Skip to content

Blue Corn Crusted Haddock

August 1, 2010

My computer miraculously fixed itself last night, which is good news for this post. I thought the photos were gone forever!!

Haddock is probably my least favorite fish. I don’t enjoy the texture or the flavor. Thankfully, there are ways to make it delicious!

IMG_2728

I thought about faux frying but decided to just crust it in some corn based products and see what happened.

IMG_2719 I started with about 1.5 lbs of haddock, which comfortably fed five people.

IMG_2720 To make the dredge, combine 1 tbsp corn meal, about 1.5 cups blue corn chips (a big handful), 2 tbsp corn starch, and 1/4 cup baked tortilla chip crumbs ( I made these in a food processor). By crushing the blue corn chips with your hands and the yellow corn chips with a food pro. or a rolling pin, you get many different textures and flavors. Old Bay,  and garlic powder also added flavor to this dredge.

IMG_2722

IMG_2721

Salt and pepper both sides of the fish.

  IMG_2724

Then combine equal parts dijon mustard and lemon juice for a wet dip. I used about 3 tbsps of each.

Dip the fish in the wet, then dry and place on a foil liked baking sheet.

IMG_2723  Drizzle in oil and simply broil until golden brown and delicious!

IMG_2726 

IMG_2727 

Blue Corn Crusted Haddock

Serves 5

Prep time: 10 minutes                  Inactive Prep: 7 minutes

Special equipment:

Food processor or rolling pin

Ingredients:

  • about 1 cup baked tortilla chips (enough to make 1/4 cup crumbs)
  • 1 tbsp yellow corn meal
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 1- 1.5 cups blue corn chips (a big handful)
  • 2 tsp Old Bay seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1.5 pounds haddock, catfish, or tilapia
  • Salt and pepper
  • about 1 tbsp oil

Directions:

If using rolling pin: roll the baked tortilla chips in a plastic bag until they are crumb consistency. Add to a bowl.

If using food processor: process tortilla chips until crumb consistency, add to a bowl.

In the bowl, mix in in the corn starch, corn meal, Old Bay and garlic. Roughly crush the blue corn chips with your hands and mix in.

In a separate shallow dish, mix together the lemon and mustard.

Salt and pepper the fish on both sides. Roll each piece in the mustard lemon mixture, then in the dry mixture. Set on a foil lined baking sheet.

Set your oven to broil. Drizzle the fish with oil and broil for about 7-9 minutes, until the fish flakes and the top looks golden and delicious.

Serve with grilled vegetables, sour cream, salsa, or shredded lettuce if desired.

IMG_2729 My family loved it. It was salty, crunchy and hit the spot!

IMG_2730

~~~

Have a great Sunday 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 1:32 am

    I’ve never had haddock before but it looks great! Does it have a really fishy taste?

  2. EmbraceYourSkin permalink
    August 2, 2010 2:11 am

    I’ve never had Haddock. It looks good!

  3. August 2, 2010 3:17 am

    I agree, haddock isn’t the greatest fish, but the crunchy corn crust looks so yummy!

  4. August 2, 2010 7:47 am

    Your fish looks so good! I love the idea of using crushed corn chips as “crust.”

  5. Caroline permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:47 am

    Yayy for your computer. If this is your new comp, it would be really sad for it to break 😦

    This is creative! My favorite animal protein is fish, hands-down. Oh, wait…I forgot about smoked cheese…hmm…Looks like something I would love in a wrap with some pico de gallo. And cheese…lol.

    And I meant to ask you what kind of fridge you’ve bought/are planning on buying. I “neeeeed” one!

  6. Caroline permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:49 am

    And I did the PB-chocolate frozen banana pops like you suggested…it was perfect. I didn’t dip the PB though bc I don’t know how I feel abt frozen banana residue in the PB jar. And I know how my mom feels about it!

  7. August 2, 2010 10:57 am

    YUM and so healthy

  8. August 3, 2010 12:55 pm

    I don’t even eat fish but it just looks so darn good! 😉

Leave a Reply

