Skip to content

Superfoods

February 16, 2010

Smoothie time!!

This bowl was HUGE and packed with everything you could ask for in a day!!

IMG_0811 

  • 1 tsp bee pollen [+ B Vitamins and Antioxidents]
  • 1 1/2 tsp chia seeds [+ Omega 3 and fiber]
  • 1 cup almond milk [+ Vitamin D, Calcium]

Soaked overnight…

  • 25 g vanilla rice protein powder [+Muscle healing protein]
  • 1.5 tsp Nutritional Yeast [+B Vitamins and Folic Acid]
  • 2/3 c. frozen strawberries [+Vitamin C]
  • 3 ice cubes [+hydration]
  • 1/2 tsp xanthen gum, 1/4 tsp guar gum [+soluble fiber]
  • Handfull of Udi’s Granola (Banana Berry!) [+Carbs, Unsaturated oils and Fun!]

 IMG_0813

Maybe I’m an optimist, but I see the “superfood” potential in everything we eat. I encourage you to look down at your meal and see the great things it has! Even pizza has calcium from cheese, lycopene from sauce and easily accessible carbohydrates in the crust. White bread isn’t bad, it’s ready to give you quick energy!

Coffee has tannins (antioxidants)

Cereal is fortified with tons of vitamins and minerals

Cookies even pack energizing sugar and carbohydrates, plus essential fats!

You can turn almost anything into a healthy food (if you try hard enough! ;-)) When you’re feeling guilty, think of all the wonderful things you are eating.

Your turn! Make your favorite indulgences into superfoods. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

~~~

This life guard course is intense (read: sooo long!). I won’t be at a computer most of the week, but I’m still reading when I can! You guys brighten my day x1000000!

It will be worth it. It will be worth it. Today is a fun day, we actually get in the pool!!

Rescue time!! 😀

~~~

Last night was so funnn!! Ready for some math?

Olympics+Homemade Pizza+Great Friends=Good Night. 🙂

[Real homemade pizza, not on a tortilla!! I did use humnut cheese though.]

IMG_0806

She’s on the prowl…

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 7:39 pm

    Hmmm…I wonder if the certification course has changed. Are you becoming certified for the ocean? Or just pools?

    Someday soon I’m going to get around to making this humnut sauce!

    • February 17, 2010 9:27 am

      The course is pools and waterfront (basically non ocean) but it’s 8-5 for 5 days in a row so it’s really condensed.

  2. February 16, 2010 8:06 pm

    Nice post Mae. I cannot afford all the ingredients and kitchen gadgets I see people with. Plus, it would just be another source of life-complication for me…so I am kind of having a “hippie-mindset” 🙂
    But I love seeing it on others blogs and if u could ship it to me I would eat it 🙂

  3. February 16, 2010 8:20 pm

    Mmm, that superfood Smoothie in a bowl looks amazing!
    And I love how you think – I get a kick out of looking at the nutritional benefits of what I put in my meals, too. It’s so much easier than people think to make a healthy swap, and sometimes you don’t even need to make a swap, like you said!
    Have you tried putting goji berries in your overnight mixture? Oh my gosh, they get SOO SO good when they’re rehydrated. I don’t care for them much dried (maybe it’s the ones I’ve got – but they stick too my teeth too much!) but rehydrated either in a bowl of overnight oats, or boiled in with a bowl of hot oats, they really “pop” with flavor. I’m hoping that doesn’t rid them of their superfoods status, though, lol.

  4. February 16, 2010 8:22 pm

    That smoothie looks delicious! So many superfoods. My BF’s little brother is taking a lifeguarding class right now too, and I thought of you when we went to pick him up on Saturday 🙂

  5. February 16, 2010 8:48 pm

    It’s Supermae! Sorry, your name just lends itself well to that. OK, I need your opinion. Xanthan and guar . . . BOTH a must, or is one more useful than the other?

    • February 17, 2010 9:23 am

      Hahaha I love it!! Supermae 😀 As far as the gums, guar will make your smoothie creamy but too much will make it goopy where xanthen with make it fluffy and thick, but not creamy. If you have to go with just one, I would say xanthen but if you can get both they work awesome in unison!

  6. February 16, 2010 8:48 pm

    I love thinking about how the food I eat nourishes me and energizes me. Definitely a positive thought!

  7. February 16, 2010 8:54 pm

    Hi Mae! I tried your hummus cheese last night on my squash and it was so good. Love your blog, you are really an inspiration!

    PS – What a cute puppy.

  8. February 17, 2010 1:21 am

    Good luck with the lifeguard course! It WILL pay off girl!

    And I LOVE this post… how about mac and cheese? energy and carbs from the pasta, calcium from the cheese… ice cream? calcium.

    And the smoothie sounds amazing!!! I just got some xanthen gum and chia seeds yesterday.. have to try that!

  9. February 17, 2010 4:18 am

    What a gorgeous smoothie!! I love what you said about turning anything into a superfood. You’re right – even white breads have their place in our diets. Once I ate a cupcake at a meeting and felt guilty… I went running after and had the fastest, strongest run ever!! I fully believe it was those simple carbs at work!! 🙂

  10. February 17, 2010 4:26 am

    I love ice cream. I guess it has calcium? haha. Well I usually sprinkle it with Wheat Germ as a topping so it has fiber too!

  11. February 17, 2010 8:23 am

    I’m impressed with how many superfoods you were able to fit in! And you’re right – there’s nothing wrong with eating white bread to give you quick energy (and enjoyment!) once in a while. Nice philosophy!

  12. February 17, 2010 1:16 pm

    That is so awesome that youre taking a lifeguard course, because I’m a lifeguard too! It is a fun enviroment, scary if you have OLD people swimming (80 and up), kids, or pregant ladies close to labor. Other than that you’ll love it, I hope you do. I have been wanting to try Bee Pollen for such a long time, but I eat my oatmeal HOT and that’s where I lack the creativity part :/ 🙂

  13. February 17, 2010 2:19 pm

    Hi! Would you happen to know the difference between brewer’s yeast and nutritional yeast? I accidentally bought brewer’s yeast (in France…and couldn’t read the box!) and not sure if it’s safe to eat. Have you tried it? I’m dieing to make some hummnut sauce 😉

  14. February 17, 2010 8:52 pm

    I love your pictures and creativity. Plus you just May be the cutest person (meant in a good way). I have been reading sporadically, but I have to add you to my google reader this morning, because I love your blog. Do people at school know about your blog, or do you keep it private? Are your parents supportive? Thanks for a beautiful start to my morning!
    Barbara

  15. February 19, 2010 8:24 am

    Congratulations girl!

    And your bowl of breakfast yum is just insane, crazy amounts of delish in there 🙂

  16. February 19, 2010 10:47 am

    Oh my favorite super food is plain dark (VERY DARK AND SCARY) chocolate!

    I lifeguarded for a long time, then I taught swim lessons for a long time and now I am doing the whole grad school thing (taking a nice long break from living in the pool), but I feel ya on the training. I remember the long pool days too! Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Aw, Shucks! « Ohh May…

Leave a comment