Skip to content

Trim The Dorm, Part 1

July 13, 2010

I thought I would give you guys a peek at the hectic “dorm supplies” room…

So far shopping has been really interesting. I was sitting on the couch with my mother trying to explain what I needed for college. I couldn’t put it in words so I decided to draw some diagrams.

IMG_2434

Above, the artist’s rendition of ‘plastic chest of drawers’

Below, an abstract piece titled ‘clear plastic bins’

IMG_2435

After that, I resorted to  pointing the things I need out online. My list went something like this:

  • Clear bins
  • Lots of bins
  • Something for laundry
  • A bin for electronics
  • Stuff to write with (?)

Yeah.

IMG_2452

Before we went shopping I was told to organize all useful things I’d saved from my high school carreer. Good thing they were on the top shelf of my spare room closet. Good thing the shelf broke as I was trying to get them down. Good thing the office is still a sea of papers.

The only things I deemed useful were my eight (!!) chemistry notebooks and 3 chemistry text books. My five year Spanish career boiled down to one packet of paper (the cooking unit), my French career to one sheet of paper titled ‘The mostest important sheet in France’ with a verb conjugation guide and all irregular verbs.

Back to chemistry. I really did say eight notebooks. I took honors chem my sophomore year and AP my junior year and took 3 note books the first year, 5 the second. I’m a complete chemistry nerd but in my defense it’s obviously the best science.

I condensed all the notebooks and loose leaf paper into one “Giant Binder of all things CHEM” and tried to categorize it by unit. I think that actually might be useful. I take really good notes.

In classes I care about.

Let’s not talk about my physics notebook.

That one was filled up with sketches of camels… And nothing else. Oops!

 IMG_2455

Back to school supplies. Yay, colored pencils! Boo, Walmart.

 IMG_2457

For graduation my amazing cousin filled up a big bucket with all kinds of school supplies I would need. That helped out a ton!

  IMG_2459

Why can’t they make folders in colors that correspond to the notebooks they sell. Now I can’t be a color coded nerd! 😦

 IMG_2460

Moving forth. My Aunt Mary (who is AWESOME!) gave me this “little pink book” as a gift. The message in it was something along the lines of:

write the names in ink, but the addresses in pencil so you can stay in touch wherever life takes you.”

I thought it was pretty awesome and I think an address book is a really good thing to have! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve lost everyone’s phone number when my cell died. It would be nice to have them in print- something not completely dependent on technology.

Onward!

Dorm Kitch’

 IMG_2461

My very own tupperware. I guess this means I made it. 😉

 IMG_2462

Shh. It was on sale. And look how friendly George looks… Can you really say no to that face? Think of all the grilled paninis I wouldn’t eat if I didn’t get this. I won’t think of it! George is mine now and I’m not giving him up.

 IMG_2464

Meet Boiley, the microwave egg hard boil-er. He’s so adorable!!

 IMG_2465

Aww Boiley is a fan of my super cute sundae glass I got on clearance. (Can you tell I did the dorm kitchen shopping without my mother? If she was with me I wouldn’t have bought any of these things. But it’s my lifeguarding monayyy and I’ll use it to buy frivolous unnecessary kitchen goods if I want!! haha)

 IMG_2467

So these are mini appetizer forks and spoons. The fork set and spoon set were $7.99 each so it wasn’t the best deal… who am I kidding? That’s $2 per utensil…. But they’re SO CUTE.  IMG_2469

Think of all the possibilities with this mini Dutch oven. C’mon, it’s an essential!

On to things I bought while I was under supervision:

 IMG_2470

This will be my makeup organizer. How practical.

 IMG_2471

Disinfectant and other essentials. Little hand sanitizers!! Do you spy my toes in the corner?

 IMG_2472

Bath stuff. Rub-a-dub-dub! I feel like I need a rubber duck-ey. If for nothing else, to tie onto my bath caddy so it matches the super cuteness of the rest of the room

 IMG_2473

Printer, came with my baby MacBook. Yay!

