Skip to content

Gluten Free Belgian Waffles

August 4, 2010

Waffles are my favorite. They’re so delicious- crispy on the outside and light on the inside. They’re so much better than pancakes…I apologize to any pancake fans I’m offending by saying this.

These gluten free waffles are perfectly traditional- no frills, just airy and delicious. They don’t need extracts or added flavors and serve as a delicious canvas for toppings wither extravagant or simple.

 

 

 

canola oileggs  almondmilkcupcorn meal rice flour gluten free flour (bean)

brown sugarpotato starch 

dcc  

Gluten Free Belgian Waffles

Gluten free, Dairy free

Prep time: 20 minutes Cooking time: 10-20 minutes

Special equipment:

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • .5 cup gluten free bean flour*
  • .5 cup yellow corn meal
  • .5 cup rice flour, brown or white
  • .25 cup potato starch
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp xanthen gum
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Chocolate chips, if desired

Directions

Whisk together the wet ingredients (egg, milk, sugar) in a small bowl.

Whisk together dry ingredients (flour, corn meal, rice flour, starch, salt, xanthen gum and baking powder) in a large bowl.

Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until lumps diminish, about 20 turns.

Why? without gluten the worry of over mixing is non existent so you can work with a nice, smooth batter!

Turn oven to 200* F.

Heat your waffle maker until it’s prepared to waffleinate**. Pour in 1/4 cup portions to each waffle mold and cook with manufacturers instructions. If desired, pour in about 3/4ths of your batter, add a handful of chocolate chips and top with more batter. Cook like the other waffles.

Top with strawberries, maple syrup, cinnamon, whipped cream or whatever else you want.

Tip: To keep waffles warm, store on baking sheets between moist tea towels in the oven.

*I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour Blend.

**Yes. It’s a word.  

 

I urge you to try these! They’re so simple to make and none of my taste testers detected anything “special” about them. Just pure delicious waffles!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 12:49 pm

    These look great! And is that chocolate chips… and BASIL on your waffles?! What?! That sounds amazing! Will need to try! How the heck did you come up with the ingredients/recipe for this recipe? Awesome.
    🙂

    • August 6, 2010 9:53 am

      Yes! That’s basil- I love the basil on such a neutral background. It works nicely with sweet things!
      For the actual waffle recipe, I changed up a gf waffle recipe I found online, but didn’t like the outcome flavor wise- I did keep the ratio of liquid:flours similar and it seemed to work even with all different flours and milk!

  2. August 4, 2010 4:23 pm

    This is when I wish I had a waffle pan! I think I like waffles more too..haha.

  3. August 4, 2010 6:32 pm

    These look great, Mae! I love the use of cornmeal. I need to add rice flour to my list of things to try, though – I see it used so much but never have myself!

    • August 6, 2010 9:50 am

      Cornmeal adds such a wonderful texture!! I looked at one of your waffle recipes and you also use puffed grains- which do you usually use? Do they get soggy?

  4. August 4, 2010 7:47 pm

    these look great! i love the texture that cornmeal adds. i’m considering buying some xanthen gum…does it help add the lighter texture to the waffles? i know i see people using it in protein ice cream and stuff.
    have a great day! 🙂

  5. August 4, 2010 10:13 pm

    Mmmm, I love waffles! I want to make these so badly!
    Now all I need is a waffle press…

  6. August 5, 2010 4:38 am

    These waffles look wonderful. I’ve been making waffles quite often lately, but haven’t tried a gluten free version yet. Thanks for the inspiration, I will be making these soon!

  7. August 5, 2010 8:14 am

    Yummy, I haven’t had a waffle in a while! I’ve never had gluten free waffles, but as long as they’re light and crispy, I’ll eat them!

  8. August 6, 2010 9:36 pm

    Ok, I will now refer to my waffle maker as a “waffleinator” 😛 Thanks for expanding my vocabulary, Mae! I’m impressed with your gluten-free waffles, because it’s often very hard to make good “bready” items without wheat flour. Nice job!

    P.S. Waffles are SO much better the pancakes. Nooks and crannies! 😀

    • August 6, 2010 11:17 pm

      Yes, yes yes!!! Next up are some real nook and cranny filled GF english muffins 🙂

      • May 8, 2011 4:05 pm

        What a joy to find such clear thkniing. Thanks for posting!

  9. August 7, 2010 9:46 pm

    I have been on a huge waffle kick lately! I used to be a pancake girl, but now that I know waffles are so easy…I am all about the waffle! I love the texture too! Have you tried savory waffles? I love them instead of other starches with dinner. Now I am craving more waffles!

  10. Jenna Quick permalink
    August 9, 2010 10:25 am

    I ❤ waffles! I'm not a big breakfast fan, but waffles are definitely delicious.
    Oh! And guess what! Your birthday is tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 You're gonna be old like me and we'll have to spend a day and watch the Home Shopping Network and order stuff and buy scratch offs 'cause we can!!! I miss youuuu Dr. Meagan Mary!

    "Sometimes the truth isn't enough, sometimes the people deserve more." I've had a random Batman obsession lately, and that's been my favorite thing to say (in a Batman voice obviously!!), so we need to set a date to hang out, eat waffles, and watch Batman Begins, kay? Kay. 🙂

  11. August 10, 2010 1:41 am

    Girl your waffles look great! You always come up with the best kitchen creations! 🙂 Love ya!!

  12. August 10, 2010 12:24 pm

    Ohhh this sounds DELISH! Thank you for posting this recipe, Mae! I never would’ve thought of a couple of those ingredients but I can’t wait to try it out 😀

  13. August 20, 2010 1:14 am

    Wow, this is awesome Gluten Free Belgian Waffles recipe. And it looks mouthwatering too, good job on sharing this one. If you wont mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your post. Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post so it will appear in the Foodista pages and it’s all set, Thanks!

  14. Elizabeth permalink
    June 23, 2011 8:16 am

    This looks like a very good recipe, but I am wondering about the large amounts of flour. Perhaps I am reading the number 5 incorrectly… must be .5 which means 1/2 cup? and the .25 means 1/4 cup? Is that correct? Thanks for helping. My sons have girlfriends who are both gluten free women and I would love to have them over for a really wonderful waffle breakfast! Thanks, Elizabeth

    • August 4, 2011 10:31 pm

      yes ma’am! .25 would be a 1/4 cup, .5 would be a half. I hope you enjoy!

Trackbacks

  1. Suggestions About Belgian Waffles

Leave a Reply

