Skip to content

Washington DC

July 5, 2010

IMG_2303

My family and I just got back from what could be our last (sniff) family vacation for a few years…  College does that to you.

Anyway! We went down to Maryland and stayed with relatives. Day one was Washington DC, day two was Assateague and day three we shopped and left around 4:00. I was so glad to see my family from the mid south! The Aunt and Uncle we stayed with graduated from Cornell!

 

 IMG_2280

In DC we spent most of the day at the Newseum, which was really amazing! It was the perfect balance of activity + reflection. The 911 floor was very, very heavy as were the Pulitzer prize photos. To counter it the green screen film-it-yourself-newscast, 4D movie, and gift shop were all a lot of fun.

We were so entertained by the bathroom tiles. They were misprints in newspapers throughout history [click to enlarge]:

IMG_2288 IMG_2289 IMG_2290 IMG_2291

There were so many more! I’ll try to sprinkle the rest into posts this week.

We ate at Wolfgang Puck’s cafeteria which would be the dining hall of my dreams. The salad bar was great!

IMG_2293

I  don’t even know what’s in it!

So back to the exhibits. Cold war, Berlin wall- super cool…

 IMG_2294

I feel a connection to all things Berlin Wall since my ten page paper on the “Ich Bin Ein Berliner” speech. It was one of my favorite papers I wrote this year!

 IMG_2297 IMG_2300 

Detour for photo shoot on the roof. It was a really neat view.IMG_2305 IMG_2309

IMG_2310

The Pulitzer Prize Photographs were so incredibly moving. Every one elicited an emotion. 

IMG_2312

This was one of the more light hearted photos (look at those boots!!) Some of them were haunting though.

 IMG_2316

We took a walk in the garden and then to the White House so my mother could say “I’m 200 feet from the president right now,” walked by The Archives and contemplated waiting to get in. By that time everyone was tired and hungry so we headed to the pub.

IMG_2324

My dinner was grilled salmon with cilantro rice and steamed veggies and was actually really good! (I don’t usually have high expectations for seafood coming from non-seafood restaurants.)

So that was day one. To be continued?

~~~

Tomorrow I’m getting my Mac Book… My family talked me into Apple. Do you guys use Mac or PC? What do you use for blogging software if you use Mac?

Congrats to Heather… It’s a girllll!!

Do you enjoy Washington DC? Do you like to visit the Capital?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 2:44 pm

    great pics! i want to go to DC!

  2. July 5, 2010 6:33 pm

    Nice pics! I love going to DC…so much to do, and I have some family living there myself. Probably going this summer to visit them, actually. The Newseum…hadn’t heard of it, but I am going to ask them about it now. Oh, and that salad, MM…I see artichoke hearts! Obsessed with those!

  3. July 5, 2010 9:18 pm

    I wanted to visit that museum when I was in DC in April but I didn’t get a chance. I liked DC a lot! Glad you had fun!

  4. July 5, 2010 11:40 pm

    Looks like you had a great time, DC is one of my favorite cities!
    And fyi, I still go on family vacations even though I am a college senior. You can still go, don’t worry!

  5. mal permalink
    July 6, 2010 4:14 am

    mac all the way!! best computers everrrrr

  6. July 6, 2010 7:28 am

    One of my favorite 4th of July’s was when we went to Washington DC! We saw the parade that day and then that evening ate dinner at the top of the top of a hotel overlooking the city and watched the fireworks. It was awesome! 🙂

    P.S. I still went on family vacations even when I was in college…and even now that I’m married!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

