Skip to content

Overwhelmed But Excited

June 19, 2010

IMG_1796

This morning started early like every other one this week. It’s crunch time… eek!

IMG_1797

This was banana/pumpkin French toast oats with walnut butter + cranberries. With coffee it was quite energizing!

We spent so much time cleaning, cooking and shopping. Some random photos for your entertainment…

IMG_1786

BSF (Best sister forever) the night before graduation. We went grocery shopping and antics occurred.

IMG_1791

Mo (my BSF) lives across the street and we needed refrigerator space. We used the one in their basement so every trip to pick up or drop off food was another photo shoot. What am I doing in the above photo?

    IMG_1788    IMG_1787

Transporting MEAT. Oh boy vegetarians, look away.

IMG_1842

Today was so packed with things to do. My mom and I posed before heading out for Mo’s graduation ceremony.

IMG_1812

We picked up the tables and chairs…

IMG_1847

Chocolate fountain…

IMG_1813

And a spare refrigerator! (A la Craig’s List)

 

 

IMG_1799

This morning my mom gave me my graduation present (part 2). A Shutterfly book about prom. It’s adorable and so well put together. xoxo Mommy!

So cooking.

 IMG_1802 IMG_1805

For the chocolate fountain I put bananas on sticks and froze them. I’ll take out a dozan at a time for dipping.

IMG_1852   IMG_1814

I cut up a ton of fruit (watermelon, cantaloupe, kiwi, strawberries, and pineapple) for my fruit basket.

 IMG_1822

Yay! Tutorial to come. 🙂

IMG_1824 IMG_1826

My southern uncle schooled me on how to cook pulled pork.

IMG_1827

“You score the fat Mae. And you cook it fat side up, okay?”  IMG_1828

You know that BBQ sauce recipe I promised? I still need to “fix” it up a little more. 😦

IMG_1829

So after the cooking I did Mo’s makeup and got ready for her ceremony.

 IMG_1832 IMG_1837

Jose, her little brother also graduated from kindergarten. So exciting! For the record, my ceremony is next week.

IMG_1844

After we got back I bounced between my house and Mo’s house, carting home groceries hanging out by her fire and helping my dad grill at home.

  IMG_1849  IMG_1848

The grilled vegetable medley will have eggplant, zucchini, peppers, onions, roasted garlic and aged balsamic vinegar.

I need to get to bed. I have to be up in 6.5 hours to finish the cooking! Eeek!

To Do:

  • Re-vacuum
  • Cut and wash 5 heads of romaine and 5 pounds of red lettuce for salads.
  • Pit and chop the calamata olives that said they were pitted. This makes me mad.
  • Wash the strawberries
  • Assemble the fruit basket, assemble a re-fill container
  • Shuck and grill 4.5 dozen ears of corn
  • Buy butter for corn (totally just remembered that! Good thing!)*
  • Wash tomatoes; assemble salads and refrigerate
  • Help Father slice roast beef; make au jus
  • Pull pork and add sauce
  • Fennel + rosemary + sea salt needs to go on 6 dozen rolls
  • Make chocolate sauce for fountain (vegan*)

Wow, and it all has to happen before 2:00. Still so excited though!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 12:53 pm

    You’ll get it done in plenty of time! No worries, and if you don’t get it done…NO ONE BUT YOU WILL KNOW :0) Have a great party!!

  2. June 19, 2010 12:59 pm

    good luck may! looks like it’s going to be a fantastic party. cant wait to see how it turns out. congrats to you and mo!!

  3. June 19, 2010 2:41 pm

    I love those Shutterfly albums! I got one for my Stepmom for Christmas and it made her cry. One of the best gifts ever!

  4. June 19, 2010 2:57 pm

    SO impressed by your watermelon basket!! looks so lovely. and the fondue stuff looks delicious!

  5. Little Bookworm permalink
    June 19, 2010 5:36 pm

    Good luck with all the cooking, I hope the party goes well. 🙂

  6. June 19, 2010 7:10 pm

    you are a cooking, chopping, and graduating machine!! congrats again – hope you have fun with the party 🙂 i love that you’re sharing a fridge, haha. I can only imagine you popping in…”oh, don’t mind me – just gotta grab some pork shoulder!”

  7. June 19, 2010 9:10 pm

    I LOVE party planning. Sorry I couldn’t make it, girly. Hope you have a blast! I’ll see you sometime soon! ❤

    p.s. Loved visiting you at the farmers' market a couple weekends ago!! Thanks for the PB samples!

  8. June 19, 2010 9:10 pm

    I LOVE party planning. Sorry I can’t make it, girly. Hope you have a blast! I’ll see you sometime soon! ❤

    p.s. Loved visiting you at the farmers' market a couple weekends ago!! Thanks for the PB samples!

  9. June 19, 2010 11:01 pm

    Wow, you are having a PAR-TAY!

    Not sure if you’ll read this in time, but you don’t have to shuck the corn before grilling it – I love it soaked for an hour in water and then thrown on the grill. It’s a littl messier to eat, but I think it tastes SO much better!!!

    • June 20, 2010 12:16 am

      Oooh that sounds so good! I’ll see if we can do it that way… The only issue is we’re serving half ears. 🙂 thanks for the tip!!

  10. June 19, 2010 11:18 pm

    ohhhh Mae….you are one very busy girl, but I know your menu is going to ROCK even if you only serve half of the food you are planning on (but I know it’s all going to come together).

    I think my favorite is the watermelon basket…and your roasted peppers.

    And by the way, I can see why that customer was so addicted to the cashew butter…I got my first jar the other day and it is amaaayzing. It has this lovely natural sweetness to it…and it’s less expensive than almond butter! Always a win for soon-to-be poor college students.

    Have a great day!

  11. teenagehealthfreak permalink
    June 20, 2010 11:10 am

    wow!! that looks like a lot of great food! Everything is awesome..love the fruit basket!! and i wish i was there to get into those bananas and chocolate sauce!! lol..I can’t wait to see the finished pictures!!

  12. June 20, 2010 11:52 am

    You look gorgeous in that picture on the Shutterfly book!

    Sounds like it’s going to be a wonderful party. Love the carved watermelon 😀

  13. June 20, 2010 2:51 pm

    wow yall do it RIGHT!! The chocolate fountain puts you on another level of amazing – yum.

Leave a Reply

