Skip to content

Cacao(nut) Euphoria

February 10, 2010

IMG_0723

Jealousy is the mother of invention.

 

IMG_0727

 

All I hear is Cacao Bliss this, and Cacao Bliss that. I haven’t seen it in any local health food or grocery stores, so in a state of frustration I decided to rebel and invent my own.

I bought a can of coconut milk last week and I was surprised when I opened it to see how much solid coconut “cream” was on top.

IMG_0661

This had never happened to me before, so I wondered what was different. My reasoning:

1. It’s not light coconut milk

2. It’s winter

The cream was solidified to a butter-like texture in my 62* house. To simulate this, put your can in the refrigerator for a day before you proceed to make Cacao(nut) Euphoria.

IMG_0714   IMG_0715IMG_0717  IMG_0716

IMG_0719    

Cacao Euphoria came out so good! This would make a delicious cake frosting, mousse, or truffle filling. My family had no idea it was vegan!

And I would be lying if I said I didn’t type in “blissto thesaurus.com and pick the first synonym.

(Actually the first was ecstasy and I thought that may be too risk-ay of a title for a blog written by a high school student. Just a little.)

 

On to the recipe!!

 

Cacao Euphoria

  • 1/3 cup + 2 tbsp packed coconut cream*
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder (Ghirardelli)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar**

With a hand mixer or stand mixer, cream together the cream, cocoa, salt, vanilla and agave. Mix for two minutes until light and fluffy.

Slather on everything you eat.

*To find coconut cream, open a can of cold, regular coconut milk. The solid top layer is the cream.

**Substitute 2 packets of NuNatural’s stevia, if desired.

Right after I finished typing this post up, guess who rang my doorbell?

Thank you Tristan!!

 

IMG_0727

It will be interesting to see how they compare!

What’s your favorite store-bought food to re-create?

~~~

My groin is so sore from breast stroke!! Goodness!

The ice fairy is supposed to make a visit tonight, but I doubt school will be canceled. I can hope though!

~~~

= Mouth-gasm worthy humnut tortilla pizza!

IMG_0637

Perfect fuel after prom-dress shopping

IMG_0631

I like the red, I dislike the dress. Sigh!!

P.S. I never take mirror photos of myself, but I snapped a few dress shopping for comparative purposes.

Want more humnut pizza??

image

Kristie’s beauty. Est un chef d’ouvre!

37 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 7:47 am

    You are NOT missing anything with cacao bliss; I’m sure yours is better

  2. February 10, 2010 7:48 am

    What a yummy creation! I stil havent tried any of artisanas products boo 😦 Yay you went dress shopping, that color red is gorgeous! Its totally fierce!

  3. February 10, 2010 7:53 am

    You are a genius. MUST make this! I have all the ingredients! *Puts Coconut Milk in Fridge*

  4. February 10, 2010 8:03 am

    You are brilliant!! I haven’t been able to find those products near me, but your euphoria looks quite amazing!! I’d rather have your’s than the bliss, for sure!!!! 🙂

  5. February 10, 2010 8:06 am

    Ahh tanks for posting my humnut lovin! So so good. I’m so happy you started up that idea. I actually had half of that humnut pizza leftover for dinner tonight. I ate it cold, soggy and folded up and it was DELICIOUS. Okay so soggy might sound kind of gross but seriously, it was so good. I like some of my foods mushy haha.

    And I HAVE to try that homemade Cacao Euphoria. I found the Cacao Bliss at one store but it was SO expensive… I just couldn’t swing the price! I have to know how the tastes of the two compare!

  6. February 10, 2010 8:07 am

    I don’t have cocoa bliss around me, either! You had me sold on that first picture. Holy deliciousness.

  7. February 10, 2010 8:39 am

    That dress is gorgeous.. YOU are gorgeous sweet little lady. Red is great for you. I bet black would be awesome too. SO happy for u.
    Can you send me some cocoa bliss? There is a store FAR away from me that sells it…for 12 bucks a jar …yipes!

  8. February 10, 2010 9:20 am

    So when I get the nutritional yeast, guess what is the first thing i’m going to make with it?
    Yep, the pizza. Looks So good!!

    And seriously, the cacao euphoria…omg..

