Skip to content

Is OhhMay Fit?

July 9, 2010

Haha I don’t know if you’ve clicked on my fitness page recently, but it’s pathetic. It hasn’t been updated for months and I’m not sure why. I still work out a lot- I go to the gym about 3-4 times a week, run a mile in the morning twice a week (I know how pathetic that sounds) and do yoga at least once a week.

But. I slack off sometimes. I get to the gym late, I bike aimlessly, my mind wanders, I don’t have time to lift, blah blah blah.

 

Here’s a sample of an average week of workouts (this was an actual week):

Monday: Nothing… hah, about that

Tuesday: 1 mile run in morning

  • Gym before work- 35 minute stationary bike
  • 3 sets 20 lunges with 12# weights
  • stretching
  • abs (as in crunches on all sides until I get bored… about 3 minutes worth, haha)
  • 3 sets 30 calf raises with 12# weights

Wednesday: Gym before work- 25 minute stationary bike

  • 7# weight shoulder moves. Basically this.
  • Abs (a very quick set)
  • Stretching

Thursday:  Exercise TV, my favorite yoga sculpt. I love Maura Barclay! She’s awesome.

Friday: 1 mile run in morning

  • Does swimming count as a workout?

Saturday: Walk dog

  • 30-20-10 pushup/weighted lunges/crunches (As in 30 of each, 20 of each, 10 of each)

Sunday: Gym before work- 1 mile run

  • 40 minute stationary bike
  • 2 sets of 20 (50#) on each of the leg machines
  • Left, right, and center plank (1 min each)

 

Here’s what I want to improve on:

  • I want to find some new ab workouts so I can change up my abs routine
  • I want to add some more running (and the appropriate amount of icing for the ankle) BECAUSE I want to run a 5k in the Fall.
  • I want to improve my flexibility
  • I want to stop skipping workouts. I didn’t begin this new habit until a few months ago, but I need to kick it to the curb! I’ve never been one to skip workouts and now all too often I say ‘no big deal, I can workout later, excuses excues’. It’s just not me!

I’m thinking for a race in the fall I want to run the Turkey Trot. Who knows, by that point I may be able to race a 10k! I’ve never been good at easing into anything, for me it’s all or nothing so getting back to running has been difficult. Every time I feel a little pain in my ankle I get nervous and worry I’ll start the whole injury process over again.

And soon I need to pick my PE class for Fall semester.

Should I do yoga or sailing?

Things to consider: My life aspiration is to ride (drive?) a sailboat, I need something to de-stress, I want to learn more yoga, I love boats. What to do?

My gym membership in college includes all the gyms, fitness classes, pools, tracks, and rock walls(!!).

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 1:08 pm

    Your workout routine makes me cringe. 😛 I wish I was as fit as you! i’m actually working on getting more fit this summer. I’ve started some pilates classes.

    I say if your college has a good yoga program, do it! it’s a great way to destress. However, if the yoga program is a joke (my boarding school’s yoga was so laid-back and laughable, really) then go for the sailing.

    Do what you think is best. 😉 I know I don’t need to say it but there yah go.

  2. July 9, 2010 2:04 pm

    I really admire you for going to the gym so often!!! The one here is pretty inaccessible (plus, I can’t drive yet lol) so I’m stuck doing my own thing here at home. Luckily, I’ve got a stationary bike and my trusty jumprope that I try to use everyday for at least 30min. Still need to work on that consistency thing though!! lol 😉

  3. July 9, 2010 8:07 pm

    As far as gym classes go, it depends. Do you ever foresee having a boat of your own or living by a large body of water? If not, my vote would be for yoga, given that yoga is something you can do for a lifetime. And I’m sure you’d enjoy it!

    As far as workouto consistency goes, that’ll probably solve itself as you get closer to your goal 5k. There’s nothing like a race to motivate an individual!

    • July 9, 2010 10:24 pm

      That would be the practical thing… I’ve never even been on a sailboat. It’s a lot to think about, but this would give me the opportunity to try it!!

