Skip to content

A Canning Party

September 8, 2010

IMG_3098

IMG_3136 

Last Saturday after sailing class (!!) I headed over to Savvy Julie’s for a FoodBuzz canning party.

blog group shot

Above, the canning crew.

Cynthia, Emma, Me, Heather, and Julie. [Left to right]

IMG_3101IMG_3102

We began with delectable pear and ginger preserves. Julie taught us the proper preservation method for optimal food safety. The pears came out delicious!

Click here for the recipe.

IMG_3103IMG_3115        IMG_3117IMG_3123

Next up was bruchetta in a jar. I really can’t wait to dig into this- I love anything tomato based!

IMG_3126

Last up was pickled zucchini in white wine vinegar. I have a hateful relationship with pickles so I was a little apprehensive about the pickled zucchs’. It turns out I love them! The variation in vegetable and vinegar really changes the flavor- these were delicious.

Click for the recipe!

IMG_3137IMG_3138 IMG_3139 

Dinner was a delicious meal at Moosewood [my first time!]. I ordered a salad with lemon tahini dressing and a saffron rice dish with fire roasted tomatoes, cashews and curried sweet potatoes. The scallions added the perfect texture to the dish. I’m a fan.

IMG_3135

It was a great day with new friends. Everyone is so sweet, I’m so glad to have met them! Today I took Emma’s yoga class which was the perfect start to my day. It kicked my butt!

How was everyone’s Labor Day?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. thedelicateplace permalink
    September 9, 2010 12:23 am

    gah welcome back! sailing class? seriously?! that would be amazing! canning party looks like so much fun! i would like to learn the proper method for preservation. def on my list of things to do!

  2. EmbraceYourSkin permalink
    September 9, 2010 2:03 am

    Aw, how cool to have so many blogging friends near you!
    I am still searching for fellow bloggers that live in my college town….

  3. September 9, 2010 3:13 am

    just canned some pear sauce today! soo delish! looks like fun 🙂

  4. September 9, 2010 4:35 am

    I love the order of your pictures in this post. Brings back such great memories.

  5. September 9, 2010 10:30 am

    I’m so glad you’ve found some foodie friends at school!

    I have never canned before, but I’m very intruiged. I’d like to make some jams.

  6. Michelle in Colorado permalink
    September 10, 2010 5:59 am

    I was just wondering about the bruchetta in a jar recipe.

  7. September 11, 2010 9:43 pm

    looks like you ladies had a great day canning! my mom did pickles already this season, and next week is applesauce!

  8. September 13, 2010 9:01 am

    I love that canning is coming back – food preservation should never be a lost art!
    I was in Ithaca recently, but alas, only looked in the window of Moosewood. Their cookbooks were my first investment when I went veggie, and I love them still!

  9. September 14, 2010 8:04 pm

    looks like so much fun!

  10. September 20, 2010 2:41 pm

    ohh maaaayyyyyyyy, how is school going?!

Leave a Reply

