Skip to content

It’s-a Pizza-Pie: Part 2, La Galleria de Pizza

January 28, 2010

I’m so glad everyone enjoyed Pizza, Pizza: part 1. The tortilla pizza with humnut cheese is my new favorite go-to lunch or dinner. It’s so adaptable and the pizza cheese sauce is so versatile!

PLUS, it’s a great vegan alternative to pizza with cheese. I feel the pizza recap is appropriate on this Vegan Thursday! Right, Miss Katie? 😉

It’s time for a pizza making re-cap, for those of you who missed the first edition!

STEP 1: Choose your base

I like La Tortilla Factory whole wheat tortillas. They’re really tasty and they get crunchy when they cook. Other delicious options include:

-Sprouted tortillas (also get very crunchy!)

-Gluten-free tortillas

-Pita bread

-Whole wheat pizza dough*

STEP 2: Thick Pizza Sauce

When you use tomato paste, the tortilla doesn’t get soggy and stays quite crispy during cooking!

– 2-3 tbsp tomato paste (low sodium if possible)

– Italian herbs: oregano, basil, parsley

-Crushed garlic or garlic powder

-Hot pepper flakes, if desired

Step 3: Humnut Cheese

I go into detail below about why, but trust me on this one.

– 2-3 tbsp hummus

– 2 tbsp nutritional yeast

– A pinch of turmeric if you like your cheese yellow

-water to thin

Step 4: Other pizza toppings

You will see most of these below, but here are my favorites:

+Protein or Fiber

-white beans or black eyed peas

-shrimp

-salmon

-refried beans (explained below)

+Veggies and Vitamins

-cooked mushrooms

-roasted red peppers

-spinach

-tomatoes

-avocado

-spaghetti squash

Step 5: TAHINI

Don’t forget it!

Assembly:

  1. Place tortilla in oven safe skillet over med/high heat
  2. Mix up thick pizza sauce, spread on
  3. In the same bowl (to reduce dishes) mix up humnut cheese
  4. Add veggies to the pizza
  5. Drizzle on humnut, sprinkle with herbs and paprika if desired.
  6. Drizzle tahini
  7. Broil a few inches under the broiler for 3 minutes (about)

       Watch it closely!!

8. Remove from oven, let rest a minute

9. Slice with sharp knife and enjoy!

*If using actual dough, assemble your pizza then transfer it to a pizza stone in a 500* oven. Bake for 5-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of your crust.

Here’s why Humnut Cheese works:

  • Hummus usually contains lemon juice or another sour flavor (many times citric acid) This mimics the sharpness of cheese
  • Nutritional yeast has a nutty, cheesy flavor (See below)
  • Tahini has a slightly bitter, complex flavor. The tahini both in the hummus and as a drizzle adds that perfect touch to the “cheese”

I have another post coming up dedicated just to the cheese, but this one is all about pizza.

The pizza that started it all. You can read about it here, but to sum it up this was a whole wheat tortilla, topped with the “thick pizza sauce”, black eyed peas, humnut cheese, herbs, tomatoes and tahini.

I loved the fresh basil on top… need to do that again!!

When I had leftover Cranberry Walnut Salmon, I flaked it and topped a pizza with the salmon and fire roasted diced tomatoes along with the “thick pizza sauce” and humnut cheese.

Leftover Honey Shrimp and Sundried Tomatoes made a lovely topping (sauce and humnut, too.) I also threw a little wild rice under the cheese because I’m wild. 😛

IMG_0264

IMG_0265

Here’s the Humnut Tortilla pizza with white beans, thick pizza sauce, humnut, spinach and sriacha!

I had leftover artichoke caper tomato sauce so I was craving that as the base for this pizza:

    IMG_0376

+ Sauce

IMG_0377

+ Veggies

 IMG_0378

+ cheese

IMG_0379

+ Tahini

IMG_0380

Broil….

 IMG_0383 IMG_0384 

IMG_0386 IMG_0387

Fini! The only problem is the tortilla wasn’t as crispy due to the the runnier sauce.

IMG_0392

Leftovers make an appearance again! Artichoke caper red sauce, mushrooms, humnut, tahini and… Spaghetti squash! I felt like I was eating cheese that was actually shredded! 😉

IMG_0393

But the crispy factor was still a problem. (Not to mention the lighting and awful photo quality, but that’s besides the point.)