  4. ava permalink
    July 9, 2010 8:37 pm

    Hi there, I actually go to Cornell (will be a sophomore studying sustainable agriculture/nutrition can you tell I love food?) and just wanted to give you my opinion about PE classes. I would take sailing over yoga because you there are a ton of different yoga classes offered at the fitness centers and if you get a membership there (which I assume you will and is totally worth it by the way) you have unlimited access to any of the classes as well as a bunch of others (I fell in love with kickboxing and spinning last year as well as Forrest yoga). And don’t forget that you can take as many PE classes as you want (my second semester I took both equestrian and massage (so awesome after a long day of classes)) so if you don’t get a chance to try something out this year there is always next year. glad you’re looking forward to college, I hope you love Cornell as much as I do : )

    • July 9, 2010 10:12 pm

      Thank you so much for the opinion!!! I think I’ll try some of those classes and it looks like I’m taking sailing. 🙂 🙂 Yay!

      • ava permalink
        July 10, 2010 2:13 am

        p.s. if you have any other questions/tips/advice/ just want to meet up for lunch on campus sometime feel free to send me an email i’d be glad to show you around : )

      • July 10, 2010 7:23 am

        That would be awesome!!! Thanks!

      • ava permalink
        July 10, 2010 8:07 am

        haha of course i forgot to add my net id/email so here it is agr42@cornell.edu if you’re anything like me I’ll bet you have tons of questions and can’t wait for next month!

  5. July 9, 2010 9:38 pm

    You know what? The fact that you get moving every day is admirable! So many people assume that not exercising has it’s physical consequences, but they “wont affect me”! Good job taking initiative! And I vote for sailing, btw 🙂

  6. July 9, 2010 9:39 pm

    Omg, that is SO cool that you can take sailing as a college course!!!! That sounds amazing. Although yoga of course is great too! I would say maybe sailing as the PE class and then yoga on your own time, perhaps?

  7. July 9, 2010 10:45 pm

    Mae, I’m so glad to see you running again! I think OhhMay is very fit! Best of luck in preparing for your 5K…I can’t wait to see how fast you can go with a little bit of running under your belt. I think that picking a specific race might help motivate you not to skip. If I weren’t on a team in the fall, I probably would be doing very light/easy workouts and skipping many of them, but now I have to work out hard or I’m going to get my butt kicked even harder. For increasing your running, I think you probably know what you need to do, but I would be fine sharing with you how I have gotten almost to my goal mileage now. I have had a lot of fun doing yoga once a week. I’m not sure yet if it increases my flexibility, but I recommend going to power yoga classes if you’re at the gym because those are more appropriate for athletes. Keep us posted on how your running goes…I really want it to work out for you.

  8. July 9, 2010 11:32 pm

    I’d definitely choose sailing. Sounds amazing. You can practice yoga on your own or maybe your school has a yoga club (mine does).

  9. Lauren permalink
    July 10, 2010 2:47 am

    Sailing!!!! You’d get the chance to meet some like-minded people your first semester! Save yoga for later!

  10. July 10, 2010 8:14 am

    Sailing!! It sounds like so much fun, and when will you ever be able to learn sailing for (almost) free?? You can always work on yoga later 😉

    I think your workout goals are very admirable! I have a tendency to let my mind wander when working out so that I’m really wimping out, so that’s something I’d like to work on. Also, I agree with you on the flexibility! More stretching, I guess 😀

    Have a great day, Mae!

  11. July 10, 2010 1:18 pm

    Can you take both? 😀

  12. July 10, 2010 10:14 pm

    As far as yoga and sailing, you should definitely pick based on how long it will take to get to the sailing spot. If your class will have to spend a good amount of time traveling to the water then you may want to just consider going with yoga. Your freshman year is hectic enough, I dont think you will want to spend lots of time traveling to and from your sailing class…

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Granola Pie « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