 IMG_2474

I don’t know if this is allowed so I probably won’t bring it. The space heater is my lover and I just wanted you to know that.

Funny (ish) story: my dad hates it because it’s always plugged in in the winter and I sit literally on top of it. Like I try to crawl into it-close. He unplugs it and hides it on me. (He’s serious too, like ‘you didn’t wash the dishes, see if I let you be warm’) Before he went away on business about three years ago I took a picture of myself in front of the space heater and wrote ‘Love you, Daddy’ on it. I put it in the bottom of his suitcase. When he got there he called the house, laughed for two minutes without saying a word and then hung up the phone.

The end.

This post is never going to end.

 IMG_2475

Yoga mat, totally necessary. Actually I bought this one for a friend’s birthday. I’m bringing my nasty old one but I didn’t think you would want to see pictures of it.

IMG_2478

Top notch pillow, ideal for me. I’m a side sleeper 100% of the time.

 IMG_2476

A peak at dorm bedding colors. Oooh, ahh. I won’t show you my real bedding because I want you to wait in suspense. Actually it’s not in yet.  

IMG_2405

And I’m bringing my new Macbook pro and a lap desk.

I’ve saved up my money for a Livescribe pen so I think I’ll be ordering it soon. It’s so cool! How can you not want it?!

So the moral of the story is I’m now officially out of money. And the office is still a disaster. But we still have love and that’s more important than money. RIGHT?!

RIGHT.

 

“Please only buy things you need.”

But Mommm, I did need all of this stuff.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 10:27 pm

    I LOVE this post! You’re hilarious.

  2. July 13, 2010 11:28 pm

    Boiley is so cute!
    When I went away to college my freshman year I definitely brought way too much stuff. You will find that you buy a lot of things when you get up there… just because 🙂
    I ended up toting like, 3 giant duffel bags home each (this was before the day of charging per checked bag on planes) for Thanksgiving and Winter break. You will find that you need less than you think!

  3. July 14, 2010 12:21 am

    So I’ll be a freshman this fall too and I’m having a mini panic attack because I’ve bought…nothing. Gahh! Better get on that! Great idea to bring the George foreman, i should bring my own to panini pbandj when the mood strikes!

  4. July 14, 2010 1:23 am

    BEST POST!! Your new stuff is sooo cute!
    Shopping for a dorm room is so much fun because you get all new stuff!

    BTW I have three giveaways going on on my blog right now if you want to check them out : )

  5. July 14, 2010 4:11 am

    Isn’t shopping for college funnnn? I like your Mr. Egghead and Ms. Sundae glass 🙂

  6. July 14, 2010 5:04 am

    niiice! I’m trying to think of what else was essential to dorm life but that no one thought of…oh, you might already know that bed risers are great b/c then you increase storage space dramatically. So lucky you get a George Foreman…we can’t have those or microwaves 😦 I think your purchases were all worthwhile! I’m getting a little antsy wanting to go to collegeeee.

  7. July 14, 2010 9:06 am

    Cute dorm stuff! I’m sure that grill will come in handy.

    I’m the same way with my space heater! I lie right next to it until my skin turns red. It feels so warm, I can’t help it.

  8. July 15, 2010 10:48 am

    Yay dorm stuff! I have been having so much fun planning out my dorm room, I cant wait until i can get it all in there. It is taking up my room! 🙂

  9. July 18, 2010 6:50 am

    Be sure to get shower shoes!

  10. July 19, 2010 8:04 am

    Do you have a mini rice cooker? Those come in handy in the dorms and they are like $9.99 at Walgreens. 🙂

    • July 19, 2010 8:33 am

      Yessss! It’s a 3 cup? They’re so worth it!

  11. Alicia Hautly permalink
    October 7, 2011 2:04 am

    Where did you find your pink makeup organizer???

Leave a Reply