Then something happened…

Meagan with an idea and a fish

 Refried beans

Ohh! It’s an idea!

Sauce on top of refried beans on top of tortilla on top of pan

1/2 c. refried beans went down first, topped with the real sauce… IMG_0410 IMG_0411

+veg (tomatoes, spinach, spaghetti squash), humnut, tahini and heat…

IMG_0412

Crispy crust, flavorful sauce, chewy refried beans… perfection! This is my favorite so far!

IMG_0413  IMG_0415

blog world

Around the blog world…

HEAB pizza

Heather, from Heather Eats Almond Butter shared this delicious creation:

“I followed Mae’s directions but switched up the toppings a bit. I used 2 TBSP tomato paste with a sprinkle of Italian seasonings, 1 piece of bacon cooked with some spinach, 1/2 avocado, 1 TBSP nutritional yeast mixed with 2 TBSP hummus + water to thin, and a drizzle of tahini thinned with water.”

Salt and Humor used a whole wheat crust, sauce, humnut cheese, veggies and tahini.

I love mushrooms as a pizza topping! So good!

IMG_3210.JPG

Brittany used a whole wheat pita as her base. Looks delicious and crunchy! 🙂


Serena from the Non-Dairy Queen tried it out on top of a chick pea flatbread that looks absolutely delicious!! (Serena, I will be trying the flat bread… gorgeous!)

“So, last night was a delicious flatbread pizza with red peppers, green peppers, onion and hummus! So good…I will definitely be doing this more often! This is really so easy and so good!”

If you’ve created your own Humnut pizza combination, let me know and I’ll be glad to add yours to the list!! 😀 Thank you!

