Skip to content

And I Force Them To Eat Vegan Food… Again.

February 5, 2010

Has anyone ever notice how obnoxiously long my post titles are? Need to work on that!!

Happy Vegan Thursday for those participating!

It’s weird: my house is set to 62* while everyone is out and at night, so when I get home I have to turn the thermostat up. It takes a little over an hour for the house to heat up, and instead of cuddling in a blanket, all I want to do is stand over the stove: stirring pans, grilling vegetables. So I did.

 

 

I know, I’m strange.

 

 

IMG_0571

For Vegan Thursday I made lentil black bean chia burgers with broccoli and roasted red peppers.

IMG_0577 IMG_0583  IMG_0589 IMG_0584IMG_0595

For a side dish, I made broccoli stalk fries and butternut squash fries.

The burgers were topped with Sherry Portabella Mushrooms and Shallots.

IMG_0597

My mom, pouring on organic ketchup

IMG_0599 IMG_0600 IMG_0601

Everything came out really good and overall it was a very satisfying take on burgers and fries. I’m spreading the recipes out between a few posts, so it’s not overwhelming.

My parents actually enjoyed it too!! They’re never excited for veggie burgers but they both said this meal was delicious.

I hope everyone had a great day, and I promise I have some fun recipes coming up!! 😉

~~~

Sushi and faux-sis’s birthday was so much fun!

IMG_0550IMG_0552 

Counter clockwise from top right:

The birthday girl and I; Moriah and her new puppy, Merci; and Mo eating miso.

Thank you everyone for the coffee cup tips! I exchanged mine for a plastic green travel mug, but I really want to find another ceramic/silicon one. They’re so cute!

~~~

Around blog-y-o-sphere today:

HEAB’s kabocha cheesecake smoothie

IMG_4390.JPG

Angela’s (from “Oh She Glows”) humnut tortilla pizza!

*Click on photo for their post.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 8:17 am

    I wish someone would force me to eat vegan food!! You’re welcome to come over and force feed me your yummy food anytime, Mae!! 😉 Do you have a recipe for your burgers? They look so yummy!! 🙂

  2. February 5, 2010 8:18 am

    Holy yum girl!! Broccoli fries… so cool! And i’ve never tried butternut fries. Are they kinda like sweet potato fries would taste?

  3. February 5, 2010 8:18 am

    Those bean burgers with chias sound so tasty! Every time I come here I find some more vegan food that I am interested in trying.

  4. February 5, 2010 8:28 am

    You’re not weird; you’ve just found a true talent. 🙂 Wish my family would trust that what I eat is actually good despite being vegan!

  5. February 5, 2010 8:45 am

    Is it vegan thursday again? I’d be so bad if I took that challenge. But I did randomly and accidentally eat vegan for 24 hours straight tuesday-wednesday

  6. February 5, 2010 9:15 am

    Angela I were tweeting today about the brilliance of your humnut cheese.

    Broccoli stalk fries…why have I never thought to do that?!? See, this is why I need your blog in my life Mae. 😉

  7. February 5, 2010 9:31 am

    Wow, that looks quite interesting…and i am DEFINTIELY NOT vegan…!
    Pics of u and your friend are beautiful…that white sweater is so pretty!

  8. February 5, 2010 9:36 am

    This all sounds amazing! Your humnut cheese is excellent and I have never made veggie burgers from scratch. This sounds a lot healthier than buying the oily packaged variety 😛

  9. February 5, 2010 9:45 am

    Oh my goodness! Those burgers look and sound amazinggg!

  10. February 5, 2010 10:02 am

    My Vegan Thursday was definitely definitely not as interesting as yours! And yes, I did mean to put in two “definitelys”. In fact, your meal looks so good that maybe I should throw in a third!

  11. February 5, 2010 10:24 am

    I’m SO impressed with your culinary skills! Those burgers look amazing 🙂 I got a bunch of chia seeds from the lovely HEAB so I’m going to have to try these. Plus I love lentils.

    I also love how you force your family to eat vegan and healthy. I trick my brothers and father by eating whole wheat pasta and Annie’s Mac and Cheese which is much healthier than the kraft brand. Isn’t it fun watching your family enjoy healthy food?!?

    PS You should think about writing a cookbook (or at least an ebook)!

  12. February 5, 2010 8:48 pm

    Haha, love your long post titles! And standing over the stove warming up is the best thing ever.

    Your family must be so happy to have you as their chef 🙂

  13. February 6, 2010 2:56 am

    Wow I am SO not a vegan (didn’t know it was vegan Thursday…oops!!), but those veggie burgers you made look sooo good! I wish you could make those for me! Your fam is so lucky to have you as their own personal chef!! And all your pictures look amazing 🙂

  14. February 6, 2010 3:51 am

    I made a little tribute to you too! Torilla Pizza style tribute! (not a pretty as Angela’s but it tasted amazing!)
    🙂
    http://runlori.blogspot.com/2010/02/happy-taste-buds.html

  15. February 6, 2010 4:55 am

    I’m with you…standing by the stove cooking is the best way to heat up! Bean burgers are really my all time favorite dinner! I love making them since the combinations are endless! Yours look delicious!

  16. February 6, 2010 7:36 pm

    MMM your burgers look delish!

Leave a comment