina. Not so sustainable.

Then the doorbell rang.

It was a package.

Before I tell you what was in it, you have to know that our family’s curse is rain on parties. We’ve never had a party that wasn’t pored on, and we’ve even had snow in odd months like May.

IMG_1690   

Aww how sweet… a card from Maryland.

IMG_1691

It says

“Sending a little sunshine your way!

Sorry we couldn’t be there for the party, but we are sure the enclosed will come in handy.”

IMG_1688

4 ponchos and an umbrella.

IMG_1689

So unnecessary. So hilarious!! My family died laughing for a good 10 minutes.

  IMG_1700

But then all of a sudden the gift seemed practical.

IMG_1697

The skies opened up and my dad had work to do, so he decided to break them in! Haha, we have a photo from every party with my father standing in the rain, his arms spread, looking up at the sky.

 

Good times. 😀

After the antics I headed off to work. Before teaching my lesson I ran a quick mile and did some abs. Then I taught a private lesson and met my family so we could go to Sam’s club for party groceries.

$350, three cows, and 2 carts full of groceries later we headed home at 9:30 and crashed. Was it necessary to spend 4 hours shopping? hahaha maybe.

Today I’ll be posting my giant-batch homemade barbecue sauce. Our menu has been revised again! Stuffed shells, roast beef with au jus, pulled pork with homemade barbecue sauce, fennel and rosemary rolls, salad bar, roasted veggies, grilled corn, and salt potatoes. For dessert: chocolate fountain! 😀 😀

See you guys later!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. EmbraceYourSkin permalink
    June 18, 2010 2:14 am

    Haha, that is funny!
    We don’t really have anything like that in my family, but it is pretty awesome 🙂

  2. June 18, 2010 4:03 am

    Beautiful oats presentation!! Love the strawberries. Delish!

    Yay for rain… ug. I’m rooting for summer weather for you!

  3. June 18, 2010 8:41 am

    haha – the ponchos as a gift is too funny!! very clever. i hope it doesn’t rain on this party, though! although then it might be like a break in tradition.
    the oats look gorgeous, btw 🙂 and i agree wholeheartedly on the pears sentiment!

  4. June 18, 2010 11:06 am

    Hahaha what a funny present! Nothing beats a surprise package and a good laugh during the day 😀

    I went ahead and looked at your offical french toast oats page, and OH MY GOODNESS those are the fluffiest, creamiest oats I’ve ever seen! Gaahhh now I wish the weather could cool down a bit so I won’t be sweating when I eat my oats in the morning 😛

  5. Madame permalink
    June 18, 2010 8:50 pm

    J’adore ton menu pour ta fête! Peut-être tu vas me voir pour gouter tous ces plats délicieux!J’attends avec impatience ta recette pour la sauce BBQ. Bonne chance ce weekend! Bonjour à ton frère!
    Mme 🙂

Leave a Reply