What’s your idea of ultimate pizza toppings?

~~~

P.S. In the above picture I was trying to pull off the Alton Brown fish+smirk look:

Alton Brown with a fish

I couldn’t do it, I broke out laughing before the picture was taken. 😛

59 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 12:15 am

    So happy the blogosphere is catching on to your brilliant creation Mae! Looking forward to the humnut cheese post, and yes, DON’T EVER FORGET STEP #5! 😉

    Keep up the creativity. You know I love it!!!!

  2. January 29, 2010 12:17 am

    Oh for goodness sakes… I think this is one of my favorite blog posts ever because of the funny fish picture alone! But the yummy pizza ideas don’t hurt either!!

  3. January 29, 2010 12:29 am

    You are so flippin’ cute!!! And may I mention – hilarious!! I just bought some nutritional yeast last night. So excited to try!

  4. January 29, 2010 1:13 am

    Amazing!!!!!!! Thanks for the step by step break down.

    my ultimate pizza: thin crust, lots of veggies, mushrooms and olives!

  5. January 29, 2010 1:57 am

    Stop already! The amazing looking pizzas continued on until I almost needed to run home from work and make one! But wow! Great lookin’ pies, I must say! All the different kinds sound great! Thanks for the great post!

  6. January 29, 2010 4:27 am

    Oh goodness… what a delicious post, Mae!! You are so creative!! I’ve never had seafood on a pizza, but I bet it’s so good!! I will have to try that humnut cheese – yum!! By the way, thanks for answering my question about nutritional yeast – I’ll have to look for some at Whole Foods.

  7. January 29, 2010 4:30 am

    Fish picture=awesome! I have such a crush on Alton Brown. He’s hilarious and awesome and clever and I could go on and on about how much I love him…He’s the best thing about the Food Network. Seriously!

    Also, lately I’ve taken to just mixing the nooch straight into my container of hummus. That way I’m always prepared for some humnut cheese lovin’ any time I get the craving.

    –Monica

  8. jocelynsteiber permalink
    January 29, 2010 8:59 am

    OMG that pizza looks delicious!! For some reason I’ve always stayed away from Pizza but the homemade ones look healthy and nutritious! I’ll have to try and make them one day : )

    xo

    Jocelyn

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  9. January 29, 2010 9:22 am

    Yum – I will have to try this soon! Hummus and Nut. Yeast are some of my faves anyways! But I never thought to combine them! Genius!

    And I love your pic 😉

  10. January 29, 2010 9:53 am

    Wow! You have some serious heealthified pizza loving going on there 🙂
    I’m kind of afraid to try nutritional yeast, but I might just hvae to now 🙂

  11. January 29, 2010 10:56 am

    Best post ever. I will definitely be making one of your pizzas for dinner next week! Thanks Mae.

  12. January 29, 2010 7:07 pm

    Yum I can’t wait for pizza night tonight!!

  13. January 29, 2010 11:06 pm

    Ohh, I like your picture, and I absolutelly LOVE Alton Brown, he is the best in foodtv!
    I am going to answer your e-mail about NCSU, I promise! I have a test tomorrow so things have been a little crazy this week!
    Ana

  14. January 30, 2010 1:03 am

    Mae, I thank you for this amazing recipe of yours! I had to remind myself to slow down and chew when I was digging into my first slice. AMAZING! Thanks! 🙂

  15. January 30, 2010 9:02 am

    Made the pizza tonight – so good! love the humnut and got the nutritional yeast! : )

  16. Lauren Christine. permalink
    February 2, 2010 2:50 am

    OMW! I am seriously addicted to these. I’ve made two in less than 24 hours. The “humnut” sauce is so creamy and delicious. And the tortilla gets nice and crispy! Thank you for sharing this amazingness.

  17. February 3, 2010 11:05 am

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Im pretty sure this post just changed my LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. February 4, 2010 3:01 am

    I am PIMPING the crap out of this blog post tomorrow!!!!

  19. February 4, 2010 11:01 pm

    Holy cow — I am making that tonight when I get home. Fast, tasty, pizza, healthy. what is not to love?

  20. February 5, 2010 12:05 am

    Um, YUM!!!! I am bookmarking this page for when I buy tahini and nutritional yeast!

  21. February 10, 2010 7:46 am

    Im riding the hummnut train. So good!

  22. February 20, 2010 5:45 am

    I humnutted! http://www.kitchencourage.com/2010/02/nooch.html 🙂

  23. February 21, 2010 8:36 pm

    I tried nooch nachos — they were pretty good! I still think I need to tinker with the nooch cheese, though. http://www.kitchencourage.com/2010/02/bah-humnut.html

  24. April 3, 2010 3:27 am

    Mae,
    I remember this post – your refried bean pizza looks much prettier than mine. Hehe. Such a good pizza topping! Who knew?

  25. August 16, 2010 10:33 am

    Arrrhhhh!!! How have I never found this before!!! I LOVE pizza ! Your site and recipes are just wonderful!

    Love it. Bookmarked. I will be back 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 1st official vegan dinner « Life 2.0
  2. Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Vegan Pizza With Cheeze
  3. And I Force Them To Eat Vegan Food… Again. « Ohh May…
  4. Come Oooon Reading Week! « Lighter Portions
  5. Cacao(nut) Euphoria « Ohh May…
  6. Carb Cycling: What, Why, How «
  7. Postponed «
  8. Rick and his Bee Pollen « Ohh May…
  9. Carb Cycling: What, Why, How | Nourished Fitness
  10. Pizza & Juice « Jennie in Wonderland
  11. Superfoods « Ohh May…
  12. Humnut Humgrain Salad « Ohh May…
  13. Na-cho typical cheese! « American Gourmande
  14. Engagement Excitement + Guest Post: Mae from OhhMay « eating bender
  15. Let the fun beings! « Balance, Joy and Delicias
  16. Roasted Pepper and Garlic Paste+Artichoke Hummus « Ohh May…
  17. Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Mini Pizza Pancakes
  18. Sun is Shining, the Weather is Sweet Yeah « Lighter Portions
  19. The Case of the Missing Sweet Potatoes + a giveaway! « American Gourmande
  20. Three-Sixty « Healthy Exposures
  21. sunday eats|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds
  22. Six Miles and Salad Glory « Run, Rant, Realize
  23. Dunch « Living in the Kitchen, Gym and Mall
  24. Pizza Pancakes «
  25. Highlightin’ « Veggie Monster
  26. Lunch Break Booty Shake « Veggie Monster
  27. Pizza my heart! « Om Sweet Om
  28. World Market | tea and chocolate
  29. No Regrets — Oh She Glows
  30. Lasagna For the Win « Veggie Monster
  31. My Day Off | Lily's Health Pad
  32. » Blog Archive » Pizza Stir-Fry
  33. Food: meals | Balance, Joy and Delicias

Leave a comment