Skip to content

Roasted Pepper and Garlic Paste+Artichoke Hummus

March 9, 2010

 

I love the flavor of roasted anything. Potatoes, garlic, peppers, onions- anything with the description “roasted” sounds so much more appetizing!

IMG_1451IMG_1452 

When you have the oven on to cook squash, potatoes, or even baked goods, you might as well take full advantage of the heat and roast up some essentials- like garlic and peppers.

I used hot cherry peppers, which are not quite as spicy as jalapeño but far more spicy than bell peppers. I really enjoyed their flavor! Just wash your chilies of choice, drizzle with a little olive oil, and throw them in a foil packet for 30 minutes-1 hour at 400*. The cooking time and temperature are approximate- they can cook low and slow or fast and hot. The flavor my subtly change but both methods will work for the recipe.

If you prefer a mild paste, use one red bell pepper in place of the smaller, spicier chilies.

To roast garlic, cut off the top of the head and then drizzle the exposed cloves in olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and wrap up in a foil packet. Roast for at least 40 minutes, no matter what temperature.

Let the peppers and garlic cool, then cut open the peppers exposing the seeds. Scrape out as many seeds as possible, then move the flesh of the pepper to a plastic bag. Squeeze about ten garlic cloves into the bag (they will slip right out) and then mash with your fingers.

Roasted Garlic Pepper Paste

  • 5 small red peppers of your choice
  • 1 head of garlic
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Drizzle clean peppers with oil and sprinkle with salt. Wrap in a foil packet and place in a 400* oven for 40 minutes.

Cut the top of the head off the garlic. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and wrap in foil. Roast at 400* for 40 minutes to 1 hour.

Let peppers and garlic cool. cut open papers and remove as many seeds as possible. Place in plastic bag. Squeeze in about 10 cloves of roasted garlic and mash with your fingers until a paste forms.

IMG_1491IMG_1490 

Your paste is ready to use! Spread this spicy paste on sandwiches, pizza, or use in recipes

Like…

Artichoke Garlic Pepper Hummus.

I found my blender does 10x better of a job making hummus than my food processor does. (Sorry, Stanley!) With smaller, sharper, quicker blades the hummus comes out much creamier.

Roasted Artichoke Garlic Pepper Hummus

  • 1, 15 oz can organic chick peas (drained)
  • 1, 15 oz can artichoke hearts, drained and rinsed (this is 8.5 oz artichoke meat, if you use frozen of fresh.)
  • 1 1/2 heaping tbsp roasted garlic pepper paste
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tbsp sesame tahini
  • 3-5 tbsp water, as much as you need to reach your desired consistency

Puree all ingredients in a blender, scraping down the sides often. Drizzle with olive oil, cumin and crushed red pepper flakes if desired.

Serve with pita chips, fresh vegetables or use as a spread. Enjoy!

IMG_1489

Other ideas: Humgrain salad, Humnut cheese

~~~

Mo’s Monday Movie Madness tonight!! My friend and I watch movies on Monday nights because we’re slackers and watch movies instead of doing work. 😀

Questions today:

  • What are your thoughts on a video post? Do they bother you, or would you like to watch a recipe?
  • What would you like to see more of on OhhMay?
  • What’s your favorite thing to roast? 🙂

I hope everyone had a good Monday!! Gear up for a good week.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 7:28 am

    Oh my…that looks absolutely delicious!

  2. Danielle permalink
    March 9, 2010 7:30 am

    The paste sounds awesome! I’m not a fan of spicy things but maybe bell peppers would work??
    I always love watching video posts. It’s nice to put a voice + personality to the person behind the blog.

    Enjoy your night of movie madness 😀

  3. March 9, 2010 7:36 am

    Love roasted garlic!! I love spreading it on crusty bread. Never thought to add peppers to it, but it sounds unreal! You are awesome in the kitchen! 🙂

  4. March 9, 2010 8:06 am

    Oh girl, that looks so delicious!! Better than Sabra!! 🙂

  5. March 9, 2010 9:59 am

    Roasting brings out the most amazing flavors in anything!!!
    I’d love to see a video post, they are so fun!

  6. March 9, 2010 11:05 am

    Miss Mae, you really are a genius! Your blog is such a good distraction from my homework 🙂

  7. March 9, 2010 11:46 am

    This looks so good! I’ve been wanting to make my own hummus for awhile now. If all goes well I’m going to make your humnut sauce for tomorrow’s dinner!

  8. March 9, 2010 9:02 pm

    Yum, I love roasted garlic! Once of my favorite uses of roasted garlic is in Pumpkin Veggie Lasagna, but yours is a must-do. You are so creative, Mae! 🙂

  9. March 10, 2010 1:21 am

    I adore your blog, girl; You have the best ideas! Red pepper hummus is my favorite, and I always buy Sabra. It’s obviously simple to make your own so I should give it a try. I don’t have a food processor (aka I’m too cheap) but if the blender works better for you anyway I’ll use that!

  10. March 10, 2010 2:45 am

    Pure genius. Anything with hummus… and THEN you add roasted garlic and chokes?!?!?! Thank you!
    When it comes to roasting, I LOVE roasting garlic. It just makes it so amazingly creamy and YUM. And sweet potatoes. Delicious!
    In regards to a video post… I like them. It’s fun to watch our favorite bloggers actually make a recipe. But once in a while…

    Have a fabulous day!

  11. March 10, 2010 7:06 am

    Hey Mae,

    I gotta commend you for taking so many photos in all of your recipes. It’s a lot of work but it makes the posts very readable. We love PRETTY PICTURES!

    And I’d love to see more on your blog about your workouts (I’m a runner/athlete too). I love hearing about all of your college acceptances. I’m a senior too but you seem to be waaaay more chill about the process than I am. How do you handle the stress so well?

  12. March 12, 2010 6:53 am

    i CAN’T STOP LAUGHING when i saw you cut the garlic that way 🙂 soooo creative and see how cute it is!!
    the paste looks really flavorful-packed. thanks for the recipe!

  13. March 13, 2010 11:39 am

    I love roasted red bell pepper hummus so the addition of the roasted garlic sounds great!

Leave a comment