    • February 10, 2010 9:31 am

      Ohh any you know the next phase of this Cacao Eu. is going to be cheesecake right? hahahaha I can’t resist putting nut. yeast in EVERYTHING I EAT!

  9. February 10, 2010 9:49 am

    You look beautiful. Red is my color allll the way, but I understand why you wouldn’t choose that dress (too Valentine-y?). You’re a lovely lady!

  10. February 10, 2010 9:51 am

    Oh my gosh. That cocoa euphoria looks literally..euphoric. And I tried humnut pizza for the first time a few days ago. You, my friend, are a genius!

  11. February 10, 2010 11:16 am

    Seriously, how do you think of this stuff? I would never think to create my own cacao bliss. You should definitely consider a career in the food industry!

  12. February 10, 2010 11:30 am

    Hi, Mae! Thanks for all of your entries in my giveaway.

    That is so creative! Was it really pure coincidence that the real stuff just landed on your doorstep then? If it was…wow, that’s crazy! I’ll stay tuned for a taste comparison. : )

  13. Alyson permalink
    February 10, 2010 2:02 pm

    Holy moly that chocolate coconut looks amazing! I would have to say my favorite store remake might be granola, you just get to be so much more creative on your own! Oh and I used your humnut sauce on a quesadilla today.. amazing! I’d used Tahini Hummus before, but the nutritional yeast takes it to a whole other level.. yum!

    • February 11, 2010 1:15 am

      Mmm a humnut quesadilla sounds amazing!! Homemade granola is awesome too… my favorite combination is dark chocolate, cherries, almonds and dates.

  14. February 11, 2010 4:36 am

    That looks amazing 🙂 I haven’t tried Artisana’s version yet, either. The next time I come across either (coconut cream/milk or artisana’s “real” product) I will have to try!

  15. February 11, 2010 4:37 am

    Like the pizza!! very colorful 😀 always want to try a hummus version , thanks for the recipe!

  16. February 11, 2010 11:04 pm

    Mmm! The Cacaonut Euphoria looks like it would be tasty eaten straight from the bowl!

  17. February 12, 2010 11:51 pm

    I have a question about the pizza… if I don’t have tahini, will it still be good without it?

  18. February 13, 2010 8:24 am

    oh wow, I can’t wait to try this. What does one normally do with coconut cream atop the milk – toss it? And every Friday I’ve had tortilla pizza w/ humnut sauce – I love it!! addicted! Keep the nutritional yeast recipes coming!

  19. February 13, 2010 8:44 am

    Great coconut euphoria! I bet that stuff was addicting! Yes, more pizza! Loving it!!

  20. February 16, 2010 2:36 am

    Mae,
    Just wanted you to know that I think you’re going to be famous someday. 🙂

    Congrats on your acceptance to Cal Tech!!!!

  21. February 19, 2010 3:57 am

    I am on such a pizza craze lately and hummus is the perfect topper for it!!! I am still afraid of nutritional yeast, but the hummus is amazing on it!

  22. adrienmelaine permalink
    February 28, 2010 11:23 am

    Jen- I feel like I’m your best friend and tears well up in my eyes when I look at that slide show- I have no idea what’s wrong with me, but thank you! hahah

    Mae’s so cute- love her- great guest post– all I want to do is eat everything off her blog- so good!

  23. adrienmelaine permalink
    February 28, 2010 11:25 am

    Oh my god! Sorry Mae- I thought I was back on Jen’s page- ahhh so stupid! love you!

  24. April 13, 2010 9:35 pm

    May, how you’ve done it again! How is it possible that so many brilliant food ideas come from a single brain? I made your cacao euphoria, without the cacao, and it is insanely delicious! I blogged about my foodgasm here: http://www.kitchencourage.com/2010/04/good-morning-i-hope-you-are-all.html

Trackbacks

  1. I Can’t Believe It’s Not Cream Cheese « Ohh May…
  2. Cacao Euphoria (A.K.A. May is a Genius…) « The Process of Healing
  3. Rick and his Bee Pollen « Ohh May…
  4. Toastaroma « Ohh May…
  5. Humnut Humgrain Salad « Ohh May…
  6. Engagement Excitement + Guest Post: Mae from OhhMay « eating bender
  7. Cookies, Cake and Ice Cream « CleanTeenKelsey
  8. Cream of the Coconut « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a comment