Skip to content

Frozen Chocolate Dipped Banana Pops

July 24, 2010

Gluten Free, Vegan

IMG_1938

Cool frosty summer treats are now in order. Banana pops are so simple and SO delicious slathered in dark chocolate. If you make about 30 of these, they’ll last you a little while and every time you open the freezer you’ll be greeted by the ultimate combination of chocolate, soft, sweet frozen banana, and crunchy peanuts.

Step 1: Let bananas ripen to the brown spot stage.

IMG_1801

Step 2:

IMG_1803IMG_1802 

Cut in half and insert popsicle sticks.

Step 3:

IMG_1804

Peel, and place on a sheet pan that has already been in the freezer for at least 15 minutes.

Why? Because The quicker you can freeze the bananas, the less of a chance they will turn brown or “leak” sugar and moisture which creates nasty ice crystals.

Step 4:

IMG_1806

Freeze for about 4 hours. I used a cooling rack to create more space in my freezer for two sheet pans of bananas.

Step 5:

 IMG_1882

Dip in dark chocolate. I like the Ghirardelli chips in the gold bag. For every cup, use 1-2 tbsp coconut oil to ensure even melting and goof proof dipping. You can either use a chocolate fountain as pictured above or use the  microwave method.

I’m not a fan of double boilers. When it takes just a drop of water to seize melted chocolate, why would you do it over a pot of simmering water? It just doesn’t make sense. Dry heat is a much more capable of producing seizure proof chocolate.

If you don’t like to use the microwave you can use the heating pad method, but I warn you it takes much longer and when the chocolate is uniformly melted it’s still much thicker and more difficult to work with than microwave chocolate.

Step 6: Dip chocolate covered bananas in your choice of add ins- peanuts, coconut, sprinkles, chopped almonds, etc.

IMG_1938

Place back on the cookie sheet in the freezer (the chocolate should harden immediately because the banana is already frozen.)

After about 30 minutes you can move all bananas to a zip top freezer bag.

Enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 4:17 am

    YES! I have wanted to make these for a while now. I need another batch of bananas to ripen for when I’m at the shore where I have a microwave. Do you think Baker’s unsweetened would work with this? Or is it maybe too bitter? I’m out of chips right now because whenever I open a bag, my family snacks on them and then they are gone when I turn around!

    • July 24, 2010 9:26 am

      I think it would work! I’ve actually wanted to do that… I think especially when the bananas are really ripe the dark chocolate is a nice contrast to the sweetness.

      My family does the same thinggg haha!

      • July 26, 2010 10:12 am

        So I made these tonight with the Baker’s unsweetened chocolate…I used one big square for two banana halves…I might spread it a little bit more thinly but if the chocolate is not too thick and the banana is ripe enough, I think it works well! At first bite, I got a ton of bitter chocolate (all from the tip) and was not impressed, but the rest was great. Someone with a big sweet tooth might not like it. I want to figure out how to incorporate marshmallow for s’mores version. Or make a PB stuffed version.

      • July 26, 2010 10:32 am

        I wanted to try PB cup too! I was thinking a thin natural peanut butter (Saratoga would probably work really well) and then when the banana is dipped it would harden… freeze and hen redip in dark chocolate. I haven’t gotten around to it, but it could work!
        For s’mores what about chocolate covered bananas dipped in those freeze dried marshmallows, the kind in cocoa mix? http://astore.amazon.com/ohma-20/detail/B0000DK4ZR

  2. July 24, 2010 5:37 am

    This is such an amazing idea! I am so trying this out tomorrow! 🙂

  3. July 24, 2010 6:20 am

    This is like my dream dessert! And so good for summer too!

    I’m planning on making banana soft serve too so I need to freeze some bananas stat!!!!

  4. July 24, 2010 9:20 am

    I love frozen chocolate-dipped bananas, and they’re so easy to make but i don’t know why I’ve never made them!

  5. July 24, 2010 7:36 pm

    Those look awesome! I want to eat one right now and it’s like 7:30 in them morning. Thanks. 🙂

    To answer your questions–no I am not free next Wednesday but we are all getting together again on Monday night if you want to come then.

Trackbacks

  1. Is Nutrition Bad For My Health? « Ribbons, Roads, and Raspberries

Leave a Reply

