Skip to content

I Love College

August 30, 2010

I feel it’s time for some hardcore procrastination!

Hey all! Week one of classes is over and so far I love this school. Thank you all for your comments on my last few posts, and I’m sorry I haven’t had the time to respond. :/

My course load is a little heavy this semester: Italian (which is every day), Chemistry lecture, discussion and lab, Biology lecture and discussion, Nutrition: Health and Society lecture and discussion, Science and Technology of Food, and Sailing (!!). I was supposed to take calculus and a writing course. I tested out of writing and I’m procrastinating calc for as long as possible as math classes are my kryptonite.

I also thinking about the Cornell Gourmet Club, the Food Science Club, the Farms to Campus Club, the Yoga Club and a Community Volunteering Club. I know I can’t do it all and I have to figure out how I’m going to balance everything.

Today I’m sharing 10 awesome things about Cornell.

10. The dining halls: they’re really good! Our residence hall is literally 10 feet away from one of the largest dining halls on the freshman side of campus which is extremely convenient. They have:

  • A huge salad bar with tons of different add-ins and some local products which makes me happy.
  • A traditional line with veggies (usually 2 options), a carb like potatoes or rice, and a protein
  • A grill with veggie burgers, your standard burgers, fries and nuggets, and grilled fish
  • Soups
  • A “Taste of Italy” line with a pasta bar, pizza, garlic bread, bread sticks, etc
  • A “Mongol Grill” where you fill up a bowl with veggies and then choose one of three sauces (like soy ginger, mandarin orange, etc.) and a protein then have it cooked in front of you. You can have noodles added or eat it with our choice of brown or white rice. ‘Tis delicious!
  • A section with Mediterranean food (!!) that includes grape leaves, hummus, tabbouleh, chick pea salad, and broccoli rabe salad (So pretty much my ideal foods)
  • Desserts
  • Local and non-local fruit

9. The gorges: The campus is beautiful. Walking to class is seriously an experience and I’ve found some beautiful running routes. [small pet peeve: the gyms are always packed with people. I can barley move my the free weights, let alone lift!]

8. The clubs: There are so many opportunities to get involved everywhere!

7. The classes: My chem professor is awesome and my nutrition professor is possibly my favorite person ever! I haven’t taken food science yet, but the director of the Food Science program is teaching the class and I adore her.

6. The diversity: My small high school was 99% Caucasian. Here there are so many different people. It’s like a breath of fresh air! I’m meeting people from Singapore, India, Germany and Korea. Pretty much amazing!

5. Collegetown: Ithaca has more restaurants per capita than any other city in the nation. College town is just a fun place to be! πŸ˜‰

4. The Hills: It’s a hike to get to all of my classes and there are tons of hills on campus. It’s a great workout! (this will probably get old in the winter)

3. My Room: The rooms are really, really nice. Ours is big and spacious. My bed is comfortable, the bathroom is nice, and my roommate is amazing.

2. Our Floor: I’ve had so much fun with the people of this floor. Looking back on my college decision pro/con list I had “not fun” in the con column of Cornell. Totally wrong!!

1. The People: I really love everyone here. πŸ™‚ Love.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline permalink
    August 30, 2010 8:13 am

    Oh, I am so happy to hear about your experiences! I was so glad in May when you chose Cornell…I am soo jealous of your dining hall (I’ve eaten in mine, and it doesn’t come close to your description), classes (no real nutrition classes @ Princeton), and running environment. Wowww. Wish I had applied!

    I can’t wait to hear more…hope you can keep blogging.

  2. August 30, 2010 8:44 am

    Aww I’m so glad you are so happy at Cornell!!! I LOVED going to Indiana U, but Cornell sounds like my kind of college, especially with all of the great food choices!!

  3. August 30, 2010 9:15 am

    I knew you would love it! So jealous of your college town experience. Let’s face it- Albany isn’t the same as a REAL college town! Hope you’re having the time of your life– cliche– but so true!!

    Keep in touch, girlie! ❀

  4. Little Bookworm permalink
    August 30, 2010 10:10 pm

    Glad you are having a great time at Cornell. πŸ™‚

  5. Jenna Quick permalink
    August 31, 2010 9:22 am

    Who said you should go there? I did! πŸ˜€ haha I’m glad you’re having fun! I miss you tons here, but we’ll skype-it-up soon enough πŸ™‚
    Ohhh! And I taught Drew how to say Batman in a Batman voice. Yeah, pretty much made my life complete. Well, I will talk to you later my super Italian Sailor friend πŸ™‚

  6. September 1, 2010 12:01 am

    Sounds like so much fun!
    I think your classes are really interesting, and the dinning hall sounds amazing. As well as the rest of the stuff.
    I’m glad you’re having fun!

  7. September 1, 2010 1:10 pm

    I am so happy for you!!! This post just radiated joy! Thanks!

  8. EmbraceYourSkin permalink
    September 4, 2010 12:43 am

    I’m so glad you are enjoying it there! College can be such a wonderful time if you really take advantage of all there is to do! I wish I had done more in my first 3 years instead of waiting until now! It’s never too late though πŸ™‚

  9. September 5, 2010 11:47 pm

    Hey! I’ve been reading your blog for a while, finally commenting though πŸ™‚ Glad you’re loving school- having good dining halls is such a huge plus. When I was in college the food was absolutely awful. We were always getting sick. Towards my last semester that I lived on campus I rarely ate in the dining hall- there was a TJ’s up the street and I basically ate out of my room . Do nottt miss that part of college! Have a blast though !

  10. September 7, 2010 5:50 am

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying your first few weeks of college! I’m impressed to hear that the food is good – looks like you’ve found the perfect school πŸ˜‰

    If you can, you should get one of those shirts that say “Ithaca is Gorges” – I love those shirts!

  11. Etta permalink
    September 7, 2010 8:26 pm

    In my years at uni–going on 6 now–the beginning of term is an incredibly busy time at campus rec centers. Everyone is still motivated to be active, they haven’t been bogged down by classes and homework yet. So, I wouldn’t worry about that trend continuing for much more than a month. And, if it does, there are always slow times. If you can figure out what they are, you’ll be set!

  12. Victoria Heflin permalink
    October 6, 2010 8:37 pm

    Monique! very contente to hear how heureuse you are at Cornell! Je suis here with your frΓ¨re in la classe de franΓ§ais. Italiano! molto bene!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

