Skip to content

Two For Tea

July 24, 2010

When I was camping, I had a long tea conversation with the one of the sweetest people in the world. She gave me some amazing teas and amazing tea advice.

IMG_2635 Above, African Rooibos which I learned is actually pronounced roy-bous.

Suzanne says: Always start with good water. If it comes from a well, it probably won’t make good teas. If you don’t like the taste of your water you definitely won’t like the taste of your tea.

Suzanne says: Ceramic tea pots are the best. They don’t leave behind any flavor or sediment.

Good thing I just burned out my old tea pot. 😦 Now I’ll have to replace it.

IMG_2629 Above, an older English black tea.

Suzanne says: Most teas last 6 months, but depending on the type, age when bought, surface area, tightness and length of leave, and storage method some can taste great for a few years!

This black tea was really delicious.

IMG_2631 Suzanne says: For black teas, have the water at a full rolling boil. For green and herbal teas, use water at about 180* F. You can use a candy thermometer to tell, or just take the water off the stove for a minute or two after it boils.

Suzanne says: use a strainer like this one right in your tea cup. Don’t listen to anyone who tells you how much tea to use per cup. You can experiment and make your own choice. 3 grams? 5 grams?

IMG_2632

Suzanne gave me a lot of fruity teas because I mentioned I enjoyed them. She also gave me a catalog for Harney & Sons, her favorite tea company.

IMG_2633

I’m enjoying these teas so much! The question is what should I send her? I want to do something nice… maybe something like banana bread? Homemade bagels? Give me ideas!

Tea resources:

Official Harney & Son’s Site

Guide To Tea (Recommended by Suzanne)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2010 10:06 pm

    Biscotti goes great with tea…especially black tea. That would be a nice compliment 🙂

  2. July 24, 2010 10:58 pm

    Very interesting facts, Mae! Thanks for sharing!

  3. July 25, 2010 10:38 am

    Love tea! My mother, grandmother, and I drink at least 6 cups per day. I’ve yet to try red tea, however. My suggestion, and it’s not completely selfless :), is that you make bagels so you can show them to us. hehe. I always wanted to learn how to make bagels! I know these aren’t real bagels to a New Yorker but I love Panera’s whole grain bagels.

    • July 25, 2010 11:47 am

      This is a good idea…. I think some bagel making will be in my future!

Leave a Reply

