Skip to content

Garlic Scape Artichoke Hummus

July 14, 2010

Holy garlic scape! Until this year I’d never used a garlic scape but after seeing them around thee Farmers’ Market and blog world I thought I would give them a try. IMG_2482

I bought a bag and I really do enjoy them!! I used them in a version of miso soup (that still needs some work) and then decided to try a garlic scape artichoke hummus.

If you’ve been reading for a while, you probably know that almost all of my hummus recipes include artichokes. I don’t know why I love them so much in hummus, but I do. They’re so good! They add a rich, sweet, and bright flavor that can’t be beat. It’s a little more difficult to get the hummus smooth with artichoke hearts though.

IMG_2480

This recipe wasn’t my best work. It’s a little too solid after being in the refrigerator and the texture isn’t fabulous but it has amazing flavor. I think it would be wonderful in humnut or in a sandwich. In fact, I’ll probably try both of those!

  IMG_2488   

Garlic Scape Artichoke Hummus, Take 1

  • 1/4 cup water
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup chopped garlic scape (about 4 medium)
  • 1 9 oz package of thawed and drained artichoke hearts
  • 1 15 oz can chick peas, drained and rinsed
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch or black pepper, cumin, or cayenne pepper (or all three)

In a blender combine the water, lemon juice and mustard then blend on a low setting.

Why? The mustard is going to act as an emulsifying agent as you add the fats.

Combine the olive oil and tahini then drizzle in slowly as the blender is still mixing.

Why? This created a creamy suspension that won’t separate.

Next, mix in the garlic scape a little at a time until the mixture is smooth. You may need a spoon to coax your blender along.

Slowly add in alternating handfuls of artichoke hearts and chick peas until everything is incorporated. If you need more moisture, add alternating teaspoons of olive oil and water until it reaches the desired consistency.

Season to taste, mix one more time then pour into a bowl and garnish with parsley, cumin, cayenne and olive oil.

IMG_2486

IMG_2490

~~~

The nightmare that was registering for classes.

This morning my classes opened for enrollment at 8:00. I logged on and started choosing classes, put together my ideal schedule and went back in to change the time of my PE class.

Once that was done (about 8:12) I tried to confirm my schedule…. Oops! two of the classes I “added to my cart” were filled. To get them back I had to change the time of everything and every time I went back in to adjust things another class was filled. It got to the point where my math, bio and chem classes all had just one lecture time left- and each one occurred at about the same time.

I got really nervous. Neither of my parents went to college and nobody told me it was going to be this difficult! I tried calling the student canter but for some reason my it kept telling me the number was unavailable. (Yes, I pressed 1 first!) I tried to call my advisor and that was also unavailable. I finally tried another phone and got through.

I talked to someone and she overrode the centers’ requirements so I could get into all of my classes. Unfortunately, My math and chem still overlap. This is freaking me out. From here, I’m supposed to e-mail the departments to see if I can change the times around so they’re not at the same time. That means I also have to rearrange my bio classes to then rearrange my chem lab and discussion and math class. But it won’t let me “exchange” chem lab for a different time because the lecture is the same so I’m getting an error message that it’s a duplicate class.

Basically I still don’t know what I’m doing. I can’t wait to get this figured out. Scheduling is like a timed Sudoku puzzle- if you change one thing everything else needs to be changed but you have to do it at the speed of light. Arg.

I know everything will work out when I get to campus… At least I hope.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Little Bookworm permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:45 pm

    The hummus recipe sounds interesting. Hope the class stuff works out!

  2. ava permalink
    July 15, 2010 2:32 am

    haha. class registration is the most stressful thing I have ever experienced (although I hear the housing lottery which I did not partake in since i’m living in a coop is even worse), but don’t worry everything (almost) always works out in the end. Most of the time if you just go and talk to the professor of a class/ section you’re trying to get into they will let you in even if it is full (although there are some exceptions for classes with labs that have limited space). Also don’t forget that a lot of people end up dropping classes in the first week or so after they realize they are too hard/ find a better class etc. so more spaces will open up, you can email the professor and have you’re name put on a wait list or do what i do and obsessively check student center until a spot opens up. And if you’re still having trouble with your schedule email or meet with your advisor and they can help you sort it all out. I wish I could say that it gets better but unfortunately registration is always frustrating (last semester student center crashed as 3000 people tried to log on at 7am), but in a way its kind of a rite of passage that we all must go through and if you’re ever at a loss for things to talk about with someone you can always gripe about it. sorry this was so long but I hope it helps
    : P

  3. furtherdowntheroad permalink
    July 15, 2010 6:32 am

    don’t worry–almost everyone I know has a hard time picking classes online–it’s torture and something ALWAYS goes run. I had trouble signing up for my classes last month and I am working on my THIRD degree…good luck!

    I love your blog and your recipes!

  4. July 15, 2010 9:26 am

    I know what you mean about the stress of signing up for classes- don’t freak out! You can always call them and squeeze into a class or have them force-add (idk if your school has that…)

    And your hummus sounds *perfect*. I bought garlic scapes a little while ago and fell in love

  5. July 15, 2010 12:07 pm

    Yikes! That sounds like a touch of organizational difficulties on your college’s part…however it should all be sorted when you arrive (as you say!) Computer problems are always annoying, though.

    On a brighter note, it looks like wonderful hummus you’ve made. 🙂 I must try!

  6. July 15, 2010 9:35 pm

    Registering for classes sounds like a problem but I love the way you write up your recipes. Not only does this look good, I love the way you include the “why”.

  7. July 15, 2010 11:17 pm

    I love artichokes in hummus and this looks amazing!

    Registering for classes is so stressful! Good luck getting into the ones you want. 🙂

  8. July 15, 2010 11:43 pm

    Yes class registration is like that. Unfortunately.
    Your dishes look great!

  9. July 16, 2010 12:37 am

    Um- bring this on Saturday. K. Thanks!

  10. July 16, 2010 1:30 am

    Eeep about the classes! I think it’s going to work out fine. I mean, what’s one extra person in a math lecture going to be? They’ll see reason, I’m sure. And I’m a huge fan of artichoke hearts! I’ve been eyeing artichoke kalmata hummus at the grocery store, but love tomato basil because it tastes like pizza! Do you think you’ll be able to get it creamier without the VitaMix? I heard it is a better appliance, but I’m not prepared to shell out the money for it.

  11. July 16, 2010 6:08 am

    Yummy!!!

    ~Alyssa

  12. July 18, 2010 10:14 am

    1. you always make the most creative and wonderful looking recipes.

    2. DO NOT WORRY. Registering for classes is supposed to be a night mare – they do it to help you build up your panic endurance before you even get there. EVERYTHING will abesolutely pan out even if the schedule ends up being totally random and not what you wanted. YOU are going to do WONDERFUL and I am excited for you.

Leave a Reply

