Skip to content

V+GF Black Bean Burgers and Greek Chicken

July 8, 2010

IMG_2395

This isn’t my first bean burger recipe or chicken recipe, but they’re my favorite so far!

Yesterday I marinated some chicken for my parents and threw together some black bean burgers so we could all eat grill fare.

The chicken was moist and flavorful while the burgers were tender and crunchy. SO GOOD!

IMG_2390

It worked out perfectly.

Greek Chicken

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons fresh oregano
  • 2 tablespoons fresh rosemary
  • 6 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/3 cup of feta cheese

 

  • 1 whole chicken, cut into pieces

 

Marinate one chicken, cut into breasts, legs, thighs, wings, and drumsticks for 8 hours.

Remove chicken and grill over medium low heat for about 20 minutes (until the meat reaches 155* F)

Remove pieces as they finish (the wings and drumsticks will cook quicker than the breasts) and tent with foil. Serve with chopped parsley and feta cheese, if desired.

Black Bean Burgers.

These are also by far the easiest bean burgers. There’s no need for any equipment other than a bowl and potato masher.

Vegan, Gluten Free Black Bean Garden Burgers

Ingredients:

  • 15 oz can black beans, drained
  • 1 cup veggies of choice, finely minced

I used carrots, broccoli and cauliflower but you can use bell pepper, sweet corn, or artichoke hearts

  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp gluten free flour blend (or spelt flour)
  • 2 tbsp brown rice flour (or spelt flour)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 10 grinds black pepper
  • 1.5 tsp paprika
  • pinch crushed pepper flakes (optional)

 

  • 2 tbsp gluten free oats (or rolled oats)
  • 2 tbsp flour of your choice

Directions:

Mix together beans, veggies (make sure they’re finely minced), GF flour, and brown rice flour. Add the seasonings and mash until it starts to come together. You can then continue mashing with your hands and form patties.

To make patties scoop out a heaping tablespoon and flatten it to about 1/3 inch thick.

Mix together the oats and last 2 tbsp flour. Season with a pinch of salt, pepper, garlic, and paprika. Dip the burgers in the flour mixture.

Place on greased sheet of foil and store in freezer until ready to cook.

 

On a grill with medium heat, place the sheet of foil on top of the rack. Grill for 6 minutes then remove the foil sheet. flip each burger directly onto the grill and continue cooking for 4 minutes on each side.

Remove and enjoy!

IMG_2392  

IMG_2391

Greek chicken in back, burgers on left, grilled corn on right.

IMG_2393

Yess. Dinner time!

~~~

This morning, Angela’s “I Believe” post really inspired me. First of all, I love Oh She Glows. It’s one of my favorite blogs. It’s one of my top three “inspiration” blogs.

If you haven’t read her post go do so!

Here’s what I Believe…

  1. I Believe that surrounding yourself with positivity eliminates 90% or negative thoughts.
  2. I Believe that when you set and work to a clear goal, no mater how goofy or difficult it is, you will either achieve it or achieve something even better.
  3. I Believe support from friends, family, or co-workers, or even strangers can help you achieve your goals twice as fast.
  4. I Believe money is meaningless if you surround yourself with friends you take care of and will take care of you.
  5. I Believe you will NEVER regret being generous.
  6. I Believe in sanctuaries. When you’re at “your” stream or on “your” run you feel like nothing can bother you.
  7. I Believe in hard work.

Here’s what’s up:

  1. If you have a friend that you constantly feel awful around, slowly move away from them. There are plenty of other people who will make you feel wonderful. You don’t need someone who puts you down or is constantly negative toward you, him or herself, or others.
  2. Really. Make up something you want in the next 5 years. I want to write a cookbook. There, I said it!
  3. Think of something nobody around you wanted you to succeed in. How much more difficult was it to accomplish that? Remember this when one of your friends has a dream that you can’t see happening. It doesn’t matter if you don’t believe in it, support them anyway.
  4. Want to go on vacation? That friend that lives far away that you’ve kept in touch with and exchanged packages with is your answer. If you take care of your friends, they’ll take care of you.
  5. You have 10 extra dollars that you can buy a book for yourself with or a book for someone else. Buy it for the other person and get yours out of the library. People don’t forget kindness easily.
  6. Find someplace, anywhere, with or without people around that you can go to feel at peace. Church? To the gym? For a drive? Your choice.
  7. Do you want something? Go get it. Read books until you know what you’re doing, save money, practice and focus. You’ll get there.

 What do you believe in?

~~~

PS. I’m blogging from my PC still. I tried to write two posts with ecto and I can’t get my recipe format, fonts, or bullets right. With WordPress online pictures are a pain in the but. I’m thinking of saving money to buy Parallel just to run WLW. Geesh! This new computer is costing more than I anticipated!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 1:28 am

    The burgers look and sound amazing! I will have to try them!
    I posted the same reply on Angela’s post, but I believe that things aren’t always supposed to be perfect so we can truly appreciate them when they are.
    Have a great day!

  2. July 8, 2010 1:30 am

    I have always wanted to make my own but never found the right recipe. This one looks great! I may try it soon. Thanks!

  3. July 8, 2010 2:35 am

    Those are the best gluten free and vegan burgers I’ve ever seen! They look so crunchy! I love the combination of flavors and ingredients you used!

    So, I write my blog posts for WP on the actual WP site on my PC… doesn’t it suck, or is that just me???? It’s slow, posting pictures takes forever, the formating never turns out right, I can’t caption things under pictures (or at least haven’t figured out to yet), etc. Any suggestions?!?! Do you use a different program for writing your posts?

    • July 8, 2010 7:39 am

      If you have a PC you can download windows live writer for free (doo itt!!) and then sync WLW to your blog (it’s really easy)… PS DOO ITT! You’ll never look back, it makes blogging 2935793275x easier. haha

  4. July 8, 2010 4:32 am

    hey may, i love your version of “i believe…” – so many great thoughts there, and it is so wonderful to hear from someone who is so grounded in her own values – beautiful values at that. makes me happy to read about generosity and the importance of family and friends over money =) way to go, girl! and you are TOTALLY going to write that cookbook, no doubt! xoxo

  5. July 8, 2010 7:24 am

    Yummy!! I will have to give them a try!! Did you ever see my recipe for black bean brownies?? I wouldn’t eat the burgers and brownies in the same night though!! Tummy ache 🙂

    ~Alyssa

  6. July 8, 2010 12:02 pm

    I believe that girls and women should be happy in their skin and bodies, no matter what their shapes and sizes they are.

  7. July 9, 2010 12:29 am

    Your black bean burgers are making me drool, Mae! I love your “I believe” thoughts!! We need to get together before you leave for school, lady!

    I’m hosting an amazing grass giveaway on my blog if you’re interested!! http://roseyrebecca.com/2010/07/07/amazing-grass-giveaway/

    • July 9, 2010 12:07 pm

      Becca, I’ll e-mail or text you this week… I’m thinking a Friday?

  8. Kelly Marie permalink
    July 9, 2010 1:53 am

    I just started reading your blog…I just wanted to say I LOVE your ideas…I can’t wait to make black bean burgers this weekend.

    • July 9, 2010 12:08 pm

      Aww, thank you! And I hope you like them!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

