Skip to content

What Is Stupid?

June 25, 2010

Heya. It’s time for a random post about things that are important to your life.

I love you guys for putting up with my rants.

If I were you, I wouldn’t have that patience.

But I’m not.

Onward!

 

What looks stupid?

It’s 3:00 in the afternoon and your doing squats at the gym. Over yonder a middle-aged man is listening to music, admiring himself in the mirror. All of a sudden he’s talking!

Mumble, mumble something about you baby mumble mumble be home soon.

You know he’s not singing a song. You think: ‘This man is crazy. What the hell is going on over there??! Why is his conversation with himself getting so steamy??’

image

via

Fear not! You’re in no danger. Middle aged sweaty man is using the iPhone ear buds with a built in microphone.

Have you ever thought:

Gee! That person looks stupid chatting to himself in the grocery store! Ohhhh, he’s wearing a Bluetooth. Ohhh, he still looks stupid.

image

via

Well now we can all say: Hey! Look at that chill guy listening to music. Oh, he’s talking to himself. Or is he talking to me?? What is going on? I can’t tell if he’s using a cell phone headset because Apple is stupid and made them overly-inconspicuous.

So now here’s my dilemma. I don’t want to respond to anyone who says anything with ear buds in. Why?

Who wants to make a fool of themselves like this-

iPhone Talker: so what are you doing tonight, baby?

Hypothetical me: Hanging out with you baby!

iPhone Talker: Sorry, I was neither listening to music nor talking to you. I was talking to a third party with my super COOL ear buds!

 

Guys this is all in good fun. If you’re a closet iPone talker or Blue Tooth sport-er, I get it. I’m just going to make fun of you right now.

Haha, but I make fun of myself so it’s okay right?? :/

What do you think is stupid?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna Quick permalink
    June 25, 2010 9:25 pm

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha I agree 150%.

  2. June 25, 2010 10:42 pm

    BAHAHA oh geez. I always get thrown off for a second by people chatting it up into bluetooths and the like. SO weird. I understand the convenience but really? You just look silly!

  3. June 26, 2010 12:31 am

    Nice! Yeah, I do have those iphone ear buds… I LOVE them but yes, I do agree, I look stupid like I’m talking to myself- hence why I usually still hold my phone in one hand closer to my upper body (so people know I’m not just looney talking to myself- Or I touch the microphone part of the iphone cord, bringing it closer to my mouth, also…. ye, more work, but when in public, it just seems weird to be talking to yourself.
    Now that you know how I roll (even though I’m sure you didn’t want to or care) I’m done for my random comment for the day.
    🙂

    HAPPY FRIDAY!

  4. June 26, 2010 2:13 am

    I always feel stupid talking on my bluetooth headset, but I love it at home! I can do 30 things at once all while having a conversation! Maybe they are better left in the car or at home 🙂

    • June 26, 2010 9:43 pm

      They’re awesome while you’re in the kitchen too!!

  5. June 27, 2010 12:10 am

    Mae- I love you. This post is hilarious.

  6. Laura permalink
    July 2, 2010 9:36 am

    When bluetooth first came out, I was out walking with my sister in law in downtown. We were at a crosswalk, waiting for the light to turn and this guy was just chatting it up….WITH HIMESLF!?!? We just started. After what seemed like a long time, since we thought we were next to someone who was not quite “all there” he turned and we could see the earpiece. This was long enough ago that I was still completely amazed. I did not know such things existed. I thought it was a mini cell phone or something.
    My SIL muttered to me, “I hate those things. Now you can’t tell who the crazies are.”
    I love that line and it runs through my head everytime I see someone yaking it up, looking for all the world like a “crazy.”
    Love your blog, BTW. Thanks for sharing so much good stuff!

    • July 3, 2010 11:16 am

      Thank you! and haha that is an awesome story!!

Leave a Reply